1.0 Designation of Heritage Railway Stations

Under this policy, any railway stations that are owned or controlled by railway companies subject to the Railway Act will be considered eligible for designation; this includes the Canadian National Railway Company with respect to both its own railways and Government of Canada railways which it manages and uses.


1.1 Identification

1.1.1
The railway companies, other levels of government and the general public will be encouraged to propose eligible railway stations to the Minister of Canadian Heritage for designation.

1.1.2
Parks Canada will notify the railway company and the provincial or territorial government in which the station is located of the proposed designation, and will carry out the research necessary for the identification and evaluation of eligible railway stations.


1.2 Evaluation

1.2.1
The Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada will evaluate eligible stations in accordance with historical, architectural and environmental criteria that have been established for this purpose, using research prepared by Parks Canada and other relevant information.

1.2.2 The Board will advise the Minister whether a station should be designated a heritage railway station. If the recommendation is positive, the Board may also recommend designation for certain features of the station.


1.3 Registration

1.3.1
Once the Minister has approved a positive recommendation from the Board, a station is designated as a heritage railway station and, when applicable, certain of its features are designated as heritage features. Affected railway companies and provincial or territorial governments will be notified.

1.3.2
A designated station will be entered in the Register of Heritage Railway Stations, maintained by Parks Canada, along with a statement of its heritage character. Designated railway stations will be recognized by appropriate markers or otherwise.

1.0 Désignation des gares ferroviaires patrimoniales

Dans le cadre de la présente politique, sont considérées admissibles à la désignation toutes les gares ferroviaires qui relèvent des compagnies de chemins de fer auxquelles s'applique la Loi sur les chemins de fer; cela inclut la Compagnie des chemins de fer nationaux du Canada, tant à l'égard de ses propres chemins de fer qu'à l'égard de ceux du gouvernement canadien dont elle assume la gestion et l'exploitation.


1.1 Identification

1.1.1
Les compagnies de chemin de fer, les autres paliers de gouvernement ainsi que le public sont encouragés à proposer au ministre du Patrimoine canadien le cas des gares ferroviaires admissibles à la désignation.

1.1.2
Parcs Canada informe la compagnie de chemin de fer et le gouvernement de la province ou du territoire où est située la gare de la désignation proposée et effectue les recherches nécessaires à l'identification et à l'évaluation des gares ferroviaires admissibles.


1.2 Évaluation

1.2.1
La Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada évalue les gares ferroviaires admissibles selon des critères historiques, architecturaux et environnementaux établis à cet effet, et utilise les recherches effectuées par Parcs Canada et toute information pertinente.

La Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada recommande au ministre les gares ferroviaires à désigner, de même que la désignation de certaines de leurs caractéristiques, s'il y a lieu.


1.3 Enregistrement

1.3.1
Lorsque le ministre approuve une recommandation de la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada, une gare ferroviaire patrimoniale est désignée comme telle de même que ses caractéristiques patrimoniales, le cas échéant. Les compagnies de chemin de fer et le gouvernement de la province ou du territoire visé sont informés de la désignation.

1.3.2
Les gares ferroviaires désignées sont inscrites avec un énoncé de leur valeur patrimoniale au Répertoire des gares ferroviaires patrimoniales tenu par Parcs Canada. Une plaque ou une autre marque de reconnaissance est prévue pour les gares désignées.