Progress Report on Implementation of the Recommendations of the Panel on the Ecological Integrity of Canada's National Parks


Chapter 10. Interpretation and Outreach
Panel Recommendation Considerations Action
(10-5) We recommend that Parks Canada include the regional dimension in interpretation programs in order to place ecological integrity messages into regional, national, and global contexts. Make each park the regional focal point for public education programs in protected areas networks and ecosystem management. This would entail ...   UNDER WAY - FUNDING. Parks Canada will continue to improve the regional dimension of its interpretation and outreach programs as it renews these programs. The extent and timing of this work are subject to the availability of new funding.
(10-6) We recommend that Parks Canada increase and support the role of partners, particularly volunteer associations, in interpretation and outreach as an enhancement to, but not replacement of, the work of core professional full-time staff. Parks Canada has long had a very active volunteer program and engages in hundreds of partnerships every year. UNDER WAY - FUNDING. Parks Canada will continue to use partners and volunteers to enhance, not replace, its interpretation and outreach program. The extent and timing of increased activity in this area are subject to availability of new funding.
(10-7) We recommend that Parks Canada immediately cease the product marketing of national parks in general and the product marketing which attempts to increase overall use of parks or divert demand to shoulder seasons or so-called "under-used" parks in particular. Concentrate instead on social marketing, policy marketing, and de-marketing aimed at appropriate target audiences with messages focusing on ecological integrity.   Parks Canada will revise its efforts guided by the following directions:
  • increasing Canadians' knowledge, understanding and appreciation of the nature and purposes of national parks;
  • encouraging the use and enjoyment of national parks, respecting their fundamental values;
  • incorporating, comprehensively, messages respecting ecological integrity throughout all communications materials.
(10-8) We recommend that Parks Canada work with regional and provincial bodies involved in tourism product marketing to educate them about the stresses on ecological integrity caused by current or increased levels of use and to encourage them to incorporate appropriate ecological integrity messages in their marketing programs. Parks Canada is an active member in local, regional and national tourism organizations and is a partner of the Canadian Tourism Commission. On January 4, 2001, Parks Canada and the Tourism Industry Association of Canada signed an accord outlining principles to guide collaborative actions between the two organizations. UNDER WAY. Parks Canada will continue to influence and involve the tourism industry in enhancing sensitive and appropriate marketing and use of national parks. For example, Parks Canada is working with the Tourism Industry Association of Canada and the Canadian Tourism Commission on the development of best practices and with the National Tour Association on the production of sensitive heritage appreciation guides. Through such efforts, Parks Canada will encourage a shared sense of responsibility among the tourism industry, visitors and Parks Canada employees for the protection of ecological integrity in national parks.


Previous | Index

Rapport d'étape sur la mise en oeuvre des recommandations de la Commission sur l'intégrité écologique des parcs nationaux du Canada


Chapitre 10 : Interprétation et communication externe
Recommandation de la Commission Considérations Mesures
(10-5) Nous recommandons que Parcs Canada aborde l'intégration régionale, dans ses programmes d'interprétation, afin de mettre en contexte les messages de protection de l'intégrité écologique dans les parcs nationaux à l'échelle régionale, nationale et internationale. Faire de chaque parc un centre régional pour les programmes éducatifs en matière de réseaux d'aires protégées et de gestion d'écosystèmes. Il faudrait alors... EN COURS – FINANCEMENT. Parcs Canada va continuer à améliorer la dimension régionale de ses programmes d'interprétation et de communication externe au fur et à mesure que ces programmes seront renouvelés. L'étendue et le choix du moment de ce travail sont sujets à la disponibilité de nouveaux fonds.
(10-6) Nous recommandons également que Parcs Canada élargisse le rôle des partenaires et y accorde son soutien, spécialement dans le cas des associations de bénévoles, en matière d'interprétation et de communication externe, afin de supporter, sans les remplacer, les professionnels à plein temps. Parcs Canada a depuis longtemps un programme de bénévolat très actif et prend part à des centaines de partenariats chaque année. EN COURS – FINANCEMENT. Parcs Canada va continuer à recourir à ses partenaires et à ses bénévoles pour améliorer, et non remplacer ses programmes d'interprétation et de communication externe. L'étendue et le choix du moment d'une activité accrue dans ce domaine sont sujets à la disponibilité de nouveaux fonds.
(10-7) Nous recommandons que Parcs Canada mette fin au marketing des parcs comme des produits de consommation, de même qu' à celui ayant pour but d'accroître l'utilisation globale des parcs ou de faire dévier la demande, au profit des saisons intermédiaires ou encore d'autres parcs dits « sous-utilisés ». Il devrait plutôt concentrer ses efforts sur le marketing social, le marketing de politique et le démarketing, en ciblant les auditoires appropriés au moyen de messages axés sur l'intégrité écologique.   Parcs Canada va revoir ses efforts en fonction des orientations suivantes :
  • accroître la connaissance, la compréhension et l'appréciation qu'ont les Canadiens de la nature et de la raison d'être des parcs nationaux;
  • encourager l'utilisation et la jouissance des parcs nationaux tout en respectant leurs valeurs fondamentales;
  • intégrer complètement les messages d'intégrité écologique à tout le matériel de communication.
(10-8) Nous recommandons aussi que Parcs Canada travaille avec les organismes régionaux et provinciaux qui s'occupent de marketing de produits touristiques afin de les renseigner sur les pressions qui s'exercent sur l'intégrité écologique à cause des niveaux d'utilisation actuels ou de niveaux accrus, en les invitant à incorporer des messages concernant l'intégrité écologique à leurs programmes de marketing. Parcs Canada est membre actif d'organisations touristiques locales, régionales et nationales et partenaire de la Commission canadienne du tourisme. Le 4 janvier 2001, Parcs Canada et l'Association de l'industrie touristique du Canada ont signé une entente établissant les principes d'une collaboration entre les deux organismes. EN COURS. Parcs Canada va continuer à influencer l'industrie touristique pour qu'elle favorise un marketing et une utilisation sensibles et appropriés des parcs nationaux. Par exemple, Parcs Canada travaille avec l'Association de l'industrie touristique du Canada et la Commission canadienne du tourisme à l'élaboration de pratiques exemplaires et avec la National Tour Association à la production de guides la sensibilisation au patrimoine et son appréciation. Par de tels efforts, Parcs Canada va susciter dans l'industrie touristique, chez les visiteurs et parmi les employés de Parcs Canada un sentiment de responsabilité partagée face à la protection de l'intégrité écologique des parcs nationaux.


Page précédente | Index