Progress Report on Implementation of the Recommendations of the Panel on the Ecological Integrity of Canada's National Parks

Longer Term Strategies and Related Funding Requirements

The Panel indicated that "Successful implementation of the various programs, initiatives and recommendations contained in Volume II of the Panel's report will require committed, long-term support from the federal government in terms of finances and resources. Parks Canada needs to support its dedicated employees through finding and assigning the financial and human resources required to further the cause of ecological integrity."

Many of the initiatives already under way and reported on above require additional funding for effective and full implementation. Further, many of the important recommendations of the Panel require increased funding for Parks Canada to even get started, to be followed by full implementation.

Subsequent to the release of the Panel's report in March 2000, strategies and funding to implement the Panel's recommendations have been pursued and are being considered as part of the government's budgeting process.

Increased funding is also needed to achieve Parks Canada's priority objectives related to fulfilling the government's commitment to extend the parks systems, and to protect Canada's investment in park assets and cultural resources. This report deals only with actions under way to secure the new long-term funds to improve ecological integrity in the national parks, but equal effort is being placed upon securing funds for the other two priority areas.


Index | Next

Rapport d'étape sur la mise en oeuvre des recommandations de la Commission sur l'intégrité écologique des parcs nationaux du Canada

Les stratégies à long terme et les besoins de financement qui s'y rattachent

Aux dires de la Commission : « La mise en oeuvre réussie des différents programmes, initiatives et recommandations décrits dans le deuxième volume du rapport de la Commission exigera un appui ferme à long terme de la part du gouvernement fédéral sur le plan des finances et des ressources. Parcs Canada doit appuyer le dévouement de son personnel en affectant les ressources financières et humaines nécessaires au progrès de la cause de l'intégrité écologique. »

Plusieurs des initiatives susmentionnées déjà en cours devront être financées davantage pour en assurer la mise en oeuvre entière et efficace. De plus, bon nombre des recommandations importantes de la Commission nécessitent un financement accru pour que Parcs Canada puisse seulement commencer à les réaliser avant de procéder ensuite à leur pleine mise en oeuvre.

à la suite du rapport de la Commission en mars 2000, on a préparé, pour donner suite aux recommandations de la Commission, des stratégies et un plan de financement que l'on étudie dans le cadre du processus budgétaire du gouvernement.

Il faut aussi accroître le financement si l'on veut atteindre les objectifs prioritaires de Parcs Canada, soit de tenir l'engagement du gouvernement d'élargir les réseaux de parcs et de protéger l'investissement du Canada dans les actifs des parcs et les ressources culturelles. Le présent rapport ne porte que sur les mesures en cours pour obtenir les nouveaux fonds à long terme que nécessite l'amélioration de l'intégrité écologique des parcs nationaux. Mais l'on s'efforce tout autant d'obtenir des fonds pour les deux autres domaines prioritaires.


Index | Page suivante