Daniel Watson, Chief Executive Officer, Parks Canada Agency

Daniel Watson, Chief Executive Officer, Parks Canada Agency

Dear Minister McKenna,

It is my pleasure to submit the 2016 Report on the State of Canada’s Natural and Cultural Heritage Places setting out the Agency’s key accomplishments of the past five years. I am proud of our team members’ passion and dedication to working together toward a common vision in managing the finest protected natural and cultural heritage areas in the world.

This Report presents the progress made towards establishing representative systems of protected natural places. Currently, 30 of 39 of Canada’s natural regions are represented by 46 national parks and national park reserves. Meanwhile, the national marine conservation area system has reached 17 percent completion.

Important natural conservation project work has been completed over the last five years. For example, the Beluga Whale species at risk project to mitigate human disturbances at Saguenay–St. Lawrence Marine Park, and the Garry Oak Ecosystem species at risk recovery project to engage the public in learning and active management activities at Gulf Islands National Park Reserve and Fort Rodd Hill National Historic Site, to name a few. In 2015–16, 33 projects were underway across 27 sites, reducing threats to ecosystems, reintroducing species, reconnecting watersheds, and re-establishing ecological processes. This demonstrates the Agency’s ongoing dedication to maintaining or restoring ecological integrity in our national parks.

Parks Canada has contributed to the development of national and international synthesis reports that recognize protected areas as “natural solutions” to climate change, including “North American Protected Areas as Natural Solutions to Climate Change”, from The North American Inter-Governmental Committee on Cooperation for Wilderness and Protected Areas Conservation (NAWPA Committee) and “Canadian Parks and Protected Areas: Helping Canada Weather Climate Change”, developed by the Canadian Parks Council’s Climate Change Working Group.

Parks Canada is also conducting important research within our protected areas that contributes to our understanding of climate change, including detailed climate change vulnerability assessments in three northern parks (Tuktut Nogait, Ukkusiksalik, Auyuittuq), which integrate the traditional knowledge and cultural values of local Indigenous communities. Parks Canada has developed a Master Plan for the Reduction of GHG Emissions within Parks Canada’s Operations (March 2015), which provides guidance and targets for both infrastructure and operations across the Agency.

Our national historic sites and cultural resources reflect the rich and diverse heritage of our nation and provide an opportunity for Canadians to learn more about our history. Parks Canada undertook important cultural conservation work on built heritage at the national historic sites it administers. The Agency also continues to play a leadership role in the Canadian heritage community through the delivery of a number of programs that commemorate and, in some instances, protect cultural and natural heritage. Examples include the National Program of Historical Commemoration, Canadian Heritage Rivers, and the recently expanded National Cost-sharing Program for Heritage Places which provides financial support to advance the protection and presentation of places of national historic significance that are not administered by the federal government. Lighthouses are powerful symbols of Canada's maritime heritage. Between 2011–16, 76 lighthouses were designated and protected under the Heritage Lighthouse Protection Act, and more will be designated in the future. These designations help to ensure the conservation of heritage lighthouses for the benefit of present and future generations.

Parks Canada is also proud to be a significant contributor in the international community’s efforts to recognize “cultural landscape” as a foundation concept for conservation and presentation efforts. This concept is well aligned with, and supportive of, Indigenous peoples’ philosophy that both cultural and spiritual values are grounded in the nature that surrounds them. Cultural landscapes administered by Parks Canada that have been established with Indigenous partners include Saoyú-Ɂehdacho and Beausoleil Island National Historic Sites, which are expressions of this inseparable link between nature and culture.

To encourage more Canadians, including youth and newcomers, to experience the outdoors and learn about our history, Parks Canada has been working hard to develop new, innovative and educational programs and services. Canadians can take advantage of many amazing Parks Canada initiatives such as learn to camp, which introduces a new generation of Canadians to the joy of camping, and #ShareTheChair, which encourages visitors to seek out red chairs, slow down for a minute to connect with our heritage, experience the best of what Canada has to offer and share their experience on social media. Parks Canada also expanded the introduction of products to meet the needs of target audiences in urban centres, which included piloting new outreach activities in Montreal, Toronto and Vancouver and building our presence on social media platforms. The Agency and the Royal Ontario Museum launched an interactive exhibit on the Franklin exhibition, which was then offered at ten museums across the country. As a result of these efforts, visitation to Parks Canada places increased by 16 percent over the last five years reaching 23.3 million visits.

The infusion of nearly $3 billion of federal funding is enabling the Agency to address the backlog of work and improve the overall condition of its built asset portfolio. In restoring nationally significant heritage resources, renewing visitor facilities, and rehabilitating canals, highways and townsites, this investment will ensure Canadians can continue to enjoy our special places. These investments represent the largest federal infrastructure plan in the history of the Agency.

Parks Canada is committed to stewardship of these natural and cultural heritage places that recognizes the role of Indigenous peoples in Canada, and will continue to work with the more than 300 Indigenous communities across Canada to protect, restore, and present Canada’s natural and cultural heritage.

As our nation celebrates its 150th birthday in 2017, Parks Canada will open the gates to Canadians and visitors from around the world to experience Canada’s treasured places. The same year, the Agency will mark the 100th anniversary of the first National Historic Sites.

Parks Canada continues to work with partners on a variety of initiatives designed to raise Canadians’ awareness and appreciation of their history and heritage.

I am confident that by building on its achievement to date and by strengthening collaboration with Indigenous peoples, partners and communities, Parks Canada will continue to protect Canada’s natural and cultural treasures and provide opportunities for visitors to experience and enjoy them for generations to come.

Original signed by

Daniel Watson
Chief Executive Officer, Parks Canada Agency

Daniel Watson, Directeur général, Agence Parcs Canada

Daniel Watson, Directeur général, Agence Parcs Canada

Madame la ministre,

J’ai le plaisir de soumettre le Rapport sur l’état des lieux patrimoniaux naturels et culturels du Canada en 2016 énonçant les principales réalisations de l’Agence au cours des cinq dernières années. Je ressens beaucoup de fierté quand je vois avec quelle passion et quel dévouement les membres de notre personnel travaillent à concrétiser une vision commune pour la gestion de lieux protégés du patrimoine naturel et culturel qui sont parmi les plus beaux au monde.

Le rapport présente les progrès accomplis en vue d’établir des réseaux représentatifs d’endroits naturels protégés. Actuellement, 30 des 39 régions naturelles du Canada sont représentées par 46 parcs nationaux et réserves de parc national. Par ailleurs, l’état d’achèvement du réseau d’aires marines nationales de conservation a atteint 17 pour cent.

Nous avons réalisé d’importants travaux de conservation de la nature au cours des cinq dernières années. En voici deux parmi de nombreux autres : Un projet a permis d’atténuer les activités humaines qui nuisaient aux bélugas, une espèce en péril, dans le parc marin du Saguenay–Saint-Laurent. Une initiative concernant le rétablissement d’une autre espèce en péril, le chêne de Garry, visait à sensibiliser le public et à l’amener à participer concrètement à des activités de gestion dans la réserve de parc national des Îles-Gulf et au lieu historique national Fort Rodd Hill. En 2015-2016, trente-trois projets étaient en cours dans vingt-sept sites dans le but de réduire les menaces pour les écosystèmes, de réintroduire des espèces, de rétablir la connectivité au sein des réseaux hydrologiques et les processus écologiques, ce qui démontre l’engagement continu de l’Agence à maintenir ou à rétablir l’intégrité écologique de nos parcs nationaux.

Parcs Canada a contribué à l’élaboration de rapports de synthèse nationaux et internationaux qui reconnaissent les aires protégées comme des « solutions naturelles » aux changements climatiques, y compris le document intitulé « Les aires protégées : une solution naturelle aux changements climatiques » du Comité intergouvernemental nord-américain pour la coopération sur la conservation des milieux sauvages et des aires protégées (Comité NAWPA), ainsi que le rapport du groupe de travail sur le changement climatique du Conseil canadien des parcs portant le titre « Parcs et aires protégées du Canada : Aider le Canada à faire face au changement climatique ».

Parcs Canada mène également des recherches importantes qui contribuent à notre compréhension des changements climatiques, y compris des évaluations détaillées de la vulnérabilité aux changements climatiques dans trois parcs du Nord (Tuktut Nogait, Ukkusiksalik, Auyuittuq), qui font appel aux connaissances traditionnelles et aux valeurs culturelles des communautés autochtones locales. Parcs Canada a élaboré un plan directeur de réduction des émissions de gaz à effet de serre (mars 2015), qui établit des orientations et des objectifs aussi bien pour les installations que les activités de l’Agence.

Nos lieux historiques nationaux et nos ressources culturelles reflètent le riche patrimoine de notre pays et offrent à la population une porte ouverte sur son histoire. L’Agence a entrepris d’importants travaux de conservation du patrimoine bâti dans les lieux historiques nationaux qu’elle administre. Elle continue également de jouer un rôle de chef de file dans la communauté du patrimoine canadien par la prestation d’un certain nombre de programmes qui commémorent et, dans certains cas, protègent le patrimoine culturel et naturel. Mentionnons notamment le Programme national de commémoration historique, le Réseau des rivières du patrimoine canadien et le Programme national de partage des frais pour les lieux patrimoniaux, récemment élargi, qui offre un soutien financier pour assurer la protection et la présentation des lieux d’importance historique nationale qui ne sont pas administrés par le gouvernement fédéral. Les phares sont de puissants symboles du patrimoine maritime canadien. Entre 2011-2016, 76 phares patrimoniaux ont été désignés et protégés sous la Loi sur la protection des phares patrimoniaux et d’autres le seront dans le futur. Ces désignations assurent la conservation de phares patrimoniaux pour le bénéfice des générations actuelles et futures.

Parcs Canada se réjouit aussi du rôle prépondérant qu’elle exerce dans les efforts de la communauté internationale visant à faire reconnaître le concept de « paysage culturel » comme un élément de base dans les initiatives de conservation et mise en valeur. Ce concept s’harmonise à la philosophie des peuples autochtones, à l’effet que les valeurs culturelles et spirituelles sont ancrées dans la nature qui nous entoure. Certains paysages culturels administrés par Parcs Canada et établis avec des partenaires autochtones se veulent l’expression de ce lien inséparable entre la nature et la culture. C’est le cas notamment des lieux historiques nationaux Saoyú-Ɂehdacho et l’île Beausoleil.

Parcs Canada a travaillé avec détermination à l’élaboration de nouveaux services et programmes éducatifs pour encourager les Canadiens notamment les jeunes et les nouveaux arrivants à découvrir les joies du plein air et à revivre certains épisodes de notre passé. Le public canadien peut profiter des nombreuses initiatives de Parcs Canada, telles que l’initiation au camping, qui présente les joies de cette activité à une nouvelle génération, et #PartagerLaChaise qui encourage les visiteurs à repérer des chaises rouges, à s’offrir un moment de repos et à découvrir les plus beaux endroits du Canada en prenant conscience du patrimoine qui les entoure et en partageant leur expérience sur les médias sociaux. Parcs Canada a également étendu sa gamme de produits pour répondre aux besoins des publics cibles dans les centres urbains, ce qui comprenait le lancement d’activités de diffusion externe à Montréal, Toronto et Vancouver et une présence accrue sur les médias sociaux. L’Agence et le Musée royal de l’Ontario ont lancé une présentation interactive dans le cadre de l’exposition Franklin, qui est maintenant exhibée dans dix musées partout au pays. À la suite de ces efforts, la fréquentation des sites de Parcs Canada a augmenté de 16 pour cent au cours des cinq dernières années pour atteindre 23,3 millions de visites.

Un investissement fédéral de près de trois milliards de dollars permettra à l’Agence de combler le retard dans les travaux reportés et d’améliorer l’état général de son portefeuille de biens bâtis. Les investissements dans la restauration des ressources patrimoniales importantes à l’échelle nationale, la rénovation des installations pour les visiteurs et la remise en état des canaux, des routes et des lotissements urbains feront en sorte que la population canadienne pourra continuer de profiter de ces endroits exceptionnels. Ces travaux constituent le plus important plan d’investissement dans les infrastructures fédérales dans l’histoire de l’Agence.

Parcs Canada entend gérer ces lieux du patrimoine naturel et culturel de la façon la plus responsable qui soit, c’est-à-dire en reconnaissant aussi le rôle des peuples autochtones du Canada et en continuant à travailler avec plus de 300 communautés autochtones aux quatre coins du pays pour protéger, restaurer et présenter ce patrimoine.

Dans la foulée des célébrations du cent cinquantième anniversaire du pays en 2017, Parcs Canada accueillera les visiteurs canadiens et étrangers qui viendront découvrir nos trésors nationaux. La même année, l’Agence marquera le centenaire de la création des premiers lieux historiques nationaux.

Parcs Canada continue de travailler avec des partenaires dans le cadre de divers projets visant à amener la population canadienne à se renseigner sur son histoire et son patrimoine et à en apprécier la valeur.

Je suis convaincu qu’en misant sur les réalisations à ce jour et en renforçant la collaboration avec les peuples, les partenaires et les communautés autochtones, Parcs Canada pourra continuer de protéger les trésors naturels et culturels du Canada et d’offrir aux visiteurs des opportunités de les découvrir et d’en profiter aujourd’hui et demain.

L’original a été signé par:

Daniel Watson
Directeur général, Agence Parcs Canada