Progress Report on Implementation of the Recommendations of the Panel on the Ecological Integrity of Canada's National Parks


Chapter 6. Tools for Understanding and Monitoring Ecological Integrity
Panel Recommendation Considerations Action
(6-8) We recommend that Parks Canada establish an ongoing park-based monitoring report of the state of each individual park's ecological integrity (see for example the State of Greater Fundy Ecosystem Report or Waterton's State of the Crown of the Continent Report). As outlined in recommendation 3-3, these reports should be done every five years, prior to management plan review. In addition, these reports should undergo a third-party review/audit and be made publicly available as part of an annual public reporting process. In using this report, the revised Park Management Plan should demonstrate how the proposed direction and specific management actions respond to the state of ecological integrity within the park (Chapter 3). The park-based State of the Park Report should include ... The two examples cited – State of the Greater Fundy Ecosystem Report and the State of the Crown of the Continent Report – provide good models for future park-level State of the Park Reports. UNDERWAY. The revised Parks Canada Guide to Management Planning requires that each park produce a new, park-level State of the Park Report at the outset of each management planning cycle.
(6-9) We recommend that Parks Canada continue to produce the national-level State of Parks Report with the following changes. The Minister should affirm that the primary purpose of the State of the Parks Report is to report on ecological integrity, regardless of whether the State of the Parks Report includes other integrated information. In addition the State of Parks Report should ... The Auditor General has reviewed the 1994 and 1997 State of the Parks Reports. Given the legislated requirement to produce the State of the Parks Report every two years, a third-party review and audit is not practical. As required by the new Canada National Parks Act and the Parks Canada Agency Act, Parks Canada will continue to produce the national-level State of the Parks Report (now called the State of Protected Heritage Areas Report), with a primary focus on the ecological integrity of Canada's national parks. A periodic audit will be built into internal audits as well as work with the Auditor General.
(6-10) We recommend that Parks Canada develop a formal and rigorous data collection approach for State of the Parks Reports. Specifically we recommend that Parks Canada ...   UNDER WAY - FUNDING. Parks Canada will continue to improve its data collection processes for the State of the Parks Report (now called the State of Protected Heritage Areas Report), taking account of the specific recommendations. The extent and timing of improvements in this area are subject to the availability of new funding.


Previous | Index | Next

Rapport d'étape sur la mise en oeuvre des recommandations de la Commission sur l'intégrité écologique des parcs nationaux du Canada


Chapitre 6 : Outils de compréhension et d'évaluation de l'intégrité écologique
Recommandation de la Commission Considérations Mesures
(6-8) Nous recommandons que Parcs Canada établisse, pour chacun des parcs, un rapport récurrent de surveillance de l'état de son intégrité écologique. On peut prendre comme exemples le rapport sur l'état de l'écosystème de la grande région de Fundy ou celui sur le parc national des Lacs-Waterton (State of the Crown of the Continent Report). Comme l'indique la recommandation 3-3, ces rapports devraient être rédigés tous les cinq ans, avant la revue des plans directeurs. En outre, ils devraient être soumis à un examen ou à une vérification par des tiers et mis à la disposition du public, dans le cadre d'un processus d'information annuel. En se fondant sur ce rapport, le plan directeur du parc révisé devrait renfermer des solutions, sous formes d'orientations et de mesures de gestion, en réponse à l'état de l'intégrité écologique du parc (chapitre 3). Le rapport sur l'état d'un parc donné devrait comprendre ce qui suit... Les deux exemples cités – le rapport sur l'état de l'écosystème de la grande région de Fundy et le State of the Crown of the Continent Report – sont de bons modèles pour les futurs rapports sur l'état du parc. EN COURS. Le Guide pour l'élaboration des plans directeurs à Parcs Canada révisé exige que chaque parc produise un nouveau rapport de l'état du parc au début de chaque cycle de planification de gestion.
(6-9) Nous recommandons que Parcs Canada continue de produire le Rapport national sur l'état des parcs, en apportant les changements suivants. La ministre devrait réitérer que l'objectif principal du rapport sur l'état des parcs est de renseigner sur l'intégrité écologique, peu importe si celui-ci englobe d'autres renseignements. En outre, le Rapport sur l'état des parcs devrait être... Le vérificateur général a revu les éditions 1994 et 1997 du Rapport sur l'état des parcs. Compte tenu de l'obligation prévue par la loi de produire le Rapport sur l'état des parcs tous les deux ans, il n'est pas pratique de le faire examiner et vérifier par une tierce partie. Comme l'exigent la nouvelle Loi sur les parcs nationaux du Canada et la Loi sur l'Agence Parcs Canada, Parcs Canada va continuer à produire le Rapport sur l'état des parcs national (maintenant intitulé Rapport sur l'état des aires patrimoniales protégées) en mettant premièrement l'accent sur l'intégrité écologique des parcs nationaux du Canada. Une vérification périodique sera intégrée dans les vérifications internes de même que dans le travail avec le vérificateur général.
(6-10) Nous recommandons que Parcs Canada élabore une démarche officielle et rigoureuse de cueillette des données pour les rapports sur l'état des parcs. Plus précisément, nous recommandons que Parcs Canada...   EN COURS – FINANCEMENT. Parcs Canada va continuer à améliorer ses méthodes de collecte de données pour le Rapport sur l'état des parcs (maintenant intitulé Rapport sur l'état des aires patrimoniales protégées) en tenant compte des recommandations particulières. L'étendue et le choix du moment des améliorations dans ce domaine sont sujets à la disponibilité de nouveaux fonds.


Page précédente | Index | Page suivante