4.0 Working with Others

In recognition of the actual and potential impact of the operation of the historic canals on others, Parks Canada will cooperate with provincial departments, individuals, agencies and groups to achieve its objectives. The involvement of others (including volunteer groups such as cooperating associations) in the provision of certain appropriate services and facilities to the public contributes to the achievement of objectives relating to public needs.


4.1
Parks Canada will consult with tourism and recreational groups, as well as with other levels of government, in identifying opportunities for the private sector to supply appropriate services and facilities on the historic canals.


4.2
Historic canals contribute to regional tourism by being managed in a manner that recognizes historical and environmental requirements. Where appropriate, Parks Canada will participate in, and provide leadership to, selected community and inter-agency tourism initiatives.


4.3
Parks Canada recognizes that the management of historic canals has a social and economic impact on adjacent lands and other jurisdictions, and will work with local, provincial and other federal agencies to assist in the planning, protection and presentation of cultural and natural resources in the regions adjacent to the historic canals.


4.4
Parks Canada will cooperate with the appropriate provincial authorities in their management of renewable natural resources that are harvested on lands and waters administered by Parks Canada.

4.0 Coopération

Reconnaissant l'impact de l'exploitation des canaux historiques sur des ministères provinciaux, des particuliers, des organismes et des groupes, Parcs Canada entend coopérer avec eux dans la poursuite de ses objectifs. En fournissant certains services et certaines installations nécessaires, ces personnes ou organismes, dont les groupes bénévoles comme les associations coopérantes, contribuent à réaliser les objectifs portant sur la satisfaction du public.


4.1
Parcs Canada consulte les associations touristiques et récréatives et les autres paliers de gouvernement afin d'identifier les occasions où le secteur privé pourrait fournir certains services et installations appropriés le long des canaux historiques.


4.2
Les canaux historiques contribuent au tourisme régional lorsqu'ils sont administrés d'une façon qui tient compte de leur valeur historique et des exigences environnementales. En temps opportun, Parcs Canada entend exercer son leadership et prendre part à certaines initiatives en matière de tourisme, provenant soit d'une collectivité, soit d'un groupe d'organismes.


4.3
Parcs Canada reconnaît que la gestion des canaux entraîne un impact économique et social sur les terres adjacentes comme sur d'autres administrations; il collabore donc avec les différentes administrations pour favoriser la planification, la protection et la mise en valeur des ressources culturelles et naturelles de ces secteurs riverains.


4.4
Parcs Canada entend collaborer avec les autorités provinciales dans leur gestion des ressources naturelles renouvelables extraites des eaux et des terres gérées par Parcs Canada.