Progress Report on Implementation of the Recommendations of the Panel on the Ecological Integrity of Canada's National Parks

Building Partnerships in Support of Ecological Integrity

Throughout its report, the Panel recommended working cooperatively with governments, organizations and individuals (e.g. contracting with science institutes and universities to carry out research, jointly developing programs with heritage tourism operators to deliver conservation messages). However, in two instances, the Panel felt it was necessary to establish discrete funding sources to support partnerships: one in support of regional integration; the other to strengthen relationships with Aboriginal peoples.

Approximately 85 percent of the stresses affecting national parks are at least regional in scope and originate outside the national parks. In addition, significant elements of national parks' ecosystems, such as wildlife migration routes, extend beyond park boundaries. For these reasons, the ecological integrity of national parks can be maintained only by working within a greater ecosystem context. Such mechanisms as biosphere reserves and model forests are valuable for bringing people together to discuss ecosystem issues, and Parks Canada is seeking funding to sustain working relationships with community associations, volunteers and other conservation organizations to share scientific expertise and undertake concrete actions. Parks Canada needs additional resources to be able to expand efforts to work effectively with partners on a regional ecosystem basis.

While Parks Canada has greatly expanded its relationships with Aboriginal peoples, the Panel has recognized the need to go further. Thus, it recommends additional new funding to accelerate and sustain collaboration. This, too, is part of Parks Canada's long-term strategy. With new funds, the first priority would be to build effective ecological integrity partnerships through a process of healing, education and cultural awareness. Workshops and gatherings would be held to develop a shared vision for managing national parks and embracing nearby Aboriginal communities as a part of greater ecosystems. Cooperation on educational projects would involve public education about the role of Aboriginal peoples in ecosystems, Parks Canada staff awareness about Aboriginal culture and its role in ecological integrity and Aboriginal communities' awareness about ecosystem issues. With these building blocks in place, opportunities for Aboriginal communities to be engaged in ecosystem issues would be pursued.


Previous | Index

Rapport d'étape sur la mise en oeuvre des recommandations de la Commission sur l'intégrité écologique des parcs nationaux du Canada

Bâtir des partenariats en guise d'appui à l'intégrité écologique

Tout au long de son rapport, la Commission recommande que l'on travaille en collaboration avec les gouvernements, les organisations et les particuliers (p. ex. passer des contrats avec des instituts scientifiques et des universités pour faire de la recherche et élaborer conjointement des programmes avec des exploitants d'entreprises touristiques patrimoniales pour communiquer des messages de conservation). Dans deux cas toutefois, la Commission a jugé nécessaire d'établir des sources de financement distinctes afin d'appuyer des partenariats : pour soutenir l'intégration régionale dans le premier et pour renforcer les liens avec les peuples autochtones dans le second.

Environ 85 % des stress que subissent les parcs nationaux sont au moins de portée régionale et ont une source extérieure aux parcs nationaux. De plus, des éléments significatifs des écosystèmes des parcs nationaux tels que les voies de migration dépassent les frontières des parcs. C'est pourquoi on ne peut maintenir l'intégrité écologique des parcs nationaux qu'en travaillant à l'intérieur d'écosystèmes plus grands. Des mécanismes tels que les réserves de la biosphère et les forêts modèles sont précieux parce qu'ils amènent les gens à discuter des questions touchant les écosystèmes, et Parcs Canada cherche des fonds pour entretenir des relations de collaboration avec les associations communautaires, les bénévoles et les autres organisations vouées à la conservation afin de partager son expertise scientifique et d'entreprendre des actions concrètes avec eux. Parcs Canada a besoin de ressources additionnelles pour être en mesure d'augmenter ses efforts pour travailler efficacement avec ses partenaires à l'intérieur d'écosystèmes régionaux.

Si Parcs Canada a grandement multiplié ses liens avec les peuples autochtones, la Commission reconnaît qu'il faut aller plus loin. Elle recommande donc l'attribution de fonds supplémentaires pour accélérer et soutenir cette collaboration. Cela aussi fait partie de la stratégie à long terme de Parcs Canada. Avec de nouveaux fonds, la première priorité serait de bâtir des partenariats efficaces pour l'intégrité écologique par l'entremise d'un processus de réparation, d'éducation et de sensibilisation culturelle. Des ateliers et des rencontres auraient lieu pour formuler une vision commune afin de gérer les parcs nationaux et englober les collectivités autochtones avoisinantes au sein des écosystèmes globaux. La collaboration aux projets éducatifs comporterait la sensibilisation du public au rôle des peuples autochtones dans les écosystèmes, la sensibilisation du personnel de Parcs Canada à la culture autochtone et à son rôle dans l'intégrité écologique et la sensibilisation des collectivités autochtones aux questions touchant les écosystèmes. Cela fait, nous chercherions de nouvelles occasions de faire participer les collectivités autochtones dans les dossiers relatifs aux écosystèmes.


Page précédente | Index