Progress Report on Implementation of the Recommendations of the Panel on the Ecological Integrity of Canada's National Parks


Chapter 6. Tools for Understanding and Monitoring Ecological Integrity
Panel Recommendation Considerations Action
(6-14) We recommend that Parks Canada report the condition of ecological data sets in the national parks in the national and park-level State of the Park(s) Reports. To date, Parks Canada has not publicly reported on the condition of ecological data sets in the State of the Parks Report. UNDER WAY - FUNDING. The new five-year State of the Park Reports will report on the condition of park-level ecological data sets. Over the long term, the national State of the Parks Report (now called the State of Protected Heritage Areas Report) will begin reporting on the condition of data sets. The extent and timing of such reporting are subject to the availability of new funding.
(6-15) We recommend that in all national parks, Parks Canada design data management plans to organize, protect and make data accessible. These plans should be considered a key product of the ecosystem conservation program, while Park Management Plans should include the park's data management strategy. Only a few parks currently have up-to-date or adequate data management plans. UNDER WAY - FUNDING. The Ecological Data Management Directive will require that each national park prepare a Park Data Management Plan. The extent and timing of providing these plans are subject to the availability of new funding.
(6-16) We recommend that Parks Canada assign professional geographic information officers to each national park, to maintain a professional database and ensure public access. These data managers should work in close partnership with external partners in regional Conservation Data Centres. Many national parks currently have Geographic Information System (GIS) capacity and GIS services are also available through the Professional and Technical Services Centres and National Office. UNDER WAY - FUNDING. The requirement for enhanced technical capacity has been addressed in the implementation strategy that has been prepared for government consideration as part of the normal budget process. The extent and timing of providing such enhanced capacity are subject to the availability of new funding.
(6-17) We recommend that Parks Canada invest in the existing network of Canadian Conservation Data Centres, through direct funding, by ... Parks Canada currently provides funding for the conservation data centres (CDC) of Alberta and the Atlantic Provinces and is working with the CDC network in developing a national vegetation classification system and in assessing the status of species at the park level. UNDER WAY - FUNDING. Support for and working partnerships with CDCs have been addressed in the implementation strategy that has been prepared for government consideration as part of the normal budget process. The extent and timing of such action are subject to the availability of new funding.


Previous | Index | Next

Rapport d'étape sur la mise en oeuvre des recommandations de la Commission sur l'intégrité écologique des parcs nationaux du Canada


Chapitre 6 : Outils de compréhension et d'évaluation de l'intégrité écologique
Recommandation de la Commission Considérations Mesures
(6-14) Nous recommandons que Parcs Canada présente des renseignements sur l'état des bases de données écologiques dans les parcs nationaux pour publication dans les rapports sur l'état des parcs (national et à l'échelle des parcs). Jusqu'à maintenant, Parcs Canada n'a pas fait publiquement rapport sur l'état des bases de données écologiques dans le Rapport sur l'état des parcs. EN COURS – FINANCEMENT. Les nouveaux Rapports sur l'état des parcs quinquennaux feront état de l'ensemble des données écologiques de chaque parc. à plus long terme, le Rapport sur l'état des parcs national (maintenant intitulé Rapport sur l'état des aires patrimoniales protégées) commencera à faire rapport sur l'état des bases de données. L'étendue et le choix du moment de ces rapports sont sujets à la disponibilité de nouveaux fonds.
(6-15) Dans tous les parcs, concevoir des plans de gestion des données afin d'organiser celles-ci, de les protéger et de les rendre accessibles. Il faudrait considérer ces plans comme un produit fondamental du programme de conservation de l'écosystème, tandis que les plans directeurs d'un parc devraient inclure la stratégie de gestion des données de ce parc. Seuls quelques parcs ont actuellement des plans de gestion des données adéquats et à jour. EN COURS – FINANCEMENT. La Directive sur la gestion des données écologiques exigera que chaque parc national prépare un Plan du parc sur la gestion de l'information. L'étendue et le choix du moment de la présentation de ces plans sont sujets à la disponibilité de nouveaux fonds.
(6-16) Nous recommandons que Parcs Canada affecte des professionnels chargés de l'information géographique dans chacun des parcs nationaux afin d'assurer la tenue d'une base de données de qualité et de permettre au public d'y avoir accès. Ces gestionnaires de données devraient travailler en étroite collaboration avec les partenaires externes dans les Centres régionaux de données sur la conservation. De nombreux parcs nationaux ont un système d'information géographique (SIG) et des services de SIG sont aussi offerts par l'entremise des Centres de services techniques et professionnels et du Bureau national. EN COURS – FINANCEMENT. L'amélioration de la capacité technique fait partie de la stratégie de mise en oeuvre préparée pour être soumise à l'étude du gouvernement dans le cadre du processus budgétaire régulier. L'étendue et le choix du moment de l'offre d'une telle capacité améliorée sont sujets à la disponibilité de nouveaux fonds.
(6-17) Nous recommandons que Parcs Canada investisse dans le Réseau canadien de centres de données sur la conservation, sous forme de financement direct, en... Parcs Canada consent actuellement des fonds pour les Centres de données sur la conservation (CDC) de l'Alberta et des provinces de l'Atlantique et travaille avec le réseau des CDC à l'élaboration d'un système de classification national de la végétation et à l'évaluation de la situation des espèces dans chaque parc. EN COURS – FINANCEMENT. Le soutien des CDC et l'établissement de partenariats de travail avec eux font partie de la stratégie de mise en oeuvre préparée pour être soumise à l'étude du gouvernement dans le cadre du processus budgétaire régulier. L'étendue et le choix du moment d'une telle action sont sujets à la disponibilité de nouveaux fonds.


Page précédente | Index | Page suivante