Progress Report on Implementation of the Recommendations of the Panel on the Ecological Integrity of Canada's National Parks


Banff National Park Campground Closed on Account of Bears

On August 25, five grizzly bears were frequenting the Two Jack Campground and Day Use area in Banff National Park. The bears had moved into the area in response to its rich berry crop. Following a staff and media blitz to inform residents and visitors of the potential for bear encounters in the area, the Park Superintendent decided to close the campground and some day-use areas for the balance of the season.

This was a significant decision since the area includes 461 campsites, five busy day-use areas and numerous trail heads. In the past, the response might have been to manage the bears. This has changed to managing the human activity, thereby reducing the potential for encounters and affording the bears an opportunity to feed on the berry crop and gain the energy necessary for the long winter. After monitoring showed that the bears had left, the area was reopened several weeks later.

"New management plans for Jasper, Yoho, Kootenay and Waterton Lakes National Parks, as well as community plans for each of the park communities, will be approved in the near future." (Action Plan)

Progress to Date

  • The management plans for Jasper, Yoho, Kootenay and Waterton Lakes have been approved by the Minister and tabled in Parliament.
  • Park community plans have been finalized for Waterton, Waskesiu and Wasagaming (approved plans are already in place for Banff and Field).
  • The planning processes for the Lake Louise and Jasper community plans are continuing.

Next Steps

  • Complete the Lake Louise and Jasper plans.
  • Table the community plans in Parliament and seek the incorporation of key elements into Schedule 4 of the Canada National Parks Act (land description of the community; description of commercial zones; and maximum commercial floor area).

"The report of the Panel on Outlying Commercial Accommodations in the mountain national parks will be released in the near future and will be reviewed in the context of the Ecological Integrity Panel Report." (Action Plan)

Progress to Date

  • The report was released April 5, 2000.
  • Parks Canada is preparing guidelines for outlying commercial accommodations and hostels which will set a limit for each facility and increase the responsibility for each site manager with respect to stewardship.
  • In the case of the three-valley confluence area in Jasper National Park, an ecological restoration plan is being developed to ensure that ecological issues are addressed.

Next Steps

  • The Parks Canada guidelines respecting outlying commercial accommodations and hostels will be finalized.


Previous | Index | Next

Rapport d'étape sur la mise en oeuvre des recommandations de la Commission sur l'intégrité écologique des parcs nationaux du Canada


Le terrain de camping du parc national de Banff fermé à cause des ours

Le 25 août, cinq grizzlis avaient élu domicile dans le terrain de camping Two Jack et certaines aires de fréquentation diurne du parc national Banff. Les ours avaient été attirés vers cet endroit par l'abondance des fruits sauvages. Après un blitz du personnel et des médias pour informer les résidants et les visiteurs de la possibilité d'y rencontrer des ours, le directeur du parc a décidé de fermer le terrain pour le reste de la saison.

Il s'agit d'un décision importante puisque l'endroit compte 461 aires de camping, cinq aires de fréquentation diurne achalandées et de nombreux points de départ de sentiers. Auparavant, la réaction aurait été de s'occuper des ours. Cela a changé. Maintenant, ce qu'on gère, c'est l'activité humaine. On réduit ainsi la possibilité de rencontres et on permet aux ours de se nourrir de fruits sauvages et d'accumuler l'énergie nécessaire pour le long hiver. On redonna accès à ce secteur plusieurs semaines plus tard, quand il fut certain que les ours avaient quitté les lieux.

« De nouveaux plans de gestion pour les parcs nationaux Jasper, Yoho, Kootenay et des Lacs Waterton, ainsi que de nouveaux plans communautaires pour chacune des collectivités de parc seront très bientôt approuvés. » (Plan d'action)

Progrès accomplis à ce jour

  • Les plans directeurs pour les parcs nationaux Jasper, Yoho, Kootenay et des Lacs Waterton ont été approuvés par la ministre et déposés à la Chambre.
  • Les plans communautaires ont été finalisés cet automne pour Waterton, Waskesiu et Wasagaming (les plans approuvés ont déjà été mis en vigueur pour Banff et field).
  • Le processus de planification pour les plans communautaires de Jasper et de Lac Louise se poursuit.

Prochaines étapes

  • Terminer les plans de Lac Louise et de Jasper.
  • Déposer les plans communautaires au Parlement et demander d'en inclure les points principaux à l'annexe 4 de la Loi sur les parcs nationaux du Canada (description du territoire de la communauté, des zones commerciales ainsi que de la superficie commerciale maximale).

« Le rapport de la Commission sur les logements commerciaux périphériques des parcs nationaux des Rocheuses sera bientôt rendu public et sera revu selon la perspective du rapport de la Commission sur l'intégrité écologique. » (Plan d'action)

Progrès accomplis à ce jour

  • Le rapport a été rendu public le 5 avril 2000.
  • Parcs Canada prépare des lignes directrices pour les logements commerciaux périphériques et les auberges, lesquelles établiront une limite pour chaque établissement et augmenteront la responsabilité de chaque gestionnaire de site en matière de gérance.
  • Dans le cas du point de confluence des trois vallées dans le parc national Jasper, l'on est à formuler un plan de restauration écologique pour veiller à ce qu'on se penche sur les dossiers écologiques.

Prochaines étapes

  • Les lignes directrices de Parcs Canada sur les logements commerciaux périphériques et les auberges seront finalisées.


Page précédente | Index | Page suivante