Progress Report on Implementation of the Recommendations of the Panel on the Ecological Integrity of Canada's National Parks


Chapter 3. Planning for Ecological Integrity
Panel Recommendation Considerations Action
(3-20) With respect to implementation planning at the national level, we recommend that Parks Canada revise the Corporate Plan along lines conceptually similar to those suggested for Implementation (Business) Plans (Recommendation 3-15), especially so that business lines and service lines better reflect the principal objective of national parks with respect to ecological integrity and to better track the allocation or resources to the maintenance and restoration of ecological integrity. Develop Corporate Plans to achieve national-level targets for indicators of ecological integrity. The current framework for preparing the Corporate Plan emphasizes the key importance of ecological integrity.

UNDER WAY. The Annual Report on the 1999–2000 Corporate Plan, and the Corporate Plan for 2000–2001 both refer to the Panel's landmark report and emphasize the priority for addressing ecological integrity. The need to secure additional funding to fully implement the recommendations is also highlighted.

Changes will continue to be considered in future. Corporate-level reports are being produced to ensure that ecological integrity is highlighted and reported on in the most effective way.

Training has been provided to administrative officers to ensure that spending on ecological integrity initiatives is properly tracked.

(3-21) With respect to evaluation and reporting at the national scale, we recommend that Parks Canada continue to produce the State of the Parks Report, but ... Sub-recommendations call for adapting the report in future to better address progress related to ecological integrity, and changing the cycle from each two years to each five years to better align with the overall Parks Canada planning, evaluation and reporting cycle.

The report will continue to be produced on a two-year basis in keeping with the legislation establishing the Parks Canada Agency ("31. At least every two years, the Chief Executive Officer shall provide the Minister with a report, to be tabled in each House of Parliament, on the state of national parks, national historic sites and other protected heritage areas and heritage protection programs, and on the performance of the Agency in carrying out its responsibilities under section 6.") However, in keeping with the spirit of the recommendation, a major focus will be placed on ecological integrity every four years when measurable change and progress can be reported.

Strengthening of reporting will occur progressively subject to the availability of additional supporting resources.

Note that this report is now called the State of Protected Heritage Areas Report as it encompasses all Parks Canada programs.

(3-22) To those ends, we recommend that Parks Canada create an enhanced role for regional Service Centres to ensure that national-, regional- and park-level planning, implementation, evaluation and reporting is co-ordinated and mutually supportive (Chapters 2 and 4). Parks Canada supports the principle of planning, implementation and evaluation occurring at different levels within the organization that are mutually supportive. UNDER WAY - FUNDING. An enhanced role of the Service Centres with respect to planning and managing for ecological integrity has been included in the implementation strategy that has been prepared for government consideration as part of the normal budget process. The extent and timing of enhancing the Service Centres' role are subject to the availability of new funding.


Previous | Index

Rapport d'étape sur la mise en oeuvre des recommandations de la Commission sur l'intégrité écologique des parcs nationaux du Canada


Chapitre 3 : Planifier l'intégrité écologique
Recommandation de la Commission Considérations Mesures
(3-20) Nous recommandons, en ce qui concerne la planification de la mise en oeuvre à l'échelle nationale, que Parcs Canada révise le plan d'entreprise selon une approche conceptuelle semblable à celle qui a été proposée pour les plans de mise en oeuvre (d'affaires) (recommandation 3-15), notamment pour que les « gammes d'activités » et les « gammes de services » reflètent mieux le principal objectif des parcs nationaux en matière d'intégrité écologique, et pour mieux tenir compte de l'affectation de ressources. Le cadre actuel de préparation du plan d'entreprise met l'accent sur l'importance primordiale de l'intégrité écologique.

EN COURS. Le rapport annuel sur le Plan d'entreprise 1999 – 2000 et le Plan d'entreprise pour 2000 – 2001 font tous deux référence au rapport historique de la Commission et insistent pour que l'on donne la priorité à l'intégrité écologique. On y souligne également la nécessité d'obtenir du financement additionnel pour donner pleinement suite aux recommandations.

Nous continuerons d'envisager des changements à l'avenir. Des rapports d'entreprise sont en préparation pour veiller à ce que l'on mette l'accent et qu'on fasse des rapports le plus efficacement possible sur l'intégrité écologique.

On a donné de la formation aux agents d'administration pour qu'ils soient en mesure de suivre adéquatement les dépenses faites dans le cadre des initiatives d'intégrité écologique.
(3-21) Nous recommandons, en ce qui a trait à l'évaluation et à la reddition des comptes à l'échelle nationale, que Parcs Canada continue de produire le Rapport sur l'état des parcs, mais en tenant compte de ce qui suit... Les sous-recommandations demandent qu'à l'avenir, le rapport soit adapté pour mieux rendre compte des progrès accomplis en matière d'intégrité écologique et qu'on en fasse passer le cycle de deux ans à cinq ans pour qu'il corresponde mieux au cycle global de planification, d'évaluation et de production de rapports de Parcs Canada.

On continuera de produire le rapport à tous les deux ans, conformément à la loi établissant l'Agence Parcs Canada. (« 31. Au moins tous les deux ans, le directeur général doit présenter au ministre, pour dépôt devant chaque chambre du Parlement, un rapport sur l'état des parcs nationaux, des lieux historiques nationaux, des autres lieux patrimoniaux protégés et des programmes de protection du patrimoine et sur les résultats obtenus dans la réalisation de la mission visée à l'article 6... ») Cependant, conformément à l'esprit de la recommandation, l'accent sera largement mis sur l'intégrité écologique tous les quatre ans lorsqu'il sera possible de faire état de changements et de progrès mesurables.

Le renforcement de la production de rapports se fera progressivement moyennant la disponibilité de ressources auxiliaires additionnelles.

Ce rapport s'intitule maintenant Rapport sur les aires patrimoniales protégées, puisqu'il englobe tous les programmes de Parcs Canada.
(3-22) à ces fins, nous recommandons que Parcs Canada rehausse le rôle des Centres de services régionaux pour veiller à ce que les activités de planification, de mise en oeuvre, d'évaluation et de reddition des comptes, à l'échelle nationale, régionale et des parcs, soient coordonnées et complémentaires (chapitres 2 et 4). Parcs Canada appuie le principe de la complémentarité de la planification, de la mise en oeuvre et de l'évaluation à différents niveaux de l'organisation. EN COURS – FINANCEMENT. L'amélioration du rôle des Centres de services au chapitre de la planification et de la gestion de l'intégrité écologique fait partie de la stratégie de mise en oeuvre préparée pour être soumise à l'examen du gouvernement dans le cadre du processus budgétaire régulier. L'étendue et le choix du moment de l'amélioration du rôle des Centres de services sont sujets à la disponibilité de nouveaux fonds.


Page précédente | Index