Progress Report on Implementation of the Recommendations of the Panel on the Ecological Integrity of Canada's National Parks

Building Partnerships for Ecological Integrity

The Panel identifies in very explicit terms and makes positive recommendations on a topic that we all know well – what we do in our backyard has an impact on our neighbours' backyards! Our national parks share with the provinces and territories, Aboriginal peoples, private land owners and various other interests common boundaries over which nature makes no distinction. One day a grizzly bear is in a national park, and the next day it is outside; water pollution from one source affects other water users far removed; acid rain from hundreds of kilometres away becomes a problem when it affects national park resources – the list goes on.

The Panel envisioned renewed and extended cooperation among neighbours who share these common resources and concerns, and Parks Canada is making this a priority. The nature of collaborative work to be undertaken will be established in cooperation with interested partners; the constitutionally defined role of the provinces and the rights of private property owners will be respected.

"We will work to improve relationships and cooperative activities with Aboriginal people, particularly at the local level; continue to respect existing Aboriginal and treaty rights; and find new ways to work with Aboriginal people toward common goals of conservation, education and economic development." (Action Plan)

Progress to Date

  • As a step toward more effective consultations between Parks Canada and Aboriginal peoples, the Minister and the National Chief of the Assembly of First Nations (AFN) are considering the establishment of a Parks Canada/AFN working group. The working group would be a forum to discuss ways of ensuring effective communications with First Nations on key initiatives.
  • A Round Table on Aboriginal Tourism is planned. This will be attended by both umbrella Aboriginal tourism organizations and Aboriginal tourism operators.
  • The Standing Senate Committee on Aboriginal Peoples has established a Sub-committee on Aboriginal Economic Development in Relation to Northern National Parks; this sub-committee will be looking at opportunities to expand economic development associated with national parks in northern Canada. It intends to convene hearings in Ottawa and selected northern communities in spring 2001.
  • Parks Canada's Aboriginal Employment Strategy is being implemented as a priority. The Aboriginal Leadership Development Program brought together Aboriginal staff from across the country in Yukon this past summer. As well, nearly 20 percent of students hired through the Young Canada Works program this past summer were Aboriginal.
  • Parks Canada's Newfoundland West and Labrador Field Unit contains the proposed Torngat Mountains National Park Reserve in northern Labrador. In preparation for meeting future employment needs, a partnership has been developed with the Labrador Inuit Association to arrange and sponsor work term placements, training and coaching opportunities across the Parks Canada system for seven Inuit students.
  • A new Aboriginal Affairs position has been created and will soon be filled in Atlantic Canada. The incumbent will have the overall lead on Aboriginal issues in the Atlantic Provinces.


Index | Next

Rapport d'étape sur la mise en oeuvre des recommandations de la Commission sur l'intégrité écologique des parcs nationaux du Canada

Créer des partenariats pour l'intégrité écologique

La Commission dit très explicitement ce que nous savons tous fort bien, et fait des recommandations positives à ce sujet : ce que nous faisons dans notre cour se répercute sur celle de nos voisins! Nos parcs nationaux partagent avec les provinces et territoires, les peuples autochtones, les propriétaires de terres privées et divers autres groupes des frontières communes dont la nature fait fi. Un grizzli sera dans un parc national un jour et en sera sorti le lendemain; l'eau polluée d'une source affectera ceux qui la consomment loin de là; les pluies acides venues de centaines de kilomètres deviennent un problème lorsqu'elles affectent les ressources des parcs nationaux; et la liste continue.

La Commission a envisagé une collaboration renouvelée et élargie entre voisins ayant ces ressources et préoccupations en partage, et Parcs Canada en fait une priorité. La nature de la concertation à entreprendre sera déterminée en collaboration avec les partenaires intéressés; le rôle constitutionnel des provinces et les droits des propriétaires privés seront respectés.

« Nous nous appliquerons à raffermir les liens et à augmenter nos activités coopératives avec les peuples autochtones, plus particulièrement au niveau local; à continuer de respecter les droits autochtones et les traités existants; et à trouver de nouvelles façons de collaborer avec les peuples autochtones en vue d'atteindre les objectifs communs que constituent la conservation, l´éducation et le développement économique. » (Plan d'action)

Progrès accomplis à ce jour

  • La ministre et le chef national de l'Assemblée des Premières Nations (APN) envisagent de mettre sur pied un groupe de travail réunissant des représentants de Parcs Canada et de l'APN; cela constituerait un pas vers des consultations plus efficaces. Ce groupe de travail deviendrait un forum permettant de discuter des moyens d'assurer une meilleure communications avec les Premières Nations sur des questions d'importance primordiale.
  • Une Table ronde sur le tourisme autochtone est prévue. Y participeront les deux organisations touristiques cadres autochtones et les exploitants d'entreprises touristiques autochtones.
  • Le Comité sénatorial permanent des peuples autochtones a mis sur pied un Sous-comité sur le développement économique des Autochtones relativement aux parcs nationaux du Nord. Ce sous-comité cherchera des occasions d'élargir le développement économique associé aux parcs nationaux dans le Nord canadien. Il a l'intention de convoquer des audiences à Ottawa et dans certaines communautés du Nord au printemps de 2001.
  • La mise en oeuvre de la Stratégie nationale de Parcs Canada sur l'emploi des Autochtones est jugée prioritaire. Le Programme de développement pour les jeunes autochtones a réuni l'été passé au Yukon du personnel autochtone venu de partout au pays, et près de 20 % des étudiants embauchés l'été dernier par l'entremise du Programme canadien d'emploi jeunesse étaient autochtones.
  • L'Unité de gestion de l'Ouest de Terre-Neuve et du Labrador renferme la réserve du parc national proposée des Monts Torngat, dans le Nord du Labrador. Afin de pouvoir répondre aux futurs besoins d'emploi, un partenariat a été conclu avec la Labrador Inuit Association pour organiser et parrainer des stages de travail, de la formation et des occasions d'encadrement pour sept étudiants inuits dans le réseau de Parcs Canada.
  • Un nouveau poste aux affaires autochtones a été créé et sera bientôt comblé dans le Canada atlantique. Le titulaire sera chargé de l'ensemble des questions autochtones dans les provinces de l'Atlantique.


Index | Page suivante