Progress Report on Implementation of the Recommendations of the Panel on the Ecological Integrity of Canada's National Parks


Chapter 2: Toward a Culture of Conservation
Panel Recommendation Considerations Action
(2-4) We recommend that Parks Canada develop a detailed and ongoing program for ecological integrity orientation and training, with initial delivery to be completed within 18 months by all current employees (including contract employees, co-operating associations, partners, and co-operators such as commercial operators within parks). Make this training part of every new employee's orientation package. Conduct a third-party audit of the orientation program after three years to assess the status and future needs for the program. Training for ecological integrity in the past was directed toward a relatively small number of staff in specialized functions (e.g. the Warden Service), within Parks Canada. UNDER WAY. An ecological integrity training and orientation program has been developed. Pilot testing of the program took place in December. All staff will participate in the program within the next 19 months. The program will be thoroughly evaluated following its implementation.
(2-5) We recommend that Parks Canada examine and evaluate the existing structure and its implications for achieving ecological integrity requirements for national parks. In any structural re-organization we suggest the following guiding criteria be used to achieving the objectives required of ecological integrity ...   UNDERWAY. The following actions have been taken:
  • Executive Director of Ecological Integrity, Project Manager, Ecological Integrity Implementation, and Chief, Ecosystem Science hired;
  • Heritage Presentation, education and outreach combined with External Relations to foster consistent visioning and messaging;
  • In the process of strengthening various accountability systems as recommended by Panel.
No further major structural changes are contemplated.
(2-6) We recommend that Parks Canada take steps associated with staffing and training to ensure that protecting ecological integrity becomes the primary concern of every person in the organization. Such steps include ... Protecting ecological integrity has not traditionally been seen as the primary concern for all staff in Parks Canada. Significant efforts over the long term will be required to bring about the changes envisioned. UNDER WAY. Parks Canada has strengthened the competency profile and Statements of Qualifications for senior managers' positions to more clearly reflect ecological integrity responsibilities.

Parks Canada will, where applicable:

  • strengthen job descriptions and recruitment criteria to reflect ecological integrity knowledge and expertise;
  • strengthen the evaluation of the ecological integrity element of job performance.

Scientists will be more directly involved in decision making with a priority put on bringing science advice to park management.

Parks Canada has created the position of Executive Director, Ecological Integrity. The Executive Director is a full member of the Parks Canada Executive Board and is the senior official on all executive decisions related to ecological integrity.

These actions will be coupled with orientation and training in ecological integrity for all staff as described above.



Previous | Index | Next

Rapport d'étape sur la mise en oeuvre des recommandations de la Commission sur l'intégrité écologique des parcs nationaux du Canada


Chapitre 2 : Vers une culture de conservation
Recommandation de la Commission Considérations Mesures
(2-4) Nous recommandons que Parcs Canada adopte un programme détaillé d'orientation et de formation permanentes en matière d'intégrité écologique, le premier volet devant être conclu d'ici 18 mois pour tous les employés actuellement en poste, incluant les contractuels, associations coopérantes, partenaires et autres collaborateurs, comme les exploitants commerciaux à l'intérieur des limites des parcs. Il y aurait lieu d'inclure une telle formation dans le cadre des séances d'orientation à l'intention de tous les nouveaux employés. Au bout de trois ans, demander à un tiers d'examiner le programme d'orientation pour en évaluer l'état et cerner les besoins ultérieurs. Auparavant, la formation à l'intégrité écologique s'adressait à un nombre relativement petit d'employés aux fonctions spécialisées (p. ex. le Service des gardes de parc) de Parcs Canada. EN COURS. Nous avons élaboré un programme de formation et d'orientation en matière d'intégrité écologique. L'essai pilote du programme a eu lieu en décembre. Tout le personnel y participera au cours des 19 prochains mois. Le programme sera évalué à fond après sa mise en oeuvre.
(2-5) Nous recommandons que Parcs Canada examine et évalue sa structure actuelle, en regard de sa capacité à maintenir l'intégrité écologique des parcs nationaux. Quelle que soit la restructuration envisagée, nous proposons que les lignes directrices suivantes soient adoptées en vue de l'atteinte des buts visés pour l'intégrité écologique...  

EN COURS. Les mesures suivantes ont été prises :

  • Un directeur exécutif de l'intégrité écologique, un chef de projet à la mise en oeuvre de l'intégrité écologique et un chef de la science des écosystèmes ont été embauchés.
  • La mise valeur du patrimoine, l'éducation et la communication externe ont été conjuguées aux relations externes pour offrir une vision et des messages cohérents.
  • Nous sommes à renforcer divers systèmes de reddition de comptes, comme l'a recommandé la Commission.
Aucun autre changement structurel important n'est envisagé en ce moment.
(2-6) Nous recommandons que Parcs Canada prenne les dispositions requises, en relation avec la dotation en personnel et la formation, pour s'assurer que la protection de l'intégrité écologique devienne la préoccupation première de tous au sein de l'organisation, par exemple... La protection de l'intégrité écologique n'est pas la préoccupation première traditionnelle de tous les employés de Parcs Canada. Des efforts importants seront requis à long terme pour opérer les changements envisagés. EN COURS. Parcs Canada a renforcé le profil des compétences et l'énoncé de qualités des postes de cadre supérieur afin d'y refléter plus clairement les responsabilités en matière d'intégrité écologique. Là où c'est possible, on s'efforcera de :
  • renforcer les descriptions de travail et les critères de recrutement en fonction des connaissances et de l'expertise en matière d'intégrité écologique;
  • renforcer l'évaluation de l'élément d'intégrité environnementale du rendement au travail.

Les scientifiques vont participer plus directement aux décisions, la priorité étant de dispenser des conseils scientifiques éclairés aux gestionnaires des parcs.

Parcs Canada a créé le poste de directeur exécutif de l'intégrité écologique. Le directeur exécutif est membre à part entière du Comité exécutif de Parcs Canada et le cadre supérieur pour toutes les décisions exécutives concernant l'intégrité écologique.

À ces mesures se grefferont une orientation et une formation en matière d'intégrité écologique pour tout le personnel (voir ci-dessus).



Page précédente | Index | Page suivante