Progress Report on Implementation of the Recommendations of the Panel on the Ecological Integrity of Canada's National Parks


Chapter 4. Building Capacity for Learning and Education
Panel Recommendation Considerations Action
(4-3) We recommend that Parks Canada significantly increase formal contact with Canadian universities by establishing a system of 10 co-operative study units specializing in ecosystem science and protected area management (estimated cost $3 million per year, see Chapter 13). Parks Canada has agreements with several universities and has explored different cooperative approaches appropriate to limited budgets. Additional initiatives in this area would need to build upon and respect these existing agreements. The Panel's model for cooperative study units is based on the American Cooperative Ecosystem Studies Units, in which universities and academic consortia bid for funds in a competitive and peer-reviewed process. Parks Canada will need a strong, independent review capacity to manage such a process. UNDER WAY - FUNDING. The creation of cooperative study units has been addressed in the implementation strategy that has been prepared for government consideration as part of the normal budget process, recognizing the desire to form science partnerships with academia, government and Aboriginal groups. The extent and timing of establishing the cooperative study units recommended are subject to the availability of new funding.
(4-4) We recommend that Parks Canada facilitate contact with the larger university and education community by ... Across the system of national parks, individual parks have developed a variety of effective relationships with universities and colleges on a case-by-case basis. These relationships have evolved to suit the needs of all parties, given available resources and specific project requirements. Additional initiatives in this area must build upon these existing relationships. UNDER WAY - FUNDING. Initiatives to enhance contact with the larger academic community have been addressed in the implementation strategy that has been prepared for government consideration as part of the normal budget process. The extent and timing of implementation of these initiatives are subject to the availability of new funding.
(4-5) We recommend that Parks Canada re-establish and/or revitalize memoranda of understanding or research agreements with government research agencies to expand research capacity and ensure that joint projects receive stable funding. Within its limited financial and human resource capacity, Parks Canada works with numerous federal and provincial departments and agencies in the context of conservation data centres, species at risk, model forests, ecological inventories and monitoring, air and water monitoring, geomatics data sharing, paleontological research, marine fish and mammal studies and management, and many other disciplines. Additional initiatives in this area must build upon these existing relationships. UNDER WAY - FUNDING. Parks Canada is working to re-establish memoranda of understanding (MOUs) with other government science agencies and departments as appropriate to its mandate. The first such MOU, with the Canadian Forest Service, has been negotiated and preliminary discussions have been held with Environment Canada. The extent of additional resources for such partnerships is subject to the availability of new funding.
(4-6) We recommend that Parks Canada establish partnership agreements with interested Aboriginal peoples, enabling national parks to co-operate with Aboriginal peoples to increase knowledge and understanding of ecological integrity in national parks and historic sites. This type of cooperation is in place in most new park agreements and with some local and regional First Nations organizations. UNDER WAY - FUNDING. Enhanced initiatives in this area are included in the implementation strategy that has been prepared for government consideration as part of the normal budget process. The extent and timing of implementation of these initiatives are subject to the availability of new funding.
(4-7) We recommend that Parks Canada work with partners in provincial, territorial, and municipal park systems, universities, non-governmental organizations and the private sector to collectively fund the systematic establishment of regional science advisory committees, and to participate in annual "Parks Research Forum" series across Canada, based on the Ontario model. Parks Canada endorses these ways to enhance the flow of science advice and results between it and the broader science community. Several national parks (e.g. Glacier, Kouchibouguac, Elk Island, Kejimkujik) already have science advisory committees and have held science fora. UNDER WAY - FUNDING. This has been addressed in the implementation strategy that has been prepared for government consideration as part of the normal budget process. The extent and timing of implementation are subject to the availability of new funding.


Previous | Index

Rapport d'étape sur la mise en oeuvre des recommandations de la Commission sur l'intégrité écologique des parcs nationaux du Canada


Chapitre 4 : Développer une capacité d'apprentissage et d'éducation
Recommandation de la Commission Considérations Mesures
(4-3) Nous recommandons que Parcs Canada développe des ententes formelles avec les universités canadiennes, en mettant sur pied un réseau de dix coopératives de recherche en écologie et en gestion des aires protégées (coût évalué à 3 millions de dollars par an; voir le chapitre 13). Parcs Canada a des ententes avec plusieurs universités et a étudié différentes approches coopératives convenant à des budgets limités. Toute initiative additionnelle dans ce domaine devrait bâtir sur ces ententes existantes et les respecter. Le modèle des coopératives de recherche en écologie de la Commission se fonde sur les coopératives américaines d'étude des écosystèmes, où des universités et des consortiums du milieu de l'enseignement présentent des soumissions pour obtenir des fonds dans le cadre d'un processus concurrentiel évalué par des pairs. Parcs Canada aura besoin d'une capacité d'examen forte et indépendante pour gérer un tel processus. EN COURS – FINANCEMENT. La création de coopératives de recherche fait partie de la stratégie de mise en oeuvre préparée pour être soumise à l'étude du gouvernement dans le cadre du processus budgétaire régulier; on y reconnaît le désir de former des partenariats scientifiques avec des groupes des milieux de l'enseignement, gouvernementaux et autochtones. L'étendue et le choix du moment de l'établissement des coopératives de recherche recommandées sont sujets à la disponibilité de nouveaux fonds.
(4-4) Nous recommandons que Parcs Canada favorise les liens avec les universités et le milieu de l'éducation en... Dans le réseau des parcs nationaux, certains parcs ont individuellement noué, au cas par cas, toutes sortes de bonnes relations avec les universités et collèges. Ces relations ont évolué au gré des besoins de toutes les parties, compte tenu des ressources disponibles et des exigences particulières des projets. Les initiatives additionnelles dans ce domaine doivent bâtir sur ces relations existantes. EN COURS – FINANCEMENT. Les initiatives visant à améliorer les rapports avec le milieu de l'enseignement font partie de la stratégie de mise en oeuvre préparée pour être soumise à l'étude du gouvernement dans le cadre du processus budgétaire régulier. L'étendue et le choix du moment de la mise en oeuvre de ces initiatives sont sujets à la disponibilité de nouveaux fonds.
(4-5) Nous recommandons que Parcs Canada établisse à nouveau ou relance des protocoles d'entente ou des conventions de recherche avec des organismes de recherche gouvernementaux, pour étendre davantage sa capacité scientifique et pour faire en sorte que les projets conjoints obtiennent un financement stable. à l'intérieur de sa capacité financière et de ses ressources humaines limitées, Parcs Canada travaille avec de nombreux ministères et organismes fédéraux et provinciaux dans le contexte des centres de données sur la conservation, des espèces en péril, des forêts modèles, des inventaires et de la surveillance écologiques, du contrôle de la pollution de l'air et de l'eau, du partage des données géomatiques, de la recherche paléontologique, de l'étude et de la gestion des poissons et des mammifères marins et de nombreuses autres disciplines. Les initiatives additionnelles dans ce domaine doivent bâtir sur ces relations existantes. EN COURS – FINANCEMENT. Parcs Canada travaille à renouer des protocoles d'entente avec d'autres ministères et organismes scientifiques gouvernementaux, selon les besoins de son mandat. Le premier de ces protocoles a été négocié avec le Service canadien des forêts et on a tenu des pourparlers préliminaires avec Environnement Canada. L'étendue des ressources additionnelles pour de tels partenariats est sujette à la disponibilité de nouveaux fonds.
(4-6) Nous recommandons que Parcs Canada établisse des ententes de partenariat avec les peuples autochtones intéressés, permettant ainsi aux parcs nationaux de collaborer avec eux dans le but d'augmenter les connaissances sur l'intégrité écologique et d'en améliorer la compréhension au sein des parcs nationaux et des lieux historiques. Ce type de coopération est prévu dans la plupart des nouvelles ententes sur la création d'un parc et a cours avec certaines organisations locales et régionales des Premières nations. EN COURS – FINANCEMENT. Des mesures en ce sens font partie de la stratégie de mise en oeuvre préparée pour être soumise à l'étude du gouvernement dans le cadre du processus budgétaire régulier. L'étendue et le choix du moment de la mise en oeuvre de ces initiatives sont sujets à la disponibilité de nouveaux fonds.
(4-7) Nous recommandons que Parcs Canada travaille avec ses partenaires des réseaux de parcs provinciaux, territoriaux et municipaux, avec les universités, les organisations non gouvernementales et le secteur privé en vue de financer en commun la mise sur pied systématique de Comités consultatifs scientifiques régionaux et de participer à une série de forums de recherche sur les parcs, créés sur le modèle ontarien, qui auraient lieu chaque année, partout au Canada. L'Agence Parcs Canada approuve ces façons d'améliorer le flux des conseils et des résultats scientifiques entre elle et le milieu scientifique en général. Plusieurs parcs nationaux (p. ex. des Glaciers, Kouchibouguac, Elk Island, Kejimkujik) ont déjà ces comités consultatifs scientifiques et ont tenu des forums scientifiques. EN COURS – FINANCEMENT. Cela est prévu dans la stratégie de mise en oeuvre préparée pour être soumise à l'étude du gouvernement dans le cadre du processus budgétaire régulier. L'étendue et le choix du moment de la mise en oeuvre sont sujets à la disponibilité de nouveaux fonds.


Page précédente | Index