Progress Report on Implementation of the Recommendations of the Panel on the Ecological Integrity of Canada's National Parks

Progress to Date

  • Senior Parks Canada officials have met in every province and territory with senior officials from other governments to discuss cooperative ecological integrity actions. Most are supportive of collaborative measures; however, provinces underscored the importance of appropriate visitor use and related economic benefits.
  • Parks Canada and Environment Canada are collaborating on several initiatives related to ecosystem-based management including Species at Risk and have begun preliminary discussions about a formal memorandum of understanding to address areas of potential cooperation such as monitoring.
  • A memorandum of understanding has been drafted with the Canadian Forestry Service related to forestry research and forest management.
  • Virtually every national park has identified numerous examples of collaborative efforts under way with provincial, municipal and Aboriginal authorities. These range from regional planning, working with local tourism associations, joint studies and research, collaboration on greening infrastructure, model forest programs, and more. Examples of collaboration with other federal departments and agencies or levels of government include:
    • Parks Canada is supporting in principle the creation of the proposed South West Nova Biosphere Reserve, provided that the biosphere reserve committee obtains support from key stakeholders including the province and adjacent landowners.
    • Waterton and Banff National Parks now have representatives who sit on provincial environmental resource committees; Jasper has had such a representative for some time.
    • In Yukon, federal, territorial and First Nations governments, the tourism industry and conservation groups agreed to work together on a public information program stressing the importance of intact ecosystems, protected areas and the importance of bears as a symbol of ecosystem integrity.
    • Jasper continues to be a full participant in the development of a provincial integrated resource management strategy and an integrated grizzly bear conservation program.
    • Five national parks (Pacific Rim, Jasper, Prince Albert, Fundy and Gros Morne) continue as partners in their model forest programs.

    Next Steps

    • Continued collaboration on initiatives like the ones listed above to the extent that existing resources permit, and additional resources are being sought.

Rapport d'étape sur la mise en oeuvre des recommandations de la Commission sur l'intégrité écologique des parcs nationaux du Canada

Progrès accomplis à ce jour

  • Des cadres supérieurs de Parcs Canada ont rencontré des cadres supérieurs d'autres gouvernements dans chaque province et territoire pour discuter d'actions concertées en faveur de l'intégrité écologique. La plupart appuient ces mesures; les provinces ont toutefois souligné l'importance d'une utilisation appropriée par les visiteurs et des retombées économiques connexes.
  • Parcs Canada et Environnement Canada collaborent à plusieurs initiatives reliées à la gestion axée sur les écosystèmes, y compris des programmes de protection des espèces menacées. Ils ont aussi entrepris des discussions préliminaires en vue d'établir un protocole d'entente formel sur des domaines de coopération possibles tels que la surveillance.
  • Un protocole d'entente a été rédigé avec le Service canadien des forêts pour des recherches forestières et de l'aménagement forestier.
  • Les parcs nationaux ont pratiquement tous fait état de nombreux exemples d'efforts concertés en cours avec les autorités provinciales, municipales et autochtones. Cela va de la planification régionale au travail avec les associations touristiques locales en passant par des études et des recherches conjointes, la collaboration pour l'écologisation des infrastructures, les programmes de forêts modèles et plus encore. Voici quelques exemples de collaboration avec d'autres ministères ou organismes fédéraux et d'autres niveaux de gouvernement :
    • Parcs Canada appuie en principe la création de la Réserve de la biosphère du Sud-Ouest de la Nouvelle-écosse, pourvu que le comité de la réserve de la biosphère obtienne l'appui des principaux intervenants, y compris la province et les propriétaires des terres adjacentes.
    • Des représentants des parcs nationaux Waterton et Banff siègent maintenant aux comités provinciaux des ressources environnementales; un représentant de Jasper y siège depuis un certain temps.
    • Au Yukon, les gouvernements fédéral, territorial et des Premières nations, l'industrie touristique et les groupes de conservation ont convenu de travailler de concert à un programme d'information publique soulignant l'importance d'écosystèmes intacts, d'aires protégées et de l'ours comme symbole de l'intégrité des écosystèmes.
    • Jasper continue à participer pleinement à l'élaboration d'une stratégie provinciale intégrée de gestion des ressources et d'un programme intégré de conservation du grizzli.
    • Cinq parcs nationaux (Pacific Rim, Jasper, Prince Albert, Fundy et Gros Morne) continuent à titre de partenaires dans leurs programmes de forêts modèles.

Prochaines étapes

  • Collaboration continue à des initiatives telles que celles susmentionnées, dans la mesure où les ressources le permettent, et recherche de ressources additionnelles.


Page précédente | Index | Page suivante