Progress Report on Implementation of the Recommendations of the Panel on the Ecological Integrity of Canada's National Parks

"We will work with those who market and use national parks to ensure an understanding of the ecological integrity mandate so that we attract park visitors to the right place, at the right time, in the right numbers and with the right expectations." (Action Plan)

Progress to Date

  • Parks Canada is working with those who market and use national parks to ensure an understanding of the ecological integrity mandate and to influence/involve them in attracting visitors with the right expectations, to the right places, at the right times. This is being done in a number of ways, including:

Collaboration with Tourism Industry at the National and International Level

  • As a member of the Executive Committees of the Canadian Tourism Commission, the National Tour Association, Aboriginal Tourism Team Canada and Rendezvous Canada, Parks Canada is able to influence the strategic directions for marketing, the messages of these organizations and what they promote.
  • On January 4, 2001, Parks Canada and the Tourism Industry Association of Canada (TIAC) signed an accord outlining principles to guide collaborative actions between the two organizations. Both organizations see this as opening a new era – an era of working together to foster sustainable tourism.
  • Parks Canada is contributing to TIAC's Best Practices/"Smart Tourism" project which aims to produce guidance for tourism businesses planning, developing and operating in or near national parks.
  • Parks Canada is arranging a series of educational presentations as a part of Canadian and international tourism industry association meetings and has been invited to make presentations to the annual meetings of the National Tour Association, Rendezvous Canada and the Tourism Industry Association of Canada.
  • Parks Canada is leading the development of a national strategy for heritage-based "learning travel" in collaboration with the Canadian Tourism Commission and industry representatives.

Communicating the Right Messages

  • Parks Canada has developed a National Messages Framework to guide all of its own communications with visitors and Canadians. This framework, which will be shared with tourism operators, emphasizes the ecological integrity mandate and the contribution to Canadian identity and pride.
  • Parks Canada is striving to ensure that all tour operator materials (e.g. fee schedules, travel trade manuals) contain appropriate ecological integrity messages.
  • In cooperation with the National Tour Association, Parks Canada is producing Guides' Guides for tour operators to influence their perceptions and understanding of national parks, the messages and presentations they provide to their passengers, and the places and times they visit.

Examples of Actions at the Local Level

  • Fundy is working with tourism associations and the provincial government to influence how it presents the park in the marketplace.
  • The Kootenay/Yoho/Lake Louise Field Unit is supporting the development of heritage tourism strategies for Golden and Radium Hot Springs.
  • Gwaii Haanas has an initiative to ensure that its marketing strategy is consistent with Panel recommendations and further discussions will occur with commercial tour operators in the area.
  • Cape Breton Highlands is participating with other tourism marketing organizations on the Island with the intention of ensuring that marketing done by Island agencies reflects the objectives of Parks Canada, including those related to ecological integrity.

Next Steps

  • Renewal of Parks Canada's strategic direction for External Relations to focus on informing, influencing and involving Canadians in the conservation and the sensitive appreciation and enjoyment of national parks. This will be accomplished through the gathering and application of social science research.
  • Continued collaboration in specific parks with the tourism sector to manage human use.


Previous | Index | Next

Rapport d'étape sur la mise en oeuvre des recommandations de la Commission sur l'intégrité écologique des parcs nationaux du Canada

« Nous collaborerons avec les responsables de la mise en marché des parcs nationaux et avec ceux qui fréquentent ces endroits spéciaux pour susciter une meilleure compréhension du mandat relatif à l'intégrité écologique des parcs de manière à attirer la bonne proportion de visiteurs dotés d'attentes réalistes, dans les bons endroits et aux bons moments. » (Plan d'action).

Progrès accomplis à ce jour

  • Parcs Canada travaille avec les responsables de la mise en marché des parcs nationaux et avec ceux qui fréquentent ces endroits pour s'assurer qu'ils comprennent le mandat d'intégrité écologique et pour les encourager à attirer aux bons endroits et au bon moment des visiteurs ayant les bonnes attentes et à participer à ce processus. Cela se fait d'un certain nombre de façons :

Collaboration avec l'industrie touristique nationale et internationale

  • Comme membre des comités de direction de la Commission canadienne du tourisme, de la National Tour Association, d'équipe Canada – Tourisme Autochtone et de Rendez-vous Canada, Parcs Canada est en mesure d'influer sur les orientations stratégiques du marketing, sur les messages de ces organisations et sur ce dont elles font la promotion.
  • Le 4 janvier 2001, Parcs Canada et l'Association de l'industrie touristique du Canada (AITC) ont signé un accord établissant les principes qui orienteront les actions conjointes des deux organismes. D'un côté comme de l'autre, on voit dans cette entente le début d'une ère nouvelle, une ère où la collaboration favorisera un tourisme durable.
  • Parcs Canada contribue au Projet des meilleures pratiques/Tourisme ingénieux de l'AITC, qui vise à orienter la planification, le développement et l'exploitation des entreprises de tourisme à l'intérieur ou près des parcs nationaux.
  • L'Agence Parcs Canada organise une série de présentations éducatives dans le cadre des assemblées des associations de l'industrie touristique canadienne et internationale et a été invitée à faire des présentations aux assemblées annuelles de la National Tour Association, de Rendez-vous Canada et de l'Association de l'industrie touristique du Canada.
  • Parcs Canada dirige la formulation d'une stratégie nationale pour des « voyages d'apprentissage » à caractère patrimonial en collaboration avec la Commission canadienne du tourisme et des représentants de l'industrie.

Communiquer les bons messages

  • Parcs Canada a mis au point un Cadre de référence national pour les messages pour l'orienter dans toutes ses communications avec les visiteurs et les Canadiens. Ce cadre, qui sera partagé avec les exploitants d'entreprises touristiques, met l'accent sur le mandat d'intégrité écologique et sur la contribution à l'identité et à la fierté canadiennes.
  • Parcs Canada tente de s'assurer que tout le matériel destiné aux exploitants (par exemple les grilles tarifaires, les manuels touristiques) renferme des messages d'intégrité écologique appropriés.
  • En collaboration avec la National Tour Association, Parcs Canada est à produire des guides pour les voyagistes afin d'influer sur leur perception et leur compréhension de nos parcs nationaux, sur les messages et les présentations qu'ils fournissent à leurs passagers et sur les endroits et les moments de leurs visites.

Exemples d'actions locales

  • Fundy travaille avec les associations touristiques et le gouvernement provincial pour l'influencer dans sa façon de mettre le parc en marché.
  • L'unité de gestion de Kootenay/Yoho/Lac Louise appuie l'élaboration de stratégies de tourisme patrimonial pour Golden et Radium Hot Springs.
  • Gwaii Haanas a lancé une initiative pour s'assurer que sa stratégie de marketing concorde avec les recommandations de la Commission et d'autres discussions auront lieu avec les voyagistes de la région.
  • Les Hautes-Terre-du-Cap-Breton et d'autres organisations de marketing du tourisme de l'île travaillent de concert pour veiller à ce que le marketing fait par les agences de l'île reflète les objectifs de Parcs Canada, y compris ceux liés à l'intégrité écologique.

Prochaines étapes

  • Le renouvellement de l'orientation stratégique de Parcs Canada, pour que les relations externes se consacrent avant tout à informer et à influencer les Canadiens et à les amener à participer à la conservation des parcs nationaux, à les apprécier de façon sensible et à en profiter. Cela se fera par la recherche en science sociale et par l'application des données obtenues.
  • La collaboration avec le secteur du tourisme dans certains parcs pour gérer l'utilisation humaine va se poursuivre.


Page précédente | Index | Page suivante