Progress Report on Implementation of the Recommendations of the Panel on the Ecological Integrity of Canada's National Parks

An Overview of Parks Canada's Long-Term Strategy

Parks Canada has developed a long-term strategy for government consideration as part of the normal budget process. The strategy flows directly from the Panel's recommendations. Priority elements of Parks Canada's strategy are as follows:

Improving Operational Capacity

The Panel concluded that Parks Canada is critically under capacity in both the natural and social sciences and, therefore, cannot be confident of the degree of certainty related to ecological integrity decisions or the inherent risks.

The most effective way to deal with the uncertainty of nature is through the use of adaptive management. This approach requires that scientists be part of management teams to design management strategies as controlled experiments, predict their outcomes, monitor changes over the short and long term, and make modifications based on the knowledge gained to achieve desired results.

Monitoring and adaptation must be done continuously and in a timely way, varying from multi-year for human use management and impact mitigation, to hour to hour for fire or wildlife management. This cannot be achieved using only external expertise. For these reasons, Parks Canada's core science and technology capacities must be enhanced to provide for:

  • updating and maintaining resource inventories and baseline data;
  • identifying ecological integrity indicators, benchmarks and targets;
  • monitoring, analyzing and providing advice to decision makers;
  • incorporating ecological integrity considerations into park management plans;
  • exercising a knowledgeable client role to identify the need for, supervise and evaluate contracted research and active management;
  • undertaking sufficient applied research into specific threats to maintain up-to-date knowledge and develop career skills;
  • assessing environmental impacts to ensure no net negative environmental impacts within townsites; and
  • developing greater ecosystem partnerships by building relationships, assessing emerging issues, identifying specific project needs and evaluating results.

This enhanced capacity would provide Parks Canada with the ability to join Environment Canada and other science departments as full partners of cooperative projects such as UNESCO Biosphere Reserves and model forests. This enhanced capacity would also result in more timely and comprehensive advice in establishing the federal family of protected areas and their role as contributors to large scale ecosystem based proposals.


Previous | Index | Next

Rapport d'étape sur la mise en oeuvre des recommandations de la Commission sur l'intégrité écologique des parcs nationaux du Canada

Aperçu de la stratégie à long terme de Parcs Canada

Dans le cadre du processus budgétaire, Parcs Canada a formulé à l'intention du gouvernement une stratégie à long terme qui découle directement des recommandations de la Commission, et dont les éléments prioritaires sont les suivants :

Améliorer la capacité opérationnelle

La Commission a conclu que Parcs Canada fait face à un grave manque de capacité, tant dans les sciences naturelles que sociales, et ne peut donc pas être assuré du degré de certitude des décisions relatives à l'intégrité écologique ou aux risques inhérents.

La gestion adaptative est le moyen le plus efficace de composer avec l'incertitude de la nature. Il faut, par cette approche, que des scientifiques fassent partie des équipes de gestion afin de concevoir des stratégies en tant qu'expériences contrôlées, de prédire leurs résultats, de surveiller les changements à court et à long terme et d'apporter des modifications pour obtenir les résultats souhaités en mettant à profit les connaissances acquises.

La surveillance et l'adaptation doivent être continues et se faire sur une base pluriannuelle dans le cas de la gestion de l'utilisation humaine et de l'atténuation des impacts et heure par heure lorsqu'il s'agit du feu ou de la faune. Pour y arriver, on ne peut avoir recours seulement à l'expertise externe. D'où l'obligation d'améliorer le noyau des capacités scientifiques et technologiques de Parcs Canada afin de pouvoir :

  • mettre à jour et maintenir les inventaires des ressources et les données de référence
  • choisir des indicateurs, des points de repère et des objectifs d'intégrité écologique
  • surveiller, analyser et donner des conseils aux décideurs
  • intégrer les considérations relatives à l'intégrité écologique dans les plans directeurs des parcs
  • exercer un rôle de client averti pour déterminer le besoin de recherche à contrat et de gestion active et pour surveiller et évaluer celles-ci
  • faire suffisamment de recherche appliquée sur des menaces précises pour tenir les connaissances à jour et perfectionner les compétences professionnelles
  • évaluer les incidences environnementales pour s'assurer de l'absence d'incidences environnementales négatives nettes dans les collectivités
  • établir des partenariats pour l'écosystème global en nouant des relations, en évaluant les questions émergentes, en déterminant le besoin de projets précis et en évaluant les résultats.

Cette capacité accrue permettrait à Parcs Canada de coopérer pleinement avec Environnement Canada et avec d'autres ministères à vocation scientifique à la réalisation de projets comme ceux de la réserve de la biosphère et des forêts modèles. Il pourrait aussi donner des avis plus opportuns et plus complets pour aider à établir la famille fédérale d'aires protégées et le rôle de celles-ci dans l'élaboration de projets de grande envergure fondés sur les écosystèmes.


Page précédente | Index | Page suivante