Progress Report on Implementation of the Recommendations of the Panel on the Ecological Integrity of Canada's National Parks

Renewal of Parks Canada to Support the Ecological Integrity Mandate

Parks Canada is taking steps to align the organization more closely with the primary objective of protecting ecological integrity. In the short term, this involves providing staff with the training and tools to achieve this priority, clarifying accountabilities, ensuring that existing science informs decisions, and improving dialogue with staff. In the longer term, as funds become available, it will mean hiring additional Parks Canada scientists, planners and technicians. The goal is to ensure that ecological integrity is understood to be everyone's responsibility and the first priority in managing national parks.

"We will establish the position of Executive Director, Ecological Integrity. This will be a full member of the Parks Canada Executive Board; will be the national functional leader for ecological integrity across the organization; will recommend the national science strategy; and will make regular reports on ecological integrity to the Board." (Action Plan)

Progress to Date

  • The appointment of Nik Lopoukhine to the position of Executive Director, Ecological Integrity on June 27, 2000. Mr. Lopoukhine is an ecologist with extensive national and international experience.
  • A Project Manager, Ecological Integrity Implementation and a Chief, Ecosystem Science have also been hired.

"We will ensure that adequate scientific advice is provided in decision-making at all management levels in Parks Canada." (Action Plan)

Progress to Date

  • A National Parks Science Strategy Committee with representation from across the Agency has been established to determine long-term science requirements related to ecological integrity, including social science.
  • Steps are being taken by all Field Units to ensure that science and ecosystem issues are represented at the management table by ensuring a ecosystem or science manager is part of the management team; the intention is to ensure that decisions are ecologically sound.

Next Steps

  • Seek new resources to strengthen science capacity.

"We will reinforce the responsibilities and accountability of Parks Canada managers with respect to ecological integrity." (Action Plan)

Progress to Date

  • The senior managers' competency profile and Statements of Qualifications for positions have been strengthened to more clearly reflect ecological integrity responsibilities.
  • At the park level, an annual "public accountability" requirement with respect to implementation of the park management plan has been incorporated into the revised Parks Canada Guide to Management Planning.

Next Steps

  • Strengthening of ecological accountabilities in annual business plan reviews.


Previous | Index | Next

Rapport d'étape sur la mise en oeuvre des recommandations de la Commission sur l'intégrité écologique des parcs nationaux du Canada

Le renouvellement de Parcs Canada en soutien de son mandat sur l'intégrité écologique

Parcs Canada prend des mesures pour mieux harmoniser son organisation avec l'objectif primaire de protéger l'intégrité écologique. à court terme, il faudra donc donner au personnel la formation et les outils nécessaires pour mener à bien cette priorité, clarifier les responsabilités, veiller à ce que les décisions soient fondées sur les connaissances scientifiques existantes et améliorer le dialogue avec le personnel. à long terme, à mesure que les fonds seront disponibles, Parcs Canada pourra embaucher d'autres scientifiques, planificateurs et techniciens. Tout cela a pour but de faire comprendre que l'intégrité écologique est la responsabilité de chacun et la première priorité dans la gestion des parcs nationaux.

« Nous créerons le poste de directeur exécutif, Intégrité écologique. Son titulaire sera membre de plein droit du Comité exécutif de Parcs Canada. Sa fonction en fera le responsable national de l'intégrité écologique pour toute l'organisation. Il recommandera une stratégie scientifique nationale et fera régulièrement rapport au Comité sur la situation de l'intégrité écologique. » (Plan d'action)

Progrès accomplis à ce jour

  • Nik Lopoukhine a été nommé directeur exécutif de l'intégrité écologique, le 27 juin 2000. M. Lopoukhine est un écologiste possédant une vaste expérience nationale et internationale.
  • Un chef de projet pour la mise en oeuvre de l'intégrité écologique a également été embauché, de même qu'un chef de la science des écosystèmes.

« Nous veillerons à diffuser les informations scientifiques pertinentes à la prise de décision à chacun des paliers de gestion de Parcs Canada. » (Plan d'action)

Progrès accomplis à ce jour

  • Un Comité pour le développement de la stratégie scientifique des parcs nationaux formé de représentants de toute l'Agence a été mis sur pied pour déterminer les exigences scientifiques à long terme, y compris les sciences sociales, en matière d'intégrité écologique;
  • Toutes les unités de gestion s'affairent à prendre des mesures pour veiller à ce que les dossiers de nature scientifique et écosystémique soient représentés à la table de gestion en veillant à ce qu'un gestionnaire des sciences ou des écosystèmes fasse partie de l'équipe de gestion; on veut ainsi s'assurer que les décisions soient écologiquement saines.

Prochaines étapes

  • Trouver de nouvelles ressources afin de renforcer la capacité scientifique.

« Nous renforcerons les responsabilités et l'imputabilité des gestionnaires de Parcs Canada à l'égard de l'intégrité écologique. » (Plan d'action)

Progrès accomplis à ce jour

  • Le profil des compétences des gestionnaires supérieurs et les énoncés de qualités pour les postes ont été renforcés afin d'y refléter plus clairement les responsabilités en matière d'intégrité écologique.
  • Au niveau des parcs, une obligation de rendre annuellement des comptes publics sur la mise oeuvre du plan directeur du parc a été intégrée au Guide pour l'élaboration des plans directeurs à Parcs Canada.

Prochaines étapes

  • Renforcer l'obligation de rendre des comptes sur l'écologie dans les examens annuels des plans d'affaires.


Page précédente | Index | Page suivante