Progress Report on Implementation of the Recommendations of the Panel on the Ecological Integrity of Canada's National Parks


Chapter 3. Planning for Ecological Integrity
Panel Recommendation Considerations Action
3-5) We recommend that Parks Canada establish formal, mandatory monitoring and evaluation processes (Recommendation 6-8) at the scale of individual parks prior to each new cycle of park management planning, by requiring a report from each park about the state of ecological integrity in the park and the surrounding greater ecosystem, to ... Reports produced by two parks — Fundy and Waterton Lakes — currently serve as examples. UNDERWAY. The revised Parks Canada Guide to Management Planning directs that a five-year State of the Park Report be prepared for each park, focused on the state of the park ecosystems and the effectiveness of management actions. This report will provide a basis for subsequent management planning.
(3-6) We recommend increased funding for renewing a planning core within Parks Canada (Recommendations 4-1 and 13-2) that is ... While there has been some hiring with respect to the planning function, real progress toward implementation of this recommendation awaits the availability of new funding. UNDER WAY - FUNDING. New funds are being sought to hire staff for renewal of the planning core through the implementation strategy that has been prepared for government consideration as part of the normal budget process.
3-7) We recommend that Parks Canada phase out separate Ecological Integrity Statements and Ecosystem Conservation Plans when they become integral to new, revised Park Management Plans (Recommendation 3-3). By this action, maintenance of ecological integrity will become the fundamental goal of park management planning, and the strategic plan will be linked explicitly to policy. Sub-recommendations refer in addition to the need to include the long-term ecological vision for the park in the plan, as well as to indicate the park's present ecological state and set out a comprehensive group of indicators and performance targets. UNDERWAY. The revised Parks Canada Guide to Management Planning makes it clear that ecological integrity is the core element permeating the management plan, and is the first priority. As well, the new Canada National Parks Act sets new standards for park management plans with respect to ecological integrity. See also actions for 3-1, 3-2 and 3-3.
3-8) We recommend that Parks Canada provide guidelines on how to develop adequate objectives and indicators for individual parks, which will permit an effective evaluation of progress toward the vision and goals of the Park Management Plan. Conservation scientists should be part of the team that prepares the Park Management Plan. Clearly-defined and measurable objectives will assure the quality of the plan as an accountability tool and the implementation of an adaptive management approach. Formulation of objectives should take long-term outcomes into account to assess progress toward the park vision, and outline medium-term targets to implement specific actions.   UNDER WAY. The new Canada National Parks Act requires the preparation of a management plan for each national park containing a set of ecological integrity objectives and indicators, and provisions for performance evaluation. The revised Parks Canada Guide to Management Planning directs that objectives and indicators be developed that will permit evaluation of progress. It also indicates that a conservation biologist should be part of the planning team.


Previous | Index | Next

Rapport d'étape sur la mise en oeuvre des recommandations de la Commission sur l'intégrité écologique des parcs nationaux du Canada


Chapitre 3 : Planifier l'intégrité écologique
Recommandation de la Commission Considérations Mesures
(3-5) Nous recommandons que Parcs Canada établisse un processus de surveillance et d'évaluation obligatoire et officiel (recommandation 6-8) à l'échelle des parcs individuels, qui précède chaque nouveau cycle de préparation du plan directeur du parc en question, en exigeant que chaque parc prépare un rapport sur l'état de son intégrité écologique ainsi que de son grand écosystème aux fins suivantes... Les rapports produits par deux parcs – Fundy et Lacs-Waterton – servent actuellement d'exemples. EN COURS. Le Guide pour l'élaboration des plans directeurs à Parcs Canada révisé prévoit la préparation, pour chaque parc, d'un plan quinquennal sur l'état du parc. Ce rapport mettrait l'accent sur l'état des écosystèmes du parc et sur l'efficacité des mesures de gestion. Ce rapport servira de base à la planification de gestion subséquente.
(3-6) Nous recommandons l'affectation de fonds supplémentaires pour le renouvellement du groupe de planificateurs à l'intérieur de Parcs Canada (recommandations 4-1 et 13-2) qui... Bien que certains planificateurs aient été embauchés, la mise en oeuvre de cette recommandation ne progressera véritablement que lorsque des nouveaux fonds seront disponibles. EN COURS – FINANCEMENT. Dans le cadre de la stratégie de mise en oeuvre préparée pour être soumise à l'étude du gouvernement dans le cadre du processus budgétaire régulier, nous sommes à la recherche de nouveaux fonds pour embaucher des employés en vue du renouvellement du groupe de planificateurs.
(3-7) Nous recommandons que Parcs Canada élimine progressivement les énoncés d'intégrité écologique et les plans de conservation des écosystèmes distincts lorsqu'ils feront partie intégrante des plans directeurs de parc révisés (recommandation 3-3). Ainsi, le maintien de l'intégrité écologique deviendra l'objectif fondamental de la planification de la gestion des parcs et le plan stratégique sera explicitement relié à la politique. Les sous-recommandations renvoient en plus à la nécessité d'inclure dans le plan la vision écologique à long terme pour le parc de même que d'indiquer l'état écologique actuel du parc et d'établir un groupe exhaustif d'indicateurs et d'objectifs de performance. EN COURS. Le Guide pour l'élaboration des plans directeurs à Parcs Canada révisé indique clairement que l'intégrité écologique est le fil conducteur du plan de gestion et qu'elle constitue la première priorité. En outre, la nouvelle Loi sur les parcs nationaux du Canada fixe de nouvelles normes d'intégrité écologique pour les plans directeurs de parc. Voir aussi les mesures faisant suite aux recommandations 3-1, 3-2 et 3-3.
(3-8) Nous recommandons que Parcs Canada établisse des lignes directrices sur la façon de formuler des objectifs et des indicateurs pertinents pour les parcs individuels, afin qu'il soit possible d'évaluer efficacement les progrès en vue de la concrétisation de la vision écologique et des objectifs du plan directeur du parc. Il est recommandé que des scientifiques de la conservation fassent partie de l'équipe chargée d'élaborer le plan directeur du parc. Des objectifs clairement définis et mesurables permettront d'assurer, d'une part, la qualité du plan comme outil d'imputabilité et, d'autre part, la mise en oeuvre d'une démarche de gestion adaptative. Les objectifs formulés devraient tenir compte des résultats à long terme pour évaluer les progrès en vue de la concrétisation de la vision du parc, et définir des buts à moyen terme prévoyant des actions précises.   EN COURS. La nouvelle Loi sur les parcs nationaux du Canada exige que l'on prépare pour chaque parc un plan de gestion contenant un ensemble d'objectifs et d'indicateurs d'intégrité écologique et des dispositions pour l'évaluation de la performance. Le Guide pour l'élaboration des plans directeurs à Parcs Canada révisé demande qu'on élabore des objectifs et des indicateurs qui permettront d'évaluer les progrès. Il indique aussi qu'un biologiste de la conservation devrait faire partie de l'équipe de planification.


Page précédente | Index | Page suivante