Background

For more than a century, railway stations have been an integral part of the Canadian landscape. Not only do they stand as testimony to Canada's development, but to many Canadian communities they are an important source of pride. That a great many Canadians feel an attachment to these railway stations is shown by their enthusiastic efforts to preserve them.

Until the late 1980's, public efforts to preserve railway stations were hindered by the absence of legislation. As most railway stations are owned or controlled by federally regulated railway companies, they are not subject to the various provincial laws that protect heritage. In 1988 Parliament passed a private member's bill to protect these railway stations. The Heritage Railway Stations Protection Act was given Royal Assent in September 1988.

The Heritage Railway Stations Protection Act requires federally regulated railway companies to obtain authorization from the Governor in Council before removing, destroying, altering or disposing of a heritage railway station, and before altering any of the heritage features of the station. It also allows for timely public involvement in opposing those interventions that are seen as potentially deleterious to a heritage railway station or its heritage features. The Act provides for heavy fines for infractions.

The Heritage Railway Stations Policy is based on the Heritage Railway Stations Protection Act. Responsibility for the implementation of the Act and this policy has been given to the Minister of Canadian Heritage, who is supported by the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada.

The Heritage Railway Stations Policy promotes consultation, dialogue and public participation in the pursuit of the shared goal of identifying and conserving the built heritage. The policy establishes processes for identifying and evaluating heritage railway stations; for specifying, where applicable, the features that give them heritage value; and for reviewing on a case-by-case basis any intervention that might affect them or their heritage features. The federal government encourages railway companies that own or control these stations to apply cultural resource management methods in their treatment of them, and to set an example in conserving aspects of Canada's built heritage.

État de la question

Depuis plus d'un siècle, les gares ferroviaires font partie intégrante du paysage canadien. À la fois instruments et témoins du rapide développement du pays, elles sont aussi la fierté de multiples collectivités. L'attachement que nombre de Canadiens portent aux gares ferroviaires est d'ailleurs manifeste et se traduit par l'enthousiasme qui préside à leurs efforts de conservation de ces édifices.

Jusqu'à la fin des années 1980, la plupart des gares ferroviaires échappaient cependant à leur vigilance puisqu'elles relevaient de compagnies de chemin de fer réglementées par le gouvernement fédéral. De ce fait, ces gares n'étaient pas sujettes aux diverses lois provinciales protégeant le patrimoine. En 1988, l'adoption par la Chambre des communes d'un projet de loi privé visant à protéger les gares ferroviaires patrimoniales relevant de ces compagnies venait mettre un terme à cette situation. Cette loi reçut la sanction royale en septembre 1988.

La Loi visant à protéger les gares ferroviaires patrimoniales enjoint les compagnies de chemin de fer réglementées par le gouvernement fédéral de demander l'autorisation du gouverneur en conseil avant d'effectuer toute intervention visant à enlever, démolir, modifier ou aliéner une gare ferroviaire patrimoniale dont elles ont la propriété ou le contrôle, ou visant à modifier l'une ou l'autre de ses caractéristiques patrimoniales, le tout sous peine de fortes amendes. Elle permet également au public de s'opposer de façon opportune à des interventions qu'il estime préjudiciables à la conservation des gares ferroviaires patrimoniales ou des caractéristiques qui contribuent à leur valeur.

La Politique sur les gares ferroviaires patrimoniales s'appuie sur cette loi. La mise en application de la loi et de la politique a été confiée au ministre du Patrimoine canadien lequel est appuyé par la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada.

La Politique sur les gares ferroviaires patrimoniales encourage la consultation, le dialogue et la participation du public dans la poursuite du but commun que représentent l'identification et la conservation du patrimoine architectural canadien. Elle met en place des processus qui permettent d'identifier et d'évaluer les gares ferroviaires patrimoniales et les caractéristiques qui contribuent à leur valeur, de même que d'examiner, cas par cas, les interventions qui peuvent les affecter. Ce faisant le gouvernement fédéral cherche à promouvoir l'application des méthodes de la gestion des ressources culturelles auprès des compagnies responsables des gares ferroviaires patrimoniales et, par l'exemple, encourager les Canadiens à conserver leur patrimoine architectural