Progress Report on Implementation of the Recommendations of the Panel on the Ecological Integrity of Canada's National Parks


Chapter 6. Tools for Understanding and Monitoring Ecological Integrity
Panel Recommendation Considerations Action
(6-1) We recommend that Parks Canada develop national guidelines for ecological inventories: inventories specifying the type, scale, resolution and frequency of the information required. All parks should then review their current inventories against these guidelines. Ecological inventories are currently developed by collecting existing data from other government departments, provincial and territorial governments and other sources. Additional inventory requirements are identified through the park management planning process. In general, resources for adequate ecological inventories are lacking. UNDER WAY - FUNDING. Parks Canada is currently preparing an Ecosystem Conservation Planning Guide to replace the existing Natural Resources Management Process (1984). The new guide will provide a systematic framework for the range of activities that comprise ecosystem conservation, including, in general terms, inventory requirements. It will become an annex to the Parks Canada Guide to Management Planning and, in the future, will be supplemented by more technical guides on specific subjects, such as inventories, as needs arise. The extent and timing of improving inventories across the system of national parks are subject to the availability of new funding.
(6-2) We recommend that Parks Canada incorporate the costs of developing an adequate ecological inventory as part of new park establishment. As a general rule, the average cost of an inventory will be approximately $250,000 per park to cover a basic inventory of vegetation, topography, linear features, invertebrates and vascular plants. There are currently 14 unrepresented natural regions and five northern parks with inadequate basic inventories. The total cost to complete a basic inventory of each of these (14 new parks and five existing northern parks) would be $4.75 million. In recent years, limited funds have been available for ecological inventories in new parks. Parks Canada's assessment of inventory costs for new parks, especially in the North, is higher than the estimate provided by the Panel. UNDER WAY - FUNDING. The cost of developing an adequate ecological inventory for new parks has been included in the implementation strategy that has been prepared for government consideration as part of the normal budget process. The extent and timing of improving inventories for recently established and new parks are subject to the availability of new funding.
(6-3) We recommend that Parks Canada establish an emerging issues research fund of $1 million per year to deal with threats to ecological integrity that occur outside the normal management planning and business planning cycles. The National Office should administer the fund, with proposals for access based on peer review and expressed emergency need. No such fund exists at this time. UNDER WAY - FUNDING. The requirement for an emerging issues research fund has been included in the implementation strategy that has been prepared for government consideration as part of the normal budget process. The creation of such a fund is subject to the availability of new funding.


Index | Next

Rapport d'étape sur la mise en oeuvre des recommandations de la Commission sur l'intégrité écologique des parcs nationaux du Canada


Chapitre 6 : Outils de compréhension et d'évaluation de l'intégrité écologique
Recommandation de la Commission Considérations Mesures
(6-1) Nous recommandons que Parcs Canada élabore des directives nationales sur les inventaires écologiques, précisant le type, la portée, les échelles d'intégration et la fréquence de renouvellement des données. Tous les parcs devraient alors réviser leurs inventaires actuels en fonction de ces lignes directrices. L'on est à dresser des inventaires écologiques en recueillant des données existantes auprès d'autres ministères, d'autres gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux et d'autres sources. Les exigences additionnelles en matière d'inventaires sont déterminées lors du processus de planification de gestion des parcs. En général, il n'y a pas suffisamment de ressources pour dresser des inventaires écologiques adéquats. EN COURS – FINANCEMENT. Parcs Canada s'affaire à préparer un Guide pour la conservation des écosystèmes pour remplacer l'actuel Processus de gestion des ressources naturelles (1984). Le nouveau guide fournira un cadre systématique pour les activités comprenant la conservation des écosystèmes, incluant, en termes généraux, les exigences relatives en matière d'inventaires. Il sera annexé au Guide pour l'élaboration des plans directeurs à Parcs Canada et, dans l'avenir, on y greffera des guides plus techniques sur des sujets particuliers, comme les inventaires, au fur et à mesure des besoins. L'étendue et le choix du moment de l'amélioration des inventaires à travers le réseau des parcs nationaux sont sujets à la disponibilité de nouveaux fonds.
(6-2) Nous recommandons que Parcs Canada intègre les coûts d'élaboration d'un inventaire écologique adéquat au budget de création de tout nouveau parc. Le coût moyen d'un inventaire s'établit généralement à environ 250 000 $ par parc, ce qui comprend un inventaire de base de la végétation, de la topographie, des unités écologiques, des invertébrés et des plantes vasculaires. On compte actuellement 14 régions naturelles non représentées et cinq parcs du Nord dont les inventaires de base sont inadéquats. La réalisation d'un inventaire de base dans 14 nouveaux parcs et dans les cinq parcs déjà établis dans le Nord coûterait au total 4,75 millions de dollars. Ces dernières années, des fonds limités ont été consacrés à l'établissement d'inventaires écologiques dans les nouveaux parcs. Parcs Canada estime qu'il en coûtera plus cher pour dresser les inventaires des nouveaux parcs, surtout dans le Nord, que ne l'a estimé la Commission. EN COURS – FINANCEMENT. Les coûts de l'établissement d'un inventaire écologique adéquat pour les nouveaux parcs ont été inclus dans la stratégie de mise en oeuvre préparée pour être soumise à l'étude du gouvernement dans le cadre du processus budgétaire régulier. L'étendue et le choix du moment de l'amélioration de l'établissement des inventaires pour les parcs nouveaux et récents sont sujets à la disponibilité de nouveaux fonds.
(6-3) Nous recommandons que Parcs Canada mette sur pied un fonds de recherche d'un million de dollars par an destiné à l'étude des problèmes émergents qui menacent l'intégrité écologique, mais qui surviennent en dehors des cycles réguliers de l'élaboration des plans directeurs et des plans d'affaires. Le Bureau national devrait administrer ce fonds et les demandes devraient être évaluées en fonction d'un examen par les pairs et de l'urgence de la situation. Aucun fonds de la sorte n'existe encore. EN COURS – FINANCEMENT. La mise sur pied d'un fonds de recherche destiné à l'étude des problèmes émergents fait partie de la stratégie de mise en oeuvre préparée pour être soumise à l'étude du gouvernement dans le cadre du processus budgétaire régulier. La création d'un tel fonds est sujette à la disponibilité de nouveaux fonds.


Index | Page suivante