Progress Report on Implementation of the Recommendations of the Panel on the Ecological Integrity of Canada's National Parks


Chapter 12. Shrinking the Ecological Footprint
Panel Recommendation Considerations Action
(12-4) Over a long-term, programmed time frame, we recommend that Parks Canada redesign, replace, rebuild or remove existing facilities and infrastructure in national parks to reduce their ecological footprints. Such improvements include ...   UNDER WAY. Consistent with the requirement under the new Canada National Parks Act to make the maintenance of ecological integrity the first priority in park management, Parks Canada will, wherever possible, over the long term, progressively reduce the ecological footprint of existing facilities and infrastructure, taking steps which include those recommended.
(12-5) We recommend that Parks Canada use environmental management systems as integral to conducting daily operations in keeping with the preservation of ecological integrity. The widespread adoption of the environmental management system could be facilitated by ... Parks Canada recognizes the importance of environmental management systems (EMS) in its Sustainable Development Strategy and acknowledges that the implementation of EMS in national parks can be improved. UNDER WAY - FUNDING. Parks Canada will improve the use and understanding of EMS at all levels as a Business Plan priority. Future Park Management Plans will include a section about EMS and future State of the Park(s) Reports will report on EMS activities. The extent and timing of such improvements are subject to the availability of new funding.
(12-6) We recommend that Parks Canada, over time, incorporate sustainable infrastructure, energy systems, materials and practices in park management and activities. There are many ways to achieve this recommendation, such as ... Parks Canada has recently undertaken a complete review of its requirements for renewal of infrastructure. This review, however, did not address fully the need to upgrade infrastructure beyond established standards. UNDER WAY - FUNDING. Parks Canada meets current environmental standards through its capital budget and will use existing federal programs for greening federal facilities to move beyond these standards. Progress in this area is subject to the availability of new funding.
(12-7) We recommend that Parks Canada closely track the implementation of the new policy review component of environmental assessment at all national parks, in order to evaluate its effectiveness in enhancing decision-making related to the scale and appropriateness of proposed projects. Policy review should produce a record of decision that describes project objectives, evaluates alternatives (particularly non-development alternatives), demonstrates concordance with all relevant national park policies and identifies measures for evaluating the success of the project's implementation and operation. Information from the evaluation should be used adaptively to improve future projects and future environmental assessments. Parks Canada's current directive on environmental assessment requires that projects be assessed for compliance with policy before proceeding to an environmental assessment. The intended purpose is to prevent the environmental assessment process from being used to make policy decisions. UNDER WAY. A review will be conducted of current assessment practices to incorporate as many of the Panel's recommendations as possible. Future compliance audits of Parks Canada's environmental assessment program will examine the degree to which the required policy review is being undertaken prior to proceeding with environmental assessments.


Previous | Index | Next

Rapport d'étape sur la mise en oeuvre des recommandations de la Commission sur l'intégrité écologique des parcs nationaux du Canada


Chapitre 12 : Réduire l'empreinte sur l'environnement
Recommandation de la Commission Considérations Mesures
12-4) à long terme, nous recommandons que Parcs Canada repense, remplace, reconstruise ou élimine les installations et les infrastructures actuelles des parcs nationaux afin d'en réduire l'empreinte écologique. Voici les améliorations proposées...   EN COURS. Conformément à la nouvelle Loi sur les parcs nationaux du Canada, qui exige de faire du maintien de l'intégrité écologique la première priorité de la gestion des parcs, Parcs Canada va, à long terme et dans la mesure du possible, réduire progressivement l'empreinte des installations et des infrastructures existantes sur l'environnement en prenant des mesures comme celles qui sont recommandées.
(12-5) Nous recommandons que Parcs Canada intègre la gestion environnementale à ses opérations quotidiennes, dans le but de préserver l'intégrité écologique. Parcs Canada reconnaît l'importance des systèmes de gestion de l'environnement (SGE) dans sa Stratégie de développement durable et reconnaît que la mise en service des SGE dans les parcs nationaux peut être améliorée. EN COURS – FINANCEMENT. Parcs Canada va améliorer l'utilisation et la connaissance des SGE à tous les niveaux en en faisant une priorité des plans d'affaires. Les futurs plans directeurs de parc vont inclure une section au sujet des SGE et les futurs rapports sur l'état des parcs vont faire le point sur les activités des SGE. L'étendue et le choix du moment de telles améliorations sont sujets à la disponibilité de nouveaux fonds.
(12-6) Nous recommandons que Parcs Canada intègre graduellement des systèmes énergétiques, des matériaux et des pratiques durables dans la gestion et les activités des parcs. Il existe bien des façons d'appliquer cette recommandation, par exemple... Parcs Canada a récemment entrepris un examen complet de ses exigences pour le renouvellement des infrastructures. L'examen ne s'est toutefois pas penché pleinement sur la nécessité d'améliorer les infrastructures au-delà des normes établies. EN COURS – FINANCEMENT. Parcs Canada satisfait aux normes environnementales courantes par l'entremise de son budget d'équipement et va utiliser les programmes fédéraux existants pour écologiser les installations fédérales afin de dépasser ces normes. Les progrès dans ce domaine sont sujets à la disponibilité de nouveaux fonds.
(12-7) Nous recommandons que Parcs Canada suive étroitement la mise en oeuvre de la revue de politique d'évaluation environnementale dans tous les parcs nationaux, afin d'évaluer dans quelle mesure elle permet d'améliorer le processus décisionnel quant à l'envergure et à la pertinence des projets proposés. De l'examen de politique devrait découler un compte rendu de décisions décrivant les objectifs du projet, évaluant les solutions de rechange (en particulier les solutions ne faisant intervenir aucun aménagement), démontrant la concordance (conformité) avec toutes les politiques pertinentes du parc national et indiquant des mesures pour vérifier si la mise en oeuvre et l'exploitation du projet sont une réussite ou non. Les données découlant de l'évaluation de cette politique devraient servir à améliorer les futurs projets et les futures évaluations environnementales. L'actuelle directive de Parcs Canada sur l'évaluation environnementale exige qu'on évalue les projets pour leur conformité aux politiques avant d'en faire l'évaluation environnementale. L'objectif visé est d'empêcher l'utilisation du processus d'évaluation environnementale pour prendre des décisions stratégiques. EN COURS. Une évaluation sera faite des pratiques d'évaluation courantes afin d'y intégrer le plus grand nombre possible de recommandations de la Commission. Les futures vérifications de conformité du programme d'évaluation environnementale de Parcs Canada examineront jusqu'à quel point la revue de politique requise a été entreprise avant de procéder aux évaluations environnementales.


Page précédente | Index | Page suivante