Progress Report on Implementation of the Recommendations of the Panel on the Ecological Integrity of Canada's National Parks


Chapter 2: Toward a Culture of Conservation
Panel Recommendation Considerations Action
(2-1) To assist in transmitting this message we recommend that the Minister ensure that Bill C-70, or its successor, states clearly and without qualification that protecting ecological integrity is the first priority of national parks and that Parks Canada can achieve this purpose through managing for ecological integrity.   DONE. The new Canada National Parks Act clearly states that ecological integrity is the first priority for national parks. Article 8(2) states that "maintenance or restoration of ecological integrity, through the protection of natural resources and natural processes, shall be the first priority of the Minister when considering all aspects of the management of parks."
(2-2) In accordance with section 16 (1) of the Parks Canada Agency Act, we recommend that within a six-month time frame, Parks Canada initiate the revision of the existing draft Charter that addresses the core values of the organization as they relate to the primary objectives and core mandate. For the National Parks Directorate of the Parks Canada Agency these core values should revolve around the concept of ecological integrity. To ensure that this Charter is understood and adopted by all staff and is reflective of the primary objective, Parks Canada should adopt a bottom-up process for developing the Charter by seeking input from staff at all levels of the organization. A charter will provide Parks Canada staff and the Canadian public with a clear statement of the values that are fundamental to Parks Canada's mandate, including the primacy of ecological integrity in national park management, and the principles that govern Parks Canada services to the public. UNDERWAY. A draft of the Parks Canada Agency Charter was distributed to staff for comments in July 2000 and, subsequently, to stakeholders. It is intended that the Charter will be discussed at the first Round Table held pursuant to the Parks Canada Agency Act and approved subsequent to the event.
(2-3) We recommend that within six months Parks Canada begin a process to move away from the language of business and adopt a language that emphasizes ecological integrity and conservation. The various "business" terms cited are in general government use and are widely accepted, or are defined in legislation, such as the Parks Canada Agency Act. Parks Canada will continue to use standard government terms but will emphasize its conservation mandate in its communications activities. For example, we will continue to use the terms "CEO", "business plan" and "revenue."


Index | Next

Rapport d'étape sur la mise en oeuvre des recommandations de la Commission sur l'intégrité écologique des parcs nationaux du Canada


Chapitre 2 : Vers une culture de conservation
Recommandation de la Commission Considérations Mesures
(2-1) Ce message sera transmis d'autant plus facilement si la ministre fait en sorte que le Projet de loi C-70, (ou ceux qui lui succéderont), énonce clairement et sans réserve que la protection de l'intégrité écologique est la priorité des parcs nationaux, un objectif que Parcs Canada peut atteindre grâce à une gestion orientée en ce sens.   FAIT. La nouvelle Loi sur les parcs nationaux du Canada dit clairement que l'intégrité écologique est la première priorité pour les parcs nationaux. L'article 8 (2) affirme que « la préservation ou le rétablissement de l'intégrité écologique par la protection des ressources naturelles et des processus écologiques sont la première priorité du ministre pour les aspects de la gestion des parcs. »
(2-2) Conformément à l'article 16 (1) de la Loi sur l'Agence Parcs Canada, nous recommandons que d'ici six mois, Parcs Canada amorce la révision de l'ébauche actuelle de la charte énonçant les valeurs fondamentales de l'organisation en regard de ses objectifs primordiaux et de son mandat fondamental. Pour la Direction générale des parcs nationaux de l'Agence Parcs Canada, ces valeurs fondamentales devraient essentiellement tourner autour de la notion de l'intégrité écologique. Afin de s'assurer que cette charte est bien comprise et adoptée par tous les membres du personnel, tout en reflétant l'objectif premier de l'organisation, Parcs Canada devrait favoriser un processus de participation de la base en cherchant à obtenir les commentaires de tous les membres de l'organisation, des premiers échelons jusqu'aux niveaux hiérarchiques les plus élevés. Une charte va donner au personnel de Parcs Canada et au public canadien un énoncé clair des valeurs qui sont essentielles au mandat de Parcs Canada, y compris la primauté de l'intégrité écologique dans la gestion des parcs nationaux et les principes qui gouvernent les services de Parcs Canada au public. EN COURS. Une ébauche de la charte de l'Agence Parcs Canada a été distribuée aux employés en juillet 2000 pour qu'ils la commentent. On l'a par la suite distribuée aux intervenants. On prévoit que cette charte sera étudiée à la première Table ronde qui se tiendra en vertu de la Loi sur l'Agence Parcs Canada et qu'elle sera ensuite approuvée.
(2-3) Nous recommandons que d'ici six mois, Parcs Canada entreprenne d'abandonner le langage des affaires au profit d'un vocabulaire mettant davantage l'accent sur l'intégrité écologique et la conservation. Les divers termes « d'affaires » cités sont d'usage courant au sein du gouvernement et sont largement acceptés ou sont définis dans les lois, comme la Loi sur l'Agence Parcs Canada. Parcs Canada va continuer à utiliser la terminologie gouvernementale normalisée, mais va mettre l'accent sur son mandat de conservation dans ses activités de communication. Par exemple, nous continuerons d'utiliser les termes « directeur général », « plan d'affaires » et « revenu ».


Index | Page suivante