2.0 Resource Management

Historic canals provide a range of opportunities for the public to enjoy activities on water and land, and to learn about aspects of Canada's cultural and natural heritage. As with all resources administered by Parks Canada, the cultural and natural resources are managed so as to protect and present the legacy that they represent.

Cultural resources form part of the historical context of the canals and, coupled with natural resources, provide a landscape whose heritage character should be protected, appreciated, enjoyed and understood. Natural landscapes and habitats along the canals complement the cultural resources and contribute to the environmental quality of the canals. Systematic management of the historic canals will provide for the protection, presentation and appropriate use of cultural and natural resources as well as for navigation.

2.1 Planning for Resource Management and Use
2.2 Protecting Cultural Resources
2.3 Protecting Natural Resources
2.4 Presentation


2.1 Planning for Resource Management and Use

2.1.1
Management plans for each historic canal will treat the canal and its cultural and natural resources as an entity and will provide for present and future sustainable uses.

2.1.2
Public consultation is an inherent part of the planning for the management of historic canals, and opportunities will be provided for public contribution to the planning process.

2.1.3
Land acquisition will be made on the basis of approved plans or agreements and will be by mutual agreement with the owner. It is not the intention of Parks Canada to acquire additional lands, except where essential to the proper management of a canal.

2.1.4
Lands identified through a planning process as surplus to canal requirements may be disposed of, subject, where necessary, to the application of reservations such as flooding rights.

2.1.5
Parks Canada will encourage local governments and other agencies to contribute, by means of plans, zoning bylaws and public education, to the protection of the heritage character of corridors formed by the canals and adjacent lands.


2.2 Protecting Cultural Resources

2.2.1
Cultural resources will be protected according to the Cultural Resource Management Policy.

2.2.2
Manually operated devices on locks, bridges and dams will be retained when they form part of the historical character and heritage experience of a canal.

2.2.3
Because of the heritage character of these canals, there may be an element of risk associated with their use. Parks Canada will take reasonable precautions, but will not significantly alter historic fabric or intrude on the heritage character of a canal. Before any physical modification is contemplated, other non-intrusive options will be considered.

2.2.4
Parks Canada has been given stewardship responsibility for the historic canals because of their heritage value. Modification of a cultural resource to meet significant operational or safety purposes will be considered only after thorough review, taking into account the maintenance of this stewardship responsibility. Any proposed modification or action (human or natural) affecting a level I cultural resource (as defined in the Cultural Resource Management Policy) that results in a change to the attributes upon which the level I designation was based will be reviewed in accordance with section 4.0 of the policy on National Historic Sites to ensure that the resource still merits being considered nationally significant.

2.2.5
Parks Canada will encourage others to protect cultural resources on lands not administered by Parks Canada that are adjacent to the canals.


2.3 Protecting Natural Resources

2.3.1
Natural resources will be protected in accordance with Parks Canada policies.

2.3.2
Canals will be operated and maintained in ways that seek an appropriate balance between use and environmental impacts, and comply with the Canadian Water Quality Guidelines.

2.3.3
Parks Canada will encourage others to protect ecologically related natural landscapes and habitats, including wetlands, on lands not administered by Parks Canada that are adjacent to the canals.

2.3.4
Parks Canada will manage dredge and fill activities to ensure that wetland environments, fish habitat and undisturbed shorelines are protected.


2.4 Presentation

2.4.1
Presentation programs will be developed to provide the public with an appreciation of the significant values of individual historic canals, in order to foster enjoyment of their cultural and natural resources and to encourage an understanding of how these canals have contributed to the development of Canada.

2.4.2
All presentation, including visitor activities, relating to cultural and natural resources will be conducted in accordance with Parks Canada policies.

2.4.3
The development and management of appropriate facilities, services and programs for visitor activities on the historic canals will be planned in a market-sensitive manner.

2.4.4
Presentation programs, including visitor activities, will not impair resources and will stress the principle that cultural and natural resource conservation contributes to the public benefit and is a responsibility of the public as well as of Parks Canada.

2.0 Gestion des ressources

Les canaux historiques offrent au public toute une gamme d'activités aquatiques et terrestres qui lui permettent d'approfondir sa connaissance du patrimoine culturel et naturel du Canada. Les ressources associées aux canaux historiques sont gérées par Parcs Canada pour protéger et mettre en valeur cet héritage.

Les ressources culturelles sont étroitement liées à la trame historique des canaux et, en complicité avec les ressources naturelles, définissent un paysage dont le caractère patrimonial devrait être préservé à des fins de compréhension et d'appréciation par le public. Les paysages et les habitats naturels situés le long des canaux sont complémentaires des ressources culturelles et contribuent à rehausser la qualité environnementale des canaux. La gestion des canaux est orientée en fonction des impératifs de protection, de mise en valeur, d'utilisation appropriée des ressources culturelles et naturelles, de même que du maintien de la navigation.

2.1 Planification de la gestion des ressources et leur utilisation
2.2 Protection des ressources culturelles
2.3 Protection des ressources naturelles
2.4 Mise en valeur


2.1 Planification de la gestion des ressources et leur utilisation

2.1.1
Les plans de gestion doivent considérer le canal et ses ressources culturelles et naturelles comme un tout et faire en sorte que ses formes d'utilisation actuelles et futures soient durables.

2.1.2
La consultation du public faisant partie intégrante du processus de planification de la gestion des canaux, il faut donner au public l'occasion de participer à ce processus.

2.1.3
L'acquisition de terrains se fait selon des ententes ou des plans approuvés et avec le consentement des propriétaires. Parcs Canada n'a pas l'intention d'acquérir d'autres terrains, sauf lorsque cela sera essentiel à la bonne gestion d'un canal.

2.1.4
Lorsque des terrains sont déclarés excédentaires à la suite d'études de planification, ces terrains peuvent être cédés en prévoyant, le cas échéant, des réserves, par exemple en ce qui à trait aux droits d'inondation.

2.1.5
Parcs Canada encourage les gouvernements locaux et les autres organismes à tenir compte, dans leurs plans, leurs règlements de zonage et programmes de sensibilisation du public, de la protection de la valeur patrimoniale des corridors formés par les canaux historiques et les terrains riverains.


2.2 Protection des ressources culturelles

2.2.1
Les ressources culturelles des canaux historiques sont protégées conformément à la Politique sur la gestion des ressources culturelles.

2.2.2
Le fonctionnement manuel des écluses, des ponts et des barrages est conservé lorsqu'il fait partie du caractère historique du canal et de sa mise en valeur.

2.2.3
La vétusté de certains canaux peut entraîner des risques pour les usagers. Parcs Canada doit prendre des mesures raisonnables de protection du public, sans modifier de façon importante et sans diminuer les valeurs historique et patrimoniale des canaux. Avant d'envisager la moindre modification à des fins de sécurité, toutes les options raisonnables doivent être examinées.

2.2.4
Parcs Canada est responsable de la gestion des canaux historiques en raison de leur valeur patrimoniale. Une ressource culturelle peut être modifiée pour en accroître la sécurité ou en améliorer le fonctionnement seulement après un examen approfondi qui tienne compte de cette responsabilité. Toute modification ou mesure (naturelle ou artificielle) qui a un effet sur une ressource culturelle de niveau I (voir définition dans la Politique sur la gestion des ressources culturelles) et qui entraîne la dégradation des attributs qui ont justifié la désignation doit faire l'objet d'un examen conformément à l'article 4 de la Politique sur les lieux historiques nationaux. Il est ainsi possible de vérifier si la ressource mérite de conserver son importance nationale.

2.2.5
Parcs Canada encourage d'autres intervenants à protéger les ressources culturelles situées sur des terrains adjacents aux canaux qui ne sont pas gérés par Parcs Canada.


2.3 Protection des ressources naturelles

2.3.1
Les ressources naturelles sont protégées conformément aux politiques de Parcs Canada.

2.3.2
Les canaux doivent être exploités et entretenus de façon à maintenir un sain équilibre entre leurs utilisations et les répercussions sur l'environnement conformément aux Recommandations pour la qualité des eaux au Canada.

2.3.3
Parcs Canada encourage d'autres intervenants à protéger l'équilibre écologique des paysages naturels et des habitats fauniques avoisinants, y compris les terres humides (terres basses, marais ou autres), faisant partie des terres adjacentes aux canaux qui ne sont pas gérées par Parcs Canada.

2.3.4
Parcs Canada dirige les activités de dragage et de remplissage afin d'assurer la protection de l'environnement des terres humides, des habitats marins et des rivages qui n'ont pas subi de transformations.


2.4 Mise en valeur

2.4.1
Des programmes de mise en valeur sont élaborés afin de permettre au public d'apprécier les particularités des différents canaux historiques, de profiter des ressources culturelles et naturelles qui leur sont associées et de faire connaître le rôle qu'ils ont joué dans la croissance du Canada.

2.4.2
Toute forme de mise en valeur liée aux ressources culturelles et naturelles, dont les activités offertes aux visiteurs, doit se faire conformément aux politiques de Parcs Canada.

2.4.3
On doit tenir compte de la tendance du marché lors de la planification des activités offertes aux visiteurs, de l'aménagement et de la gestion d'installations, de services et de programmes appropriés.

2.4.4
La conservation des ressources culturelles et naturelles devant profiter à tous, les programmes de mise en valeur, dont les activités offertes aux visiteurs, ne doivent pas avoir pour conséquence d'endommager ces ressources. La responsabilité de cette conservation incombe autant au public qu'à Parcs Canada.