The Honourable Catherine McKenna, Minister of the Environment and Minister responsible for Parks Canada

The Honourable Catherine McKenna, Minister of the Environment and Minister responsible for Parks Canada

I am pleased to see the progress highlighted in the 2016 Report on the State of Canada’s Natural and Cultural Heritage Places. Such achievements would not have been possible without the collaboration of community members, visitors, and stakeholders, as well as the more than 300 Indigenous communities that are partners in the conservation, restoration, and presentation of Canada’s national parks, national marine conservation areas and national historic sites.

National parks, national historic sites, and national marine conservation areas represent the very best of Canada, including the history, culture and living legacy of Indigenous peoples. Parks Canada’s special partnerships with Indigenous peoples will contribute to the whole-of-government approach to reconciliation.

Since the last report in 2011, Parks Canada has continued to expand our system of protected natural areas and to support more designations of cultural heritage places for all Canadians. Over the past five years, four national parks have been added to our system: Sable Island National Park Reserve, Nááts’ihch’oh National Park Reserve, Qausuittuq National Park, and Mealy Mountains National Park Reserve. Our strong cooperation with the Government of Ontario led to 21 square kilometres being added to Rouge National Urban Park—an expansion of over 36 percent. The Thaidene Nëné National Park Reserve proposal is moving forward through an agreement with First Nations and Métis groups and the Government of the Northwest Territories, establishing a proposed boundary of 14,000 square kilometres. Legislation was also passed enabling the formal establishment of Lake Superior National Marine Conservation Area under the Canada National Marine Areas Conservation Act.

Protected areas play an essential role in helping to mitigate the impacts of climate change. That is why we need to scale up our efforts to conserve the healthy, resilient ecosystems we all depend on for our well-being.

The Government is committed to working with our colleagues across all jurisdictions, and with Indigenous peoples, to deliver on our promise to protect at least 17 percent of our land and 10 percent of our ocean by 2020. And we are committed to looking beyond these targets to conserve nature in the long term, using science and Indigenous knowledge as our guide. Our first priority will be to maintain and restore the ecological integrity of our national parks, while providing opportunities for Canadians to understand, appreciate and enjoy these special places.

Canada is now the proud steward of 18 World Heritage Sites, which we protect on behalf of the entire world community. Parks Canada is right now seeking nominations for new Canadian places to put forward as World Heritage Sites.

Visitation to heritage places has increased by 16 percent over the last five years, reaching 23.3 million in 2015–16, boosting local economies in our communities. I am pleased that Canadians are taking the time to connect with these places that reflect the essence of Canada, and to learn about their natural and cultural heritage.

As Canada celebrates the 150th anniversary of Confederation in 2017, admission to all Parks Canada places will be free. As part of this Government’s commitment to youth, beginning in 2018, children under the age of 18 will continue to enjoy free admission to Parks Canada places. 2017 is also the 100th anniversary of National Historic Sites.

I am proud to be the Minister responsible for Parks Canada. I hope all Canadians will celebrate the richness and diversity of our nation’s history, and invite you to come out with your families to celebrate and enjoy our spectacular national treasures.

The Honourable Catherine McKenna
Minister of the Environment and Climate Change
and Minister responsible for Parks Canada

The Honourable Catherine McKenna, Minister of the Environment and Minister responsible for Parks Canada

L’honorable Catherine McKenna Ministre de l’Environnement et du Changement climatique et ministre responsable de Parcs Canada

Je suis heureuse de constater le progrès mis en évidence dans le Rapport sur l’état des lieux patrimoniaux naturels et culturels du Canada en 2016. Ces réalisations n’auraient pas été possibles sans la collaboration des collectivités, des visiteurs et des intervenants, parmi lesquels nous comptons plus de 300 communautés autochtones qui sont des partenaires dans la conservation, la restauration et la mise en valeur des parcs nationaux, des aires marines nationales de conservation et des lieux historiques nationaux du Canada.

Les parcs nationaux, lieux historiques nationaux et aires marines nationales de conservation représentent ce que le Canada a de mieux, dont l’histoire, la culture et le patrimoine vivant des peuples autochtones. Les liens étroits que Parcs Canada entretient avec les peuples autochtones contribueront à l’approche globale du gouvernement en ce qui concerne la réconciliation.

Depuis le dernier rapport en 2011, Parcs Canada a continué d’agrandir notre réseau d’aires naturelles protégées et de soutenir plus de désignations de lieux du patrimoine culturel pour tous les Canadiens. Au cours des cinq dernières années, quatre parcs nationaux se sont ajoutés au réseau : la réserve de parc national de l’Île-de-Sable, la réserve de parc national Nááts’ihch’oh, le parc national Qausuittuq et la réserve de parc national des Monts-Mealy. Notre solide coopération avec le gouvernement de l’Ontario a mené à l’ajout de 21 kilomètres carrés au parc urbain national de la Rouge, ce qui représente un agrandissement de plus de 36 pour cent. Le projet de réserve de parc national Thaidene Nëné progresse grâce à une entente avec les Premières Nations, les Métis et le gouvernement des Territoires du Nord-Ouest établissant une limite proposée de 14 000 kilomètres carrés. Des mesures législatives ont été adoptées permettant ainsi la création officielle de l’aire marine de conservation du Lac-Supérieur en vertu de la Loi canadienne sur les aires marines nationales de conservation.

Les aires protégées jouent un rôle essentiel pour atténuer les impacts des changements climatiques. C’est pourquoi nous devons accentuer nos efforts afin de conserver les écosystèmes en santé et résilients sur lesquels nous dépendons pour notre bien-être.

Le gouvernement est déterminé à travailler avec nos collègues de toutes les juridictions et les peuples autochtones afin de respecter notre engagement pour la protection d’au moins 17 pour cent de nos terres et dix pour cent de nos océans d’ici 2020. Nous sommes également déterminé à viser au-delà de ces cibles pour la conservation à long terme de la nature, en utilisant la science et le savoir-faire autochtone pour nous guider. Notre première priorité sera de maintenir et restaurer l’intégrité écologique de nos parcs nationaux tout en permettant aux Canadiens de comprendre, d’apprécier et de jouir de ces lieux spéciaux.

Le Canada est fier de compter sur son territoire 18 sites du patrimoine mondial que nous protégeons au nom de la communauté mondiale. Parcs Canada est présentement à la recherche de nominations pour de nouveaux lieux canadiens à proposer en tant que sites du patrimoine mondial.

Le nombre de visites des lieux patrimoniaux a augmenté de 16 pour cent au cours des cinq dernières années. On a ainsi accueilli 23,3 millions de visiteurs en 2015-2016, ce qui a entrainé des retombées économiques dans nos communautés. Je me réjouis de constater que les Canadiens prennent le temps d’aller visiter ces endroits qui reflètent l’essence du Canada, et apprennent sur leur patrimoine naturel et culturel.

Dans le cadre des célébrations du cent cinquantième anniversaire de la Confédération en 2017, l’entrée sera gratuite dans tous les sites de Parcs Canada. En outre, le gouvernement manifestera son engagement envers la jeunesse en continuant d’offrir l’entrée gratuite aux jeunes de moins de 18 ans à partir de 2018. L’année 2017 marque aussi le centenaire des lieux historiques nationaux.

Je suis fière d’être la ministre responsable de Parcs Canada. J’espère que les Canadiens célèbrerons la richesse et la diversité de l’histoire de notre nation, et je vous invite à venir avec vos familles célébrer et jouir de nos trésors nationaux spectaculaires.

L’original a été signé par :

L’honorable Catherine McKenna
Ministre de l’Environnement et du Changement climatique
et ministre responsable de Parcs Canada