3.0 Appropriate Use

Appropriate uses and activities are defined as those which contribute to the public's appreciation and enjoyment of the historic canals, which respect the heritage character of canal resources, and which are compatible with public safety.


3.1
Compatible and appropriate uses of historic canals will be encouraged so that the land and water resources can be enjoyed in all seasons.


3.2
The use and operation of historic canals will be managed in accordance with the Historic Canals Regulations.


3.3
The intensity, type and location of use of historic canals may be limited by notice or regulation to ensure visitor safety, enjoyment and resource protection.


3.4
Regulations necessary for public safety, navigation, and use of cultural and natural resources will be enforced by the appropriate authority.


3.5
Water that is surplus to navigation requirements may be used to meet the needs of recreation, wildlife conservation, power generation, municipalities or other appropriate uses in accordance with the Federal Water Policy.


3.6
Hydro-electric development proposals on lands administered by Parks Canada may be considered when they are consistent with the protection of cultural and natural resources. Such proposals will be subject to the federal environmental assessment and review process, the Dominion Water Power Regulations, as well as to public consultation.


3.7
Leases, licences and permits for use of canal lands or water will specify any limitations to protect cultural resources, environmental quality, public safety, and the enjoyment of other canal users and residents, and will be subject to review under the federal environmental assessment and review process. Commercial operations will be controlled and monitored. Special privileges that would result in unfair competition will not be granted.


3.8
New applications for major works or for any significant change in the type or capacity of service offered by a commercial establishment on lands administered by Parks Canada will be subject to the federal environmental assessment and review process, including public consultation.

3.0 Utilisations appropriées

Les utilisations et les activités sont considérées comme appropriées lorsqu'elles contribuent à l'appréciation et à la jouissance des canaux historiques par le public, qu'elles respectent la valeur patrimoniale des canaux et qu'elles ne nuisent pas à la sécurité du public.


3.1
Les utilisations appropriées et compatibles des canaux historiques sont favorisées de façon à ce que les visiteurs puissent profiter des ressources terrestres et aquatiques en toute saison.


3.2
Les canaux historiques doivent être utilisés et exploités conformément au Règlement sur les canaux historiques.


3.3
Pour protéger les ressources patrimoniales ou assurer la sécurité ou l'agrément des visiteurs, Parcs Canada se réserve le droit de limiter l'intensité, le type et l'aire d'utilisation des canaux historiques.


3.4
La réglementation touchant la sécurité du public, la navigation et l'utilisation des ressources culturelles et naturelles doit être mise en application par les autorités appropriées.


3.5
L'eau excédentaire aux besoins de la navigation peut servir à diverses fins, qu'il s'agisse de loisirs, de conservation de la faune, de production d'électricité, de réponse aux besoins des municipalités ou d'autres usages appropriés conformément à la Politique fédérale relative aux eaux.


3.6
Tout projet hydro-électrique sur des terres gérées par Parcs Canada doit, pour être considéré, respecter les principes de protection des ressources culturelles et naturelles, être soumis au Processus fédéral d'évaluation et d'examen en matière d'environnement et faire l'objet d'une consultation du public.


3.7
Les baux et les permis d'utilisation des terres ou des eaux des canaux comportent toutes les restrictions nécessaires pour assurer la protection des ressources culturelles, la qualité de l'environnement, la sécurité du public et la jouissance des canaux par les résidents et autres usagers. Ils peuvent faire l'objet d'une étude en vertu du Processus fédéral d'évaluation et d'examen en matière d'environnement. Les opérations commerciales sont réglementées et surveillées, et ne peuvent comporter de privilèges conduisant à une concurrence déloyale.


3.8
Toute demande concernant des travaux d'importance ou tout projet qui augmenterait considérablement la capacité ou le genre de services offerts par un établissement commercial sur les terres gérées par Parcs Canada doivent être soumis au Processus fédéral d'évaluation et d'examen en matière d'environnement et à une consultation du public.