Progress Report on Implementation of the Recommendations of the Panel on the Ecological Integrity of Canada's National Parks


Chapter 3. Planning for Ecological Integrity
Panel Recommendation Considerations Action
(3-17) We recommend that Parks Canada designate stand-alone work plans as "Operational Plans" under the umbrellas of the strategic and implementation plans to facilitate better linkage between strategic directions and on-the-ground activities to achieve ecological integrity objectives. This can be done by adding Operational Plans as appendices to the Implementation Plan, thus forcing the Implementation Plan to refer explicitly to them as well as to strategic Park Management Plans. These links between management plans, business plans and work plans or other detailed plans are already in place, though the terminology is not as recommended by the Panel. UNDERWAY. Management plans, business plans, and any subsequent detailed plans that may be necessary will be clearly linked and will be accountability tools for the maintenance or restoration of ecological integrity.
(3-18) We recommend that Parks Canada annually report about progress to maintaining and restoring ecological integrity in individual parks to provide a short-term feedback loop at the park level ... A formal, mandatory Annual Plan Implementation Report should be available to the public using appropriate public involvement mechanisms. (This report could be simply a compendium of the annual reports on individual Operational Plans.) The Annual Plan Implementation Report should be short and designed to facilitate easy "roll up" into a mandatory five-year report on the state of ecological integrity in the park (Recommendation 3-5) prior to the beginning of the next park management planning cycle. This requirement was initially built into the Banff Management Plan in 1998. UNDERWAY. The revised Parks Canada Guide to Management Planning requires that each park prepare an annual implementation report on the management plan. This can be linked to the requirement that already existed for an annual report on the accomplishments of the previous year's business plan. (This report on accomplishments helps monitor key priorities, and is used in performance appraisals of senior managers.)
(3-19) We recommend that the basic elements of a new National Strategic Plan should be similar to those proposed for revised Park Management Plans (see above), but scaled to the national level, and particularly include ... This recommendation includes reference to establishing indicators and targets for the broad national family of protected areas, including national parks. The response to this recommendation is part of longer range thinking that will be undertaken to consider national-level indicators and targets for the national park system. Some initial work has been done as part of earlier Parks Canada State of the Parks Reports. See also 3-4. Additional work in this area is dependent upon new funds and would be done in cooperation with other protected areas agencies, especially Environment Canada (see 3-4).


Previous | Index | Next

Rapport d'étape sur la mise en oeuvre des recommandations de la Commission sur l'intégrité écologique des parcs nationaux du Canada


Chapitre 3 : Planifier l'intégrité écologique
Recommandation de la Commission Considérations Mesures
(3-17) Nous recommandons que les plans de travail spécifiques, soient placés sous la gouverne des plans directeurs et plans de mise en oeuvre en tant qu'appendices à ces plans. Ceci permettra d'établir des liens clairs entre les directions stratégiques et les interventions sur le terrain. Ces liens entre les plans directeurs, les plans d'affaires et les plans de travail ou d'autres plans détaillés existent déjà, bien que la terminologie ne soit pas celle recommandée par la Commission. EN COURS. Les plans directeurs, les plans d'affaires et tout plan détaillé subséquent susceptible d'être nécessaire seront clairement reliés et seront des outils de reddition de comptes pour le maintien ou la restauration de l'intégrité écologique.
(3-18) Nous recommandons que Parcs Canada présente annuellement, pour chaque parc, un rapport annuel sur les progrès réalisés en vue du maintien et de la restauration de l'intégrité écologique, afin que les parcs disposent d'une boucle de rétroaction (figure 3-4). Un rapport annuel obligatoire et officiel sur la mise en oeuvre des plans devrait être mis à la disposition du public, à l'aide des mécanismes pertinents. (Il pourrait simplement s'agir d'un recueil des rapports annuels sur les plans opérationnels individuels.) Le rapport annuel sur la mise en oeuvre des plans devrait être bref et conçu pour être facilement intégré dans un rapport quinquennal obligatoire sur l'état de l'intégrité écologique dans le parc (recommandation 3-5), avant le début du cycle suivant d'élaboration du plan directeur de ce parc. Cette exigence a été intégrée pour la première fois dans le plan directeur de Banff en 1998. EN COURS. Le Guide pour l'élaboration des plans directeurs à Parcs Canada révisé exige que chaque parc prépare un rapport annuel de mise en oeuvre du plan directeur. Cela peut être relié à l'obligation existante de produire un rapport annuel sur les réalisations découlant du plan d'affaires de l'année précédente. (Ce rapport sur les réalisations aide à surveiller la réalisation des principales priorités et est utilisé dans les évaluations du rendement des gestionnaires supérieurs.)
(3-19) Nous recommandons que les éléments fondamentaux d'un nouveau plan stratégique national soient semblables à ceux proposés pour les plans directeurs de parc révisés (voir ci-dessus), mais reportés à l'échelle nationale et comprennent, plus précisément, ce qui suit... Cette recommandation prévoit également l'établissement d'indicateurs et d'objectifs pour la grande famille nationale des aires protégées, y compris les parcs nationaux. La réponse à cette recommandation s'inscrit dans une réflexion à plus long terme qui sera entreprise pour étudier des indicateurs et des objectifs nationaux pour le réseau des parcs nationaux. Des travaux initiaux ont déjà été faits dans le cadre d'un Rapport sur l'état des parcs antérieur de Parcs Canada. Voir aussi 3-4. Des travaux additionnels dans ce domaine dépendent de l'obtention de nouveaux fonds et pourront se réaliser en collaboration avec d'autres agences responsables d'aires protégées en particulier Environnement Canada (voir 3-4).


Page précédente | Index | Page suivante