Progress Report on Implementation of the Recommendations of the Panel on the Ecological Integrity of Canada's National Parks


Chapter 5. The Need for Active Management and Restoration
Panel Recommendation Considerations Action
(5-7) We further recommend that Parks Canada improve the management of alien species by working with local experts, museums, universities and other government departments to routinely monitor for new species invasions. In addition, improved management of alien species will result from implementing recommendations made in Chapter 12 concerning the elimination of non-native plant species in parks. To foster public support for the elimination of alien plant species from national parks, we recommend that Parks Canada design and implement interpretive programs and other information as recommended in Chapter 10. Parks Canada is currently a participant in the development of a federal/provincial/industry alien species strategy, led by the Canadian Forest Service. UNDER WAY - FUNDING. Parks Canada's strategy on alien species will include participation in inter-agency initiatives, control and eradication of alien species in national parks and communications with the public. The extent and timing of implementation of the strategy are subject to the availability of new funds.

(5-8) We recommend that Parks Canada establish guidelines for the management of any harvested populations in a park. We recommend that no harvest be allowed to occur unless these guidelines are met and that any harvest under the jurisdiction of Parks Canada that does not meet these principles should be discontinued. We note that some harvest regimes within some national parks are not under the jurisdiction of Parks Canada and thus Parks Canada could advocate a position in these cases.

We recommend the following principles for harvesting in national parks ...

Where harvesting is permitted in national parks, park data on harvestable populations are inconsistent and inadequate. UNDER WAY - FUNDING. Where harvesting is permitted under new park agreements or as an existing Aboriginal or treaty right, Parks Canada will establish (or advocate) guidelines for ecologically sustainable harvest regimes. The extent and timing of implementation of these guidelines are subject to the availability of new funding.
(5-9) We recommend that Parks Canada confirm the role for control of hyperabundant species in national parks through active management, to maintain or restore ecological integrity, as long as the following conditions are met ... Existing legislation, policy and planning processes provide for control of hyperabundant species. UNDER WAY - FUNDING. A national directive on the control of hyperabundant species is approved and in effect. The extent and timing of implementation of the directive are subject to the availability of new funding.


Previous | Index

Rapport d'étape sur la mise en oeuvre des recommandations de la Commission sur l'intégrité écologique des parcs nationaux du Canada


Chapitre 5 : La nécessité de la gestion active et de la restauration
Recommandation de la Commission Considérations Mesures
(5-7) Nous recommandons aussi que Parcs Canada améliore la gestion des espèces exotiques en travaillant de concert avec des spécialistes locaux, des musées, des universités et d'autres ministères, afin de surveiller la propagation de nouvelles espèces. En outre, une meilleure gestion des espèces exotiques découlera de la mise en oeuvre des recommandations présentées au chapitre 12 au sujet de l'élimination des espèces végétales non indigènes dans les parcs. Afin d'assurer le soutien du grand public en vue de l'élimination des espèces végétales exotiques des parcs nationaux, nous recommandons que Parcs Canada conçoive et mette en oeuvre des programmes d'interprétation ainsi que d'autres instruments d'information, tel que recommandé au chapitre 10 Parcs Canada participe actuellement à l'élaboration d'une stratégie fédérale-provinciale-industrielle sur les espèces exotiques dirigée par le Service canadien des forêts. EN COURS – FINANCEMENT. La stratégie de Parcs Canada sur les espèces exotiques prévoit sa participation à des initiatives mixtes, le contrôle et l'élimination des espèces exotiques dans les parcs nationaux et des communications avec le public. L'étendue et le choix du moment de la mise en oeuvre de la stratégie sont sujets à la disponibilité de nouveaux fonds.

(5-8) Nous recommandons que Parcs Canada adopte des lignes directrices concernant la gestion de toutes les espèces faisant l'objet d'activités de prélèvement dans un parc. Nous recommandons également d'interdire toute récolte, à moins que ces directives ne soient respectées. De plus, les activités de récolte, qui sont sous l'autorité de Parcs Canada mais qui ne respectent pas ces directives, doivent cesser. Bien que certains régimes de prélèvement à l'intérieur des limites de certains parcs nationaux ne soient pas de sa juridiction, Parcs Canada pourrait tout de même faire connaître et soutenir clairement sa position dans de telles situations.

Nous recommandons l'adoption des principes suivants pour établir les lignes directrices en question...

Quand la récolte est permise dans les parcs nationaux, les données des parcs sur les espèces récoltables sont incohérentes et inadéquates. EN COURS – FINANCEMENT. Lorsque la récolte est permise en vertu des nouvelles ententes sur la création d'un parc ou d'un droit autochtone ou conféré par traité existant, Parcs Canada va établir des lignes directrices (ou militer en faveur de telles lignes directrices) pour des régimes de récolte écologiquement viables. L'étendue et le choix du moment de la mise en oeuvre de ces lignes directrices sont sujets à la disponibilité de nouveaux fonds.
(5-9) Nous recommandons que Parcs Canada confirme le rôle du contrôle des espèces surabondantes dans les parcs nationaux au moyen d'une gestion active visant à maintenir ou à restaurer l'intégrité écologique, lorsque les conditions suivantes sont respectées... Les lois, les politiques et les processus de planification existants prévoient le contrôle des espèces surabondantes. EN COURS – FINANCEMENT. Une directive nationale sur le contrôle des espèces surabondantes a été approuvée et est en vigueur. L'étendue et le choix du moment de la mise en oeuvre de la directive sont sujets à la disponibilité de nouveaux fonds.


Page précédente | Index