Progress Report on Implementation of the Recommendations of the Panel on the Ecological Integrity of Canada's National Parks

Additional Actions

The Chief Executive Officer was requested to elaborate a clear interpretation strategy to communicate with urban residents and with young Canadians.

kids@parks

Geared to school children from kindergarten to Grade 8, kids@parks programs offer fun, interactive opportunities for learning, whether in the park, at the site or in the classroom. This national education program was launched by the Canadian Parks Partnership in spring 2000, and strives to inspire Canadian children to become the next generation of heritage stewards of Canada's parks, historic sites and waterways. In the first year, approximately $100,000 were raised and provided to cooperating associations across Canada.

Classrooms across the country will have access to the educational programs and materials offered through the kids@parks programs, helping to overcome limited access to parks and sites. kids@parks will increase young Canadians' understanding of the values of Canada's most precious natural and cultural resources, and of our Canadian identity.

Source: Canadian Parks Partnership Biennial Report 1998-2000

Progress to Date

  • The interpretation, education and outreach initiatives of Parks Canada constitute one of the most highly valued programs offered by the Agency. The more Canadians from all walks of life know about national parks, the more effectively they can support the Parks Canada mandate. Increased awareness leads to knowledge and understanding, which in turn leads to support for preservation and presentation of Canadian heritage. Reaching out to Canadians is the priority for heritage presentation.
  • In the short term:
    • Existing on-site programs will be sustained and support will continue to be offered to a wide variety of cooperating associations, volunteers and businesses to extend the reach of the Agency and to raise awareness of the values of national parks. A modest extension of outreach programs will occur.
    • Parks Canada will continue to improve its website, augmenting the amount and depth of education materials.
    • Efforts will continue to integrate Parks Canada messages into school curricula across the country. Work is under way now with curriculum developers in Nova Scotia, Ontario, Saskatchewan and Alberta.
    • An Outreach Innovation Fund has been established in Parks Canada to encourage the development of fresh new approaches to reaching out to the Canadian public with public education programming. Ten new projects have been launched.
    • Television series will continue to be used where opportunities exist.
    • The longer term objectives will build upon this base and will include the following elements.
      • To more effectively reach out to urban, youth and ethno-cultural minority audiences, a series of urban interpretation centres will be developed across Canada. Parks Canada will initiate the development of a network of discovery centres, some in urban centres such as the Canada Discovery Centre for marine conservation in Hamilton, and others in existing Parks Canada facilities. Interpretation centres in existing parks and sites will be redeveloped using this model when recapitalization is required.
      • Parks Canada will seek to access general federal funding in support of connecting Canadians through the electronic highway. Priorities will include building a virtual journey of Canada's heritage places, providing access to Canadian content through digitization of original research material, and providing access to Canadian youth to educational materials and journeys of discovery.
      • Five percent of the Agency's budget will be dedicated to communicating, educating and interpreting places administered by Parks Canada.

      Next Steps

      • Additional funds are being sought both for improving interpretation programs within the national parks, and for reaching out to Canadians who may not have the means or opportunity to visit the parks.

      Children Experience Wonders of National Park

      "Parks and People Association and Young Canada Works in Canada's national parks and national historic sites have teamed up to provide children between the ages of five and ten with a free nature camp. This stewardship-focused afternoon camp allows kids to explore the natural features of the P.E.I. National Park. Local and visiting children discover dune formation and erosion and learn more about the piping plover, an endangered species that nests throughout the national park."

      From The Guardian (Charlottetown), July 20, 2000

Rapport d'étape sur la mise en oeuvre des recommandations de la Commission sur l'intégrité écologique des parcs nationaux du Canada

Mesures supplémentaires

On a demandé au directeur général d'élaborer une stratégie d'interprétation claire pour communiquer avec les résidants urbains et les jeunes Canadiens.

jeunes@parcs

Mis sur pied à l'intention des écoliers de la maternelle à la huitième année, le programme jeunes@parcs leur propose des activités d'apprentissage amusantes et interactives qui peuvent se dérouler dans un parc, dans un site historique ou en salle de classe. Ce programme national d'éducation, lancé au printemps 2000, vise à inciter les enfants de tout le pays à devenir la prochaine génération d'intendants du patrimoine des parcs, des sites historiques et des voies navigables du Canada. Au cours de la première année, on a recueilli près de 100 000 $ qui ont été versées à des associations participantes partout au Canada.

Dans toutes les salles de classe du pays, on aura accès à la documentation et aux programmes éducatifs offerts dans le cadre du programme jeunes@parcs, ce qui permettra de vaincre les obstacles à l'accès aux parcs et aux sites historiques. Le programme permettra d'accroître la compréhension des jeunes Canadiens à l'endroit des valeurs des ressources naturelles et culturelles les plus précieuses, et de notre identité canadienne.

Source : Rapport biennal 1998-2000 de Partenaires des parcs canadiens

Progrès accomplis à ce jour

  • Les initiatives d'interprétation, d'éducation et de découverte de Parcs Canada constituent l'un des programmes les plus appréciés qu'offre l'Agence. Plus les Canadiens de tous âges sont renseignés à propos des parcs nationaux, plus ils peuvent appuyer efficacement le mandat de Parcs Canada. Une conscience accrue mène à la connaissance et à la compréhension, ce qui, en retour, conduit à appuyer la préservation et la représentation du patrimoine canadien. La représentation du patrimoine vise avant tout à rejoindre les Canadiens.
  • à court terme :
    • Les programmes qui sont dispensés actuellement sur place seront maintenus et on continuera de soutenir un grand nombre d'associations partenaires, de bénévoles et d'entreprises pour étendre la portée de l'Agence et pour mieux faire prendre conscience des valeurs des parcs nationaux. Les programmes de découverte connaîtront une expansion modeste.
    • Parcs Canada continuera d'améliorer son site Internet en augmentant la quantité et la profondeur de son contenu éducatif.
    • On continuera de faire des efforts pour intégrer des messages de Parcs Canada dans les programmes d'études partout au pays. Des concepteurs ont déjà commencé à élaborer des contenus de cours en Nouvelle-écosse, en Ontario, en Saskatchewan et en Alberta.
    • Parcs Canada a mis en place un Fonds d'innovation en communication externe pour susciter le développement de toutes nouvelles approches pour atteindre le public canadien par des programmes d'éducation publique. Dix nouveaux projets ont déjà été lancés.
    • On continuera d'utiliser des séries télévisées là où c'est possible.
  • Ces objectifs serviront à appuyer les objectifs à plus long terme, qui comprendront les éléments suivants :
    • Pour communiquer plus efficacement avec les publics urbains ainsi que ceux des jeunes et des minorités ethnoculturelles, on établira partout au Canada une série de centres d'interprétation urbains. Parcs Canada entreprendra de mettre sur pied un réseau de centres de découverte, dont certains seront situés dans des centres urbains, comme le Centre canadien de découverte pour la conservation marine à Hamilton, et d'autres dans des installations existantes de Parcs Canada. Les centres d'interprétation déjà situées dans des installations et des sites existants seront réaménagés selon ce modèle lorsqu'on devra utiliser de nouveaux fonds.
    • Parcs Canada s'efforcera d'obtenir des fonds généraux du gouvernement fédéral pour aider à donner accès aux Canadiens par la voie de l'autoroute électronique. On s'attachera en priorité à élaborer une visite virtuelle des sites patrimoniaux du Canada, à donner accès au contenu canadien par la numérisation de documents de recherche originaux et à mettre à la portée des jeunes Canadiens des documents éducatifs et des voyages de découverte.
    • L'Agence consacrera cinq pour cent de son budget à la communication à l'éducation et à l'interprétation des endroits administrés par Parcs Canada.

Prochaines étapes

  • Nous cherchons à obtenir des fonds additionnels pour améliorer les programmes d'interprétation des parcs nationaux et pour rejoindre les Canadiens qui n'ont peut-être pas les moyens ou l'occasion de visiter les parcs.

Les enfants goûtent aux merveilles du parc national

« La Parks and People Association et Jeunesse Canada au travail ont uni leurs forces, dans les parcs nationaux et dans les sites historiques nationaux, afin d'offrir aux enfants de cinq à dix ans un camp gratuit d'initiation à la nature. Ce camp d'après-midi axé sur la fonction d'intendance de l'environnement permet aux enfants d'explorer les caractéristiques naturelles du parc national de l'île-du-Prince-édouard. Les enfants de l'endroit et ceux en visite découvrent la formation et l'érosion des dunes et approfondissent leur connaissance du pluvier siffleur, une espèce menacée qui niche partout dans le parc national. »

Tiré de l'édition du 20 juillet du journal The Guardian (Charlottetown)



Page précédente | Index | Page suivante