Progress Report on Implementation of the Recommendations of the Panel on the Ecological Integrity of Canada's National Parks


Chapter 12. Shrinking the Ecological Footprint
Panel Recommendation Considerations Action
(12-8) We recommend that Parks Canada adopt the principle of integrating environmental considerations into all projects. Include environmental assessment practitioners in all phases of a project, from concept to final construction, in partnership with the project manager. As a means of ensuring that ecological integrity becomes everyone's job, project managers, not the environmental assessment practitioner, must be responsible for meeting ecological integrity objectives related to their project. Parks Canada's current directive on environmental assessment provides direction on the implementation of impact assessments for all proposed policies, programs, plans and projects, whether they originate internally or externally. It stipulates that environmental assessment is to be initiated at the beginning of the project process and that Field Unit Superintendents are responsible for ensuring that environmental assessment obligations are met for each project. UNDER WAY - FUNDING. Future compliance audits of Parks Canada's environmental assessment program will examine whether the assessments are initiated early enough, and whether project managers are using the process to ensure that ecological integrity objectives are respected in project planning. The extent and timing of progress in this area are subject to the availability of new funding.
(12-9) We recommend that Parks Canada enhance its expertise in understanding and managing cumulative effects (Chapter 4). In 1997, Parks Canada developed a guide to environmental assessments of cumulative effects. This guide is a highly respected reference both nationally and internationally. Parks Canada played a leading role in sponsoring and planning a national cumulative effects conference, held in Calgary in November 2000. UNDER WAY. Parks Canada recognizes the importance of assessing cumulative impacts and will continue to develop its expertise in managing and understanding them.
(12-10) We recommend that Parks Canada provide individual national parks with the authority to set an annual date beyond which project proposals will not be accepted. This will enable environmental assessment staff to organize their workload and will provide a reference point as an aid in evaluating cumulative effects. Park Management Plans should provide an assessment of cumulative effects and identify quantitative targets for limiting cumulative effects over the period of the Park Management Plan (Chapter 3). A national park currently has the authority to set an annual date beyond which no new project proposals will be accepted. DONE. The revised Parks Canada Guide to Management Planning requires that environmental assessments of management plans consider both the individual and cumulative impacts from existing use, development and facilities. A Guide to Environmental Assessments of Management Plans has been drafted and will emphasize that the assessment of cumulative impacts is a critical component in the assessment of park management plans.
(12-11) We recommend that Parks Canada provide training in environmental assessment for all prospective project managers, and provide professional development and networking opportunities for specialist and practitioner positions. Service Centres provide training to Field Unit staff when required and training is also available from the Canadian Environmental Assessment Agency. Professional development and networking is provided through an annual national meeting for environmental assessment specialists from Field Units, Service Centres and National Office, through two linked Intranet sites devoted to environmental assessment, and through conference and workshop attendance. UNDER WAY - FUNDING. The ecological integrity training and orientation program that is currently under development will include reference to the application of environmental assessment in support of the maintenance of ecological integrity. Additional training specific to environmental assessment is subject to the availability of new funding.
(12-12) We recommend Parks Canada establish a policy formally adopting the precautionary principle to ensure that risk to national park ecosystems is reduced. Park Management Plans should contain a statement describing how the park will apply the precautionary principle in managing development proposals. The new Canada National Parks Act requires that maintaining ecological integrity is the first consideration in all management decisions relating to national parks. Parks Canada submits all management plans and project proposals to an environmental impact assessment. DONE. The revised Parks Canada Guide to Management Planning requires that environmental assessments of management plans use the precautionary principle to guide the evaluation of residual impacts and their acceptability.


Previous | Index

Rapport d'étape sur la mise en oeuvre des recommandations de la Commission sur l'intégrité écologique des parcs nationaux du Canada


Chapitre 12 : Réduire l'empreinte sur l'environnement
Recommandation de la Commission Considérations Mesures
(12-8) Nous recommandons que Parcs Canada adopte le principe d'intégration des aspects environnementaux dans tous les projets, et fasse intervenir des spécialistes en évaluation environnementale dans toutes les phases d'un projet, depuis la conception jusqu'à la construction finale, en partenariat avec le gestionnaire de projet. Pour que l'intégrité écologique puisse devenir l'affaire de tous, il faut qu'il incombe aux gestionnaires de projet, et non aux spécialistes de l'évaluation environnementale, de respecter les objectifs d'intégrité écologique concernant leur projet. L'actuelle directive de Parcs Canada sur l'évaluation environnementale encadre la mise en oeuvre des évaluations des incidences pour l'ensemble des politiques, programmes, plans et projets proposés, qu'ils soient d'origine interne ou externe. Elle précise qu'une évaluation environnementale doit être entreprise au début du processus du projet et qu'il est du devoir des directeurs des unités de gestion de s'assurer que chaque projet se conforme aux obligations en matière d'évaluation environnementale. EN COURS – FINANCEMENT. Les futures vérifications de conformité du programme d'évaluation environnementale de Parcs Canada détermineront si les évaluations sont entreprises assez tôt et si les chargés de projet utilisent le processus pour s'assurer que la planification des projets respecte les objectifs d'intégrité écologique. L'étendue des progrès dans ce domaine et le choix du moment pour les réaliser sont sujets à la disponibilité de nouveaux fonds.
(12-9) Nous recommandons que Parcs Canada acquière une meilleure expertise pour comprendre et gérer les effets cumulatifs (chapitre 4). En 1997, Parcs Canada a préparé un guide d'évaluation environnementale des effets cumulatifs. Ce guide est un outil de référence très respecté au Canada et à l'étranger. Parcs Canada a joué un rôle de premier plan dans le parrainage et la planification d'une conférence nationale sur les effets cumulatifs tenue à Calgary en novembre 2000. EN COURS. Parcs Canada reconnaît l'importance d'évaluer les effets cumulatifs et va continuer à développer son expertise pour les gérer et les comprendre.
(12-10) Nous recommandons que Parcs Canada confère aux parcs nationaux le pouvoir de fixer une date annuelle limite pour l'acceptation des propositions de projet. Ainsi, le personnel affecté à l'évaluation environnementale pourra organiser sa charge de travail et l'on disposera d'un point de référence pour mieux évaluer les effets cumulatifs. Les plans directeurs de parc devraient comporter une évaluation des effets cumulatifs de ces propositions de mise en valeur et indiquer des objectifs quantitatifs à réaliser pendant la durée des plans afin de limiter ces effets (chapitre 3). Un parc national a présentement l'autorité de fixer une date annuelle limite au-delà de laquelle aucune nouvelle proposition de projet ne peut être acceptée. FAIT. Le Guide pour l'élaboration des plans directeurs à Parcs Canada révisé exige que les évaluations environnementales des plans directeurs étudient tout autant les incidences individuelles que cumulatives de l'utilisation, des installations et des développements existants. Un guide d'évaluation environnementale des plans directeurs a été rédigé et soulignera que l'évaluation des incidences cumulatives est une composante essentielle de l'évaluation des plans directeurs de parc.
(12-11) Nous recommandons que Parcs Canada offre une formation en évaluation environnementale à tous les futurs gestionnaires de projets et fournisse des occasions de perfectionnement professionnel et de réseautage aux spécialistes. Les Centres de services donnent, au besoin, de la formation au personnel des unités de gestion. L'Agence canadienne d'évaluation environnementale offre également de la formation. Des occasions de perfectionnement professionnel et de réseautage sont offertes lors d'une réunion annuelle des spécialistes de l'évaluation environnementale des unités de gestion, des Centres de services et du Bureau national, et ce, par l'entremise de deux sites intranet reliés consacrés à l'évaluation environnementale et à l'occasion de conférences et d'ateliers. EN COURS – FINANCEMENT. Le programme de formation et d'orientation en matière d'intégrité écologique en voie d'élaboration indiquera que l'évaluation environnementale sert à soutenir le maintien de l'intégrité écologique. L'offre de formation additionnelle propre à l'évaluation environnementale est sujette à la disponibilité de nouveaux fonds.
(12-12) Nous recommandons que Parcs Canada établisse une politique intégrant officiellement le principe de précaution afin de garantir que le risque pour les écosystèmes des parcs nationaux soit réduit. Les plans directeurs de parc devraient inclure un énoncé décrivant comment le parc appliquera le principe de précaution à la gestion des projets d'aménagement. La nouvelle Loi sur les parcs nationaux du Canada exige que toute décision relative aux parcs nationaux soit d'abord fondée sur le maintien de l'intégrité écologique. Parcs Canada soumet tous les plans de gestion et toutes les propositions de projet à une évaluation des incidences environnementales. FAIT. Le Guide pour l'élaboration des plans directeurs à Parcs Canada révisé exige que les évaluations environnementales des plans directeurs étudient les incidences résiduelles et leur acceptabilité à la lumière du principe de précaution.


Page précédente | Index