Progress Report on Implementation of the Recommendations of the Panel on the Ecological Integrity of Canada's National Parks

Planning for Ecological Integrity

Sound planning guides the management of national parks. Planning establishes the broad vision and the objectives toward which management actions are oriented. Good planning ensures that broad legislative and policy requirements are addressed and respected in plans that also meet local requirements and circumstances. For national parks, the primary goal of planning is to ensure that there is a clearly defined direction for the maintenance or restoration of ecological integrity and, respecting this primary goal, to guide appropriate public use. Measures have been put in place so that Parks Canada management plans will achieve this goal, and that the interested public will be consulted in plan preparation.

"We will revise the Parks Canada Guide to Management Planning:

  • to clearly define ecological integrity as the core of national park management plans;
  • to require a 5-year State of the Park Report for each park; and
  • to provide for an Annual Management Plan Implementation Report." (Action Plan)

Progress to Date

  • The Parks Canada Guide to Management Planning has been revised to reinforce the primacy of ecological integrity and management plans are now being prepared accordingly. Both reports cited in the action above are now required.
  • As previously mentioned, the new Canada National Parks Act sets new standards for park management plans with respect to ecological integrity.

Next Steps

  • Preparation of management plans based on the new standards.

"We will review the appropriateness of visitor activities during the park management planning process with public consultation." (Action Plan)

Progress to Date

  • Clear direction related to visitor activities and human use management is included in the revised Parks Canada Guide to Management Planning; for example, plans must confirm the range of appropriate visitor activities to be offered and under what conditions, determine basic and essential facilities to be offered, and specify any limits necessary on development or use.

Next Steps

  • An updated framework for assessing the appropriateness of activities is being developed.
  • Proposed visitor activities which are new to national parks will be subject to national review.


Previous | Index | Next

Rapport d'étape sur la mise en oeuvre des recommandations de la Commission sur l'intégrité écologique des parcs nationaux du Canada

Une planification centrée sur l'intégrité écologique

La gestion des parcs nationaux se fonde sur une saine planification. La planification cerne la vision d'ensemble et les objectifs visés par les mesures de gestion. Grâce à une bonne planification, les plans tiennent compte des grandes exigences législatives et stratégiques et les respectent tout en se conformant aux exigences et aux circonstances locales. Dans le cas des parcs nationaux, le but premier de la planification est de voir à ce qu'on ait clairement défini l'orientation à donner au maintien ou à la restauration de l'intégrité écologique et, conformément à ce but premier, à ce qu'on guide le public pour qu'il en fasse une utilisation appropriée. Des mesures ont été prises pour que les plans directeurs de Parcs Canada atteignent ce but et pour que le public intéressé soit consulté dans la préparation des plans.

« Nous réviserons le Guide de planification pour l'élaboration des plans directeurs à Parcs Canada de manière à :

  • y intégrer sans équivoque la notion d'intégrité écologique comme élément central des plans de gestion des parcs nationaux;
  • y exiger un rapport quinquennal de la situation de chacun des parcs; et
  • y exiger un rapport annuel sur la mise en oeuvre du plan de gestion. » (Plan d'action)

Progrès accomplis à ce jour

  • Le Guide de planification pour l'élaboration des plans directeurs à Parcs Canada a été révisé pour renforcer la primauté de l'intégrité écologique et l'on est à préparer des plans directeurs en conséquence. Les deux rapports mentionnés dans la mesure ci-dessus sont maintenant requis;
  • Comme cela a été mentionné précédemment, la nouvelle Loi sur les parcs nationaux du Canada fixe de nouvelles normes d'intégrité écologique pour les plans directeurs des parcs.

Prochaines étapes

  • Les plans directeurs seront préparés à partir des nouvelles normes.

« Nous examinerons par l'entremise de consultations publiques la pertinence de maintenir les activités pour les visiteurs pendant le processus de planification de la gestion des parcs. » (Plan d'action)

Progrès accomplis à ce jour

  • Le Guide de planification pour l'élaboration des plans directeurs à Parcs Canada révisé indique clairement l'orientation à prendre pour gérer les activités des visiteurs et l'utilisation humaine des parcs. Par exemple, les plans doivent confirmer l'éventail des activités appropriées à offrir aux visiteurs et les circonstances de cette offre, déterminer les installations de base et essentielles à offrir et préciser toute limite nécessaire au développement ou à l'utilisation.

Prochaines étapes

  • L'on est à préparer un cadre actualisé pour évaluer l'à-propos des activités.
  • Les activités pour les visiteurs que l'on propose et qui sont nouvelles pour les parcs nationaux feront l'objet d'un examen national.


Page précédente | Index | Page suivante