Progress Report on Implementation of the Recommendations of the Panel on the Ecological Integrity of Canada's National Parks

Monitoring and Rehabilitating Damaged Ecosystems

The Panel observed that there is a need to restore biological processes, landscape features and species where it seems reasonable that ecological integrity will be compromised without doing so. Areas requiring additional funding are fire restoration, site restoration, and ecological and atmospheric monitoring. Enhanced monitoring within national parks would allow for testing and refining indicators used in federal State of the Environment Reporting and sharing of protocols through the Ecological Assessment and Monitoring Network (EMAN).

The wide range and multi-year nature of the required mitigations strongly suggests that restoration work will be a long-term endeavour. For example, reducing the abundance of crested wheatgrass in Grasslands National Park required four years of experimental trials on small plots to arrive at a stage where large-scale treatments could be applied. Returning some of the character and function of native prairie to thousands of hectares of park land will take much longer.

The Panel contended that national parks are special places with the highest levels of natural resource protection; consequently, they should also be models of environmental sustainability with respect to park, townsite and commercial facilities.

When park infrastructure is recapitalized, improvements are made to meet current environmental standards. Leading-edge environmental technologies often exceed these standards and are typically more costly.

Parks Canada's strategy includes an approach to emphasize the greening of national park operations and infrastructure. Funds that are being sought to recapitalize existing facilities in the short term will allow us to meet existing standards. The long-term intention is for Parks Canada facilities and operational procedures to be models of leading-edge environmental management. There is an excellent opportunity to use national parks as showcase venues and proving grounds for cutting-edge environmental technologies. In particular, national park communities in future should serve as a network of exemplary environmental communities that can be showcased nationally and internationally. Parks Canada will work with other federal departments to achieve this vision through existing federal programs.


Previous | Index | Next

Rapport d'étape sur la mise en oeuvre des recommandations de la Commission sur l'intégrité écologique des parcs nationaux du Canada

Surveiller et réhabiliter les écosystèmes endommagés

La Commission estime nécessaire de restaurer les processus biologiques, les éléments du paysage et les espèces lorsqu'il semble raisonnable de penser que l'intégrité écologique sera compromise si on ne le fait pas. Les domaines qui nécessitent des fonds additionnels sont le rétablissement du feu, la restauration des sites ainsi que la surveillance écologique et atmosphérique. L'accroissement de la surveillance dans les parcs nationaux permettrait de mettre à l'essai et de perfectionner les indicateurs utilisés pour le système fédéral de rapport sur l'état de l'environnement et pour le partage de protocoles au moyen du réseau d'évaluation et de surveillance écologiques (RÉSÉ).

La vaste gamme des mesures d'atténuation requises et leur nature pluriannuelle donnent à penser que le travail de restauration sera une entreprise de longue haleine. Pour réduire l'abondance de l'agropyre dans le parc national des Prairies, par exemple, il a fallu quatre années d'essais expérimentaux sur de petites parcelles avant de passer aux traitements à grande échelle. Il faudra beaucoup plus de temps pour redonner à des milliers d'hectares de parcs une partie de leur caractère et de leur fonction de prairie indigène.

La Commission affirme que les parcs nationaux sont des endroits spéciaux où les ressources naturelles sont les plus fortement protégées. Par conséquent, leurs installations, leurs lotissements urbains et leurs installations commerciales devraient également être des modèles de viabilité de l'environnement.

Lors de la réfection d'une infrastructure du parc, des améliorations sont apportées pour respecter les normes environnementales actuelles. Les technologies environnementales de pointe dépassent parfois ces normes et coûtent habituellement plus cher.

La stratégie de Parcs Canada comprend un moyen de mettre l'accent sur l'écologisation des opérations et des infrastructures des parcs nationaux. Les fonds demandés pour procéder à court terme à la réfection des installations existantes vont nous permettre de respecter les normes existantes.

à long terme, nous comptons faire des installations et des procédures opérationnelles de Parcs Canada des modèles de gestion environnementale de pointe. Une excellente occasion nous est offerte de faire des parcs nationaux des lieux de présentation et des terrains d'essai pour les technologies environnementales les plus avancées. En particulier, les collectivités des parcs nationaux devraient servir à l'avenir de réseau de collectivités environnementales modèles pouvant être montrées en exemple à l'échelle nationale et internationale. Parcs Canada va travailler avec d'autres ministères pour réaliser cette vision à l'aide des programmes fédéraux existants.


Page précédente | Index | Page suivante