Progress Report on Implementation of the Recommendations of the Panel on the Ecological Integrity of Canada's National Parks


Chapter 3. Planning for Ecological Integrity
Panel Recommendation Considerations Action
(3-9) We recommend that Parks Canada develop national guidelines and associated training for planners and senior managers to successfully protect and integrate the primary objective of Parks Canada's mandate into public involvement processes, that meet the following criteria ...   UNDER WAY. The revised Parks Canada Guide to Management Planning for the first time sets out 14 key elements of effective consultation and program design. Training programs on this topic are intended for the future.
(3-10) We recommend that Parks Canada revise the present zoning system and methods for zoning in order to help designate, through planning, areas within parks based principally on their significance for maintaining or restoring ecological integrity and on their ecological sensitivity.   UNDER WAY. The revised Parks Canada Guide to Management Planning emphasizes that ecological integrity factors will be the most important consideration in zoning. Refinements will be implemented progressively.
(3-11) We recommend that within six months, there be an Order-in-Council to convert existing wilderness zones (Zone 2 areas) in national parks into legally designated wilderness as provided by the National Parks Act. The broad intent of this recommendation – to accelerate the declaration of wilderness areas – will be met by placing increased emphasis on declaring the wilderness areas of national parks on an individual basis, following extensive consultation during management planning. See 3-12 below. UNDERWAY. Wilderness areas have been declared in the four contiguous mountain parks. An Action Plan for the Declaration of Wilderness Areas in National Parks has been developed to guide the designation of wilderness areas in most other national parks as management plans are either prepared for the first time or revised.
(3-12) We recommend that the Minister seek, through Bill C-70 or its successors, to amend Section 14 of the National Parks Act to empower the Minister to make the necessary wilderness regulations rather than requiring an Order-in-Council through Cabinet Committee. We further recommend that an Order-in-Council be required to remove any wilderness designated through these regulations. Suggested wording for Bill C-70 is in Appendix C. The policy of the federal government is that regulation-making powers should be vested in the Governor in Council. The new Canada National Parks Act includes a provision that will speed the declaration of wilderness through setting a time restriction. This has been implemented to the extent possible. The new Canada National Parks Act directs that "Where a new or amended management plan sets out an area of a park for declaration as a wilderness area, the Minister shall recommend such declaration to the Governor in Council within one year after the plan or amendment is tabled under section 11."
(3-13) We recommend that Parks Canada fold the strategic components of Ecosystem Conservation Plans, with Ecological Integrity Statements, from this tier into revised Park Management Plans (Recommendation 3-3) at the strategic tier and discontinue the use of Ecosystem Conservation Plans and Ecological Integrity Statements as separate documents.   DONE. The revised Parks Canada Guide to Management Planning requires consolidation of the Ecological Integrity Statement and the strategic elements of the Ecosystem Conservation Plan into the management plan, as recommended by the Panel.


Previous | Index | Next

Rapport d'étape sur la mise en oeuvre des recommandations de la Commission sur l'intégrité écologique des parcs nationaux du Canada


Chapitre 3 : Planifier l'intégrité écologique
Recommandation de la Commission Considérations Mesures
(3-9) Nous recommandons que Parcs Canada élabore des lignes directrices nationales et des programmes de formation connexes à l'intention des planificateurs et des gestionnaires supérieurs pour leur permettre de bien comprendre le principal objectif du mandat de Parcs Canada et l'intégrer aux processus de participation du public, et ce, en fonction des critères suivants...   EN COURS. Le Guide pour l'élaboration des plans directeurs à Parcs Canada révisé énonce pour la première fois 14 éléments clés pour la préparation efficace d'une consultation et d'un programme. Des programmes de formation sur ce sujet sont prévus dans l'avenir.
(3-10) Nous recommandons que Parcs Canada révise les méthodes et le système actuel de zonage pour pouvoir désigner les divers secteurs à l'intérieur des parcs en fonction principalement de leur importance pour le maintien ou la restauration de l'intégrité écologique, d'une part, et de leur sensibilité écologique, d'autre part.   EN COURS. Le Guide pour l'élaboration des plans directeurs à Parcs Canada révisé insiste sur le fait que les facteurs d'intégrité écologique seront l'élément le plus important à considérer dans le zonage. Des mises au point seront apportées progressivement.
(3-11) Nous recommandons que, dans un délai de six mois, un arrêté en conseil soit adopté pour convertir les aires de milieu sauvage actuelles (zone 2) en réserves intégrales désignées, tel qu'il est stipulé dans la Loi sur les parcs nationaux. L'intention générale de cette recommandation – accélérer la constitution de réserves intégrales – sera respectée en mettant davantage l'accent sur la constitution, une à une, de réserves intégrales dans les parcs nationaux après une vaste consultation durant la planification de gestion. Voir 3-12 ci-dessous. EN COURS. Des réserves intégrales ont été désignées dans les quatre parcs contigus des Rocheuses. On a mis au point un Plan d'action pour la désignation de réserves intégrales dans les parcs nationaux, lequel servira de guide pour la constitution de telles réserves dans la plupart des autres parcs nationaux au fur et à mesure que les plans de gestion seront préparés pour la première fois ou révisés.
(3-12) Nous recommandons que la ministre tente, par l'entremise du Bill C-70 ou ses successeurs, de modifier l'article 14 de la Loi sur les parcs nationaux pour que la ministre soit habilitée à adopter les règlements nécessaires pour la désignation des milieux sauvages plutôt que d'exiger que le comité du Cabinet adopte un arrêté en conseil. Nous recommandons en outre qu'il soit nécessaire d'adopter un arrêté en conseil pour supprimer toute désignation de réserve intégrale en vertu de ces règlements. On trouvera à l'annexe C le libellé proposé pour le Bill C-70. La politique du gouvernement fédéral est que le Gouverneur en conseil devrait être investi des pouvoirs de réglementation. La nouvelle Loi sur les parcs nationaux du Canada renferme une disposition pour accélérer la constitution de réserves intégrales par l'établissement d'une restriction temporelle. Ceci a été mis en oeuvre dans la mesure du possible. La nouvelle Loi sur les parcs nationaux du Canada prévoit que : « S'il est recommandé dans un plan directeur – original ou modifié – qu'une zone d'un parc soit constituée en réserve intégrale, le ministre fait cette recommandation au Gouverneur en conseil dans l'année suivant le dépôt du plan ou de la modification de celui-ci au titre de l'article 11 ».
(3-13) Nous recommandons que Parcs Canada intègre les énoncés d'intégrité écologique et les éléments stratégiques des plans de conservation des écosystèmes dans les plans directeurs de parc révisés (recommandation 3-3), et mette fin à l'utilisation des plans de conservation des écosystèmes et des énoncés d'intégrité écologique en tant que documents distincts.   FAIT. Le Guide pour l'élaboration des plans directeurs à Parcs Canada révisé exige que l'énoncé d'intégrité écologique et les éléments stratégiques du Plan de conservation des écosystèmes soient intégrés au plan directeur, comme le recommande la Commission.


Page précédente | Index | Page suivante