Progress Report on Implementation of the Recommendations of the Panel on the Ecological Integrity of Canada's National Parks


Chapter 3. Planning for Ecological Integrity
Panel Recommendation Considerations Action
(3-14) In an effort to move away from the language of business, we recommend that Parks Canada stop using the term "Business Plan" and refer instead to "Implementation Plans" (Chapter 2). Use of the term "business plan" is widely accepted in all government sectors and has a generic application to all types of programs. Change of the term could create confusion. While "business plans" will continue to be the document adjusted annually and used to implement management plans, it has been clarified that they will include actions related to ecological integrity as a first priority in the management of national parks. Ecological integrity is central to management plans, and consequently to business plans as well.
(3-15) We recommend that Parks Canada revise the present format of Implementation (Business) Plans to also become comprehensive accountability tools for maintenance and restoration of ecological integrity. The tactical components of Ecosystem Conservation Plans should be outlined in the Implementation Plan and elaborated in individual Operational Plans for specific projects as means to achieve and maintain ecological integrity. Operational Plans should be considered appendices to the Implementation Plan, thus making explicit the links from the Guiding Policies and Principles and strategic Park Management Plans to action-oriented work plans through Implementation Plans (Figure 3-3). The Implementation Plan should describe... See 3-14 concerning the intended focus of business plans on ecological integrity actions and 3-3 concerning incorporation of the strategic elements of Ecosystem Conservation Plans into management plans. The "tactical" or detailed planning needed to implement specific projects will continue to be carried out as needed, although the resulting documents may not necessarily be called "Operational Plans."

UNDER WAY. Management plans, business plans, and any subsequent detailed plans that may be necessary will be clearly linked and will be accountability tools for the maintenance or restoration of ecological integrity.

The revised Parks Canada Guide to Management Planning calls for a summary of planned actions to be included with each plan, to assist in tracking results and monitoring plan implementation. The summary will assist in linking management and business plans.

Ecological integrity is a key factor considered in reviewing business plans.

(3-16) We recommend that Parks Canada review the length of the cycle for implementation planning with a view to making it commensurate with the length of the cycle for strategic planning, such that each new implementation planning cycle immediately follows and is guided by new Park Management Plans. This will facilitate better linkages between strategic and implementation planning. The crux of the Panel's concern seems to be that the park management plan has a five-year cycle, while the business plan (the key implementation document for a management plan) has a three-year cycle. The business plan, however, is reviewed and adjusted annually. UNDERWAY. Parks Canada will continue to seek to improve business plans and improve links to management plans (thus facilitating links between the strategic and the implementation documents). Business plans will continue on a three-year cycle.


Previous | Index | Next

Rapport d'étape sur la mise en oeuvre des recommandations de la Commission sur l'intégrité écologique des parcs nationaux du Canada


Chapitre 3 : Planifier l'intégrité écologique
Recommandation de la Commission Considérations Mesures
(3-14) Afin de s'éloigner du langage des affaires, nous recommandons que Parcs Canada cesse d'utiliser le terme « plan d'affaires » et fasse plutôt référence aux « plans de mise en oeuvre » (chapitre 2). L'utilisation du terme « plan d'affaires » est largement acceptée dans tous les secteurs de l'administration publique et s'applique de manière générique à tous les types de programmes. Changer le terme pourrait semer la confusion. Si les « plans d'affaires » demeureront le document annualisé et utilisé pour mettre en oeuvre les plans directeurs, il a été précisé qu'ils comprendront des mesures liées à l'intégrité écologique en tant que première priorité de la gestion des parcs nationaux. L'intégrité écologique est l'élément central des plans directeurs et l'est donc aussi pour les plans d'affaires.
(3-15) Nous recommandons que Parcs Canada modifie la forme actuelle des plans de mise en oeuvre (d'affaires) pour qu'ils deviennent aussi des outils d'imputabilité en matière d'intégrité écologique. Les éléments tactiques des plans de conservation des écosystèmes devraient être inclus dans le plan de mise en oeuvre et formulés dans les plans opérationnels de chaque projet. Il faudrait considérer les plans opérationnels comme des annexes du plan de mise en oeuvre. Le plan de mise en oeuvre devrait inclure... Voir 3-14 au sujet de l'orientation prévue des plans d'affaires sur les mesures d'intégrité écologique et 3-3 au sujet de l'intégration des éléments stratégiques des Plans de conservation des écosystèmes dans les plans directeurs. La planification « tactique » ou détaillée nécessaire à la mise en oeuvre de projets particuliers se poursuivra au besoin, bien que les documents résultants puissent ne pas nécessairement s'appeler des « plans opérationnels ». EN COURS. Les plans directeurs, les plans d'affaires et tout plan détaillé subséquent pouvant se révéler nécessaire seront clairement reliés et seront des outils d'imputabilité pour le maintien ou la restauration de l'intégrité écologique. Le Guide pour l'élaboration des plans directeurs à Parcs Canada révisé demande que chaque plan comprenne un sommaire des mesures prévues afin qu'il soit plus facile de suivre les résultats et de surveiller le plan de mise en oeuvre. Le sommaire va aider à relier les plans directeurs et d'affaires. L'intégrité écologique est un facteur majeur à considérer dans l'examen des plans d'affaires.
(3-16) Nous recommandons que Parcs Canada étudie la durée du cycle de planification de la mise en oeuvre afin de la faire correspondre à la durée du cycle de planification stratégique, de sorte que chaque nouveau cycle de planification de la mise en oeuvre lui succède immédiatement et soit guidé par les nouveaux plans directeurs de parc. Cette démarche favorisera de meilleurs liens entre la planification stratégique et la planification de la mise en oeuvre. La Commission semble se préoccuper surtout de ce que le plan directeur de parc ait un cycle de cinq ans, alors que le plan d'affaires (le principal document de mise en oeuvre pour un plan directeur) a un cycle de trois ans. Le plan d'affaires, cependant, est revu et ajusté annuellement. EN COURS. Parcs Canada va continuer de tenter d'améliorer les plans d'affaires et d'améliorer les liens avec les plans directeurs (facilitant ainsi les liens entre les documents stratégiques et de mise en oeuvre). On continuera de préparer les plans d'affaires selon un cycle de trois ans.


Page précédente | Index | Page suivante