Canada’s national parks, national historic sites, national marine conservation areas, along with its first urban national park, are cherished jewels of Canada’s collective identity. Parks Canada protects and presents these places because they tell the stories of who we are, including the history, cultures, and contributions of Indigenous peoples. These natural and cultural treasures constitute an enduring legacy and a source of pride for Canadians. They offer Canadians and visitors from around the world unparalleled opportunities to connect, experience and learn about our nation’s natural and cultural heritage. As the honoured steward of these national treasures, the Parks Canada Agency understands the importance of evaluating the state of heritage places to support and inform decision-making and secure the future of these places for present and future generations.

The present Report, covering the period from April 1, 2011 to March 31, 2016, fulfils the obligation under the Parks Canada Agency Act to provide a report to the Minister, to be tabled in each House of Parliament, on the state of Canada’s national parks, national historic sites and national marine conservation areas and on other protected heritage areas and heritage protection programs, and on the Agency’s performance in carrying out its responsibilities.

The 2016 Report is divided into two parts. The first provides a summary of the state of natural heritage place establishment and the state of cultural heritage programs since 2011.

The second part of the Report presents a snapshot of the state of our natural and cultural heritage places. Parks Canada uses a suite of indicators to measure and communicate the state of heritage places under its administration. The full assessment process runs every ten years, in alignment with the ten-year management planning cycle. This part of the Report is organized around several areas assessed as follows: cultural resources, ecological integrity, species at risk, protection and ecologically sustainable use of national marine conservation areas, asset management, visitor experience, and public appreciation and support. For each category, the Report provides a context, summarizes the current state and trend of associated indicators, highlights the actions taken over the last few years to improve or maintain the state, and analyzes relevant issues.

Overall, this Report provides a basis for collective understanding among parliamentarians, decision-­makers, stakeholders, partners, and the general public, of the state of heritage places under Parks Canada stewardship.

Les parcs nationaux, lieux historiques nationaux et aires marines nationales de conservation du Canada, ainsi que son premier parc urbain national, sont des joyaux chers à l’identité collective du pays. Parcs Canada protège et présente ces endroits parce qu’ils représentent qui nous sommes, y compris l’histoire, les cultures et l’apport des peuples autochtones. Ces trésors naturels et culturels constituent un héritage durable et une source de fierté pour le peuple canadien. Ils offrent aux visiteurs canadiens et du monde entier des possibilités sans précédent de découvrir et d’apprécier le patrimoine naturel et culturel de notre nation. À titre d’organisme responsable de ces trésors nationaux, l’Agence Parcs Canada comprend l’importance de l’évaluation de l’état des lieux patrimoniaux pour soutenir et éclairer la prise de décisions et assurer l’avenir de ces lieux pour les générations actuelles et futures.

Par le présent rapport, couvrant la période du 1er avril 2011 au 31 mars 2016, Parcs Canada se conforme à l’obligation, en vertu de la Loi sur l’Agence Parcs Canada, de fournir au ministre un rapport, devant être déposé au Parlement, sur l’état des parcs nationaux, lieux historiques nationaux et aires marines nationales de conservation du Canada. Il aborde également la situation d’autres lieux patrimoniaux protégés et des programmes de protection du patrimoine et fait état du rendement de l’Agence dans l’exercice de ses responsabilités.

Le rapport 2016 est divisé en deux parties. La première résume la situation en ce qui concerne l’établissement de lieux patrimoniaux et l’état des programmes liés au patrimoine culturel depuis 2011.

La deuxième présente un aperçu de l’état de nos lieux patrimoniaux naturels et culturels. L’Agence Parcs Canada utilise une série d’indicateurs pour mesurer et communiquer l’état des lieux patrimoniaux qu’elle administre. Le processus d’évaluation complet s’échelonne sur une période de dix ans harmonisée au cycle décennal de planification de gestion. Cette partie du rapport s’articule autour de plusieurs volets : ressources culturelles, intégrité écologique, espèces en péril, protection et utilisation écologiquement durable des aires marines nationales de conservation, gestion des biens, expérience du visiteur et appréciation et soutien du public. Pour chaque catégorie, le rapport fournit un contexte, résume l’état et l’évolution des indicateurs associés, met en évidence les mesures prises au cours des dernières années pour améliorer ou maintenir cet état et analyse les questions pertinentes.

Dans l’ensemble, ce rapport fournit les renseignements nécessaires pour que les parlementaires, décideurs, intervenants et partenaires, ainsi que le grand public, puissent collectivement comprendre l’état des lieux patrimoniaux dont Parcs Canada est responsable.