3.0 Forms of Commemoration

Aspects of Canadian history declared to be of national historic significance will be commemorated. Formal activities relating to commemoration, such as the unveiling of a plaque or monument, or the dedication of a national historic site, will usually be accompanied by a ceremony. Such ceremonies provide an excellent opportunity for Canadians to learn about their history.

3.1 Plaques
3.2 Monuments
3.3 Agreements
3.4 Acquisition
3.5 Other Forms of Commemoration


3.1 Plaques

Aspects of Canadian history declared to be of national historic significance will normally be commemorated by a Ministerial plaque bearing the inscription of the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada. A plaque is not a national historic site, although it may be erected at or on a national historic site. The existence of a Ministerial plaque at a site not administered by Parks Canada does not imply provision for protection or maintenance of the site by Parks Canada.

3.1.1
Plaques will be erected only after it has been determined that the existence and/or location of the plaque will not adversely affect the integrity of the site.

3.1.2
Plaques will be erected at a place on Canadian territory that is closely associated with that which is being commemorated.

3.1.3
The appropriate text for a plaque will be recommended to the Minister by the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada.

3.1.4
The text on all plaques will appear in both official languages and, when recommended by the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada, in other languages.


3.2 Monuments

The Minister may authorize the erection of a monument when, based on the advice of the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada, the Minister considers that the aspect of Canadian history being recognized would most appropriately be commemorated by a monument.

3.2.1
The design of monuments should convey to the public what is being commemorated.

3.2.2
Proposals for the design of monuments will be invited from Canadian artists and sculptors, including those residing within the region where the monument is to be erected.

3.2.3
The monument will be erected or installed at a place closely associated with that which is being commemorated.


3.3 Agreements

The Minister may enter into agreements with others for the marking, care and preservation of historic places, based on recommendations of the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada.

3.3.1
Under the National Cost-Sharing Program, the Minister may enter into an agreement to contribute toward the cost of acquiring, conserving and presenting a site or structure declared to be of national historic significance and, further, may provide professional and technical advice, subject to all of the following:

i) the site or structure will be owned by a province, territory, municipality, or incorporated body;

ii) an agreement to share costs will be recommended by the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada;

iii) the site or structure will be accessible to the public;

iv) the use of the site or structure will not compromise or detract from the significance or integrity of that which is being commemorated; and

v) the agreement between the Minister and the owner of the national historic site will be based on the principles set out in the Cultural Resource Management Policy.


3.4 Acquisition

Each of Canada's national historic sites illustrates an important aspect of Canada's history. Federal ownership is not a requirement - indeed, the majority of Canada's national historic sites are owned by individual citizens, public and private organizations, and other levels of government. It is neither feasible nor desirable for the Government of Canada to own all national historic sites. Nevertheless, the federal government will continue to acquire national historic sites to ensure that the responsibility for this national program does not fall on others alone, so that the heritage represented by these sites is protected and accessible to Canadians in all parts of the country, and to provide leadership and active involvement in heritage conservation and interpretation.

3.4.1
The Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada may recommend to the Minister the acquisition of a national historic site.

3.4.2
Before a Ministerial decision is made, Parks Canada will inform the Minister of the operational, financial and policy implications of acquiring a national historic site to meet commemorative objectives, including development of the site where relevant.

3.4.3
When, in the opinion of the Minister, the acquisition of a national historic site by the Government of Canada is warranted in order to commemorate national historic significance, the Minister will seek Treasury Board approval for the proposed acquisition.

In the case of a national historic site that is already owned by the federal government, but which is not under the Minister's authority, the usual procedure by which the Minister will acquire administration of the site will be by agreement between Ministers.

A national historic site under the Minister's authority may be set aside in accordance with Part II of the National Parks Act so that regulations under that Act may apply to it. Such a setting aside is an administrative rather than a commemorative action, and is treated in the Cultural Resource Management Policy.

3.4.4
National historic sites will be identified for acquisition in accordance with the following criteria:

i) the site will be recognized as a significant commemorative addition to the network of national historic sites under the Minister's authority; and

  • sufficient knowledge of this and related sites will exist to ensure that the integrity of the network of national historic sites will be maintained; and
  • the site will include significant resources related directly to the purpose for which the site is being commemorated, and these resources will possess sufficient integrity to make commemoration meaningful; and
  • the benefits to the public in terms of knowledge and appreciation of Canadian history will be high, i.e., the site and/or its resources will have excellent potential for interpretation and, consequently, for illustrating an important aspect of Canadian history; and
  • the site and/or its resources will be deemed to merit preservation by the federal government for the enjoyment of this and future generations.

ii) a site may be acquired when, in the opinion of the Minister, based on a recommendation of the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada, the site is of such exceptional or outstanding importance in Canadian history as to merit acquisition on grounds of significance alone.

3.4.5
In setting priorities for acquiring national historic sites, consideration will be given to:

  • factors in the systems plan such as historical theme representation; and
  • potential for providing opportunities and encouragement for Canadians and visitors to Canada to better their knowledge of this country and its history by visiting all parts of Canada.

A site that is under threat may have a higher priority for acquisition than one which is not, providing that other criteria and factors are satisfied equally.

3.4.6
A national historic site may be set apart to preserve an object or objects of historic or scientific interest of national importance pursuant to Part II of the National Parks Act at a location that is not itself of national historic significance. When this occurs, the site will be in a locality directly associated with the object or objects or their creator(s).

3.4.7
In response to the advice of the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada, the Minister may recommend to the Governor in Council that a national historic site be commemorated by the establishment of a historic museum. It is policy not to seek the establishment of a historic museum, except when it is considered indispensable to achieving commemorative objectives.

Historic museums, where approved, will be established within, or adjacent to, places that have been declared to be of national historic significance. Structures built or used for interpretation or visitor reception are not "historic museums," unless so designated by the Governor in Council.

3.4.8
National historic sites will be acquired by the Minister in accordance with the following guidelines:

  • residents of the locality and the provincial or territorial government will be consulted; and
  • an impact assessment will be conducted to identify the effects of acquisition (such an assessment will include a consideration of possible threats to the resources posed by acquisition).

The public will be encouraged to become involved in the acquisition and development of the national historic site.


3.5 Other Forms of Commemoration

The Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada may propose alternative forms of commemoration to the Minister, providing the alternative is formal, meaningful, appropriate and enduring.

3.0 Formes de commémoration

Les aspects de l'histoire du Canada reconnus d'importance historique nationale sont commémorés. Certaines activités officielles relatives à la commémoration, telles les inaugurations de plaques, de monuments ou de lieux historiques nationaux, donnent souvent lieu à des cérémonies qui offrent aux Canadiens une excellente occasion de découvrir leur histoire.

3.1 Plaques
3.2 Monuments
3.3 Ententes
3.4 Acquisition
3.5 Autres formes de commémoration


3.1 Plaques

Les aspects de l'histoire du Canada reconnus d'importance historique nationale sont habituellement commémorés par une plaque ministérielle portant l'inscription de la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada. Une plaque ne constitue pas un lieu historique national, même si elle peut être installée dans un lieu historique national. La présence d'une plaque ministérielle dans un lieu historique ne relevant pas de Parcs Canada n'engage pas celui-ci à protéger ou à entretenir ce lieu.

3.1.1
Les plaques sont installées seulement lorsqu'on a jugé que leur présence ou leur emplacement ne nuit pas à l'intégrité du lieu.

3.1.2
Les plaques sont installées sur des sites du territoire canadien qui sont étroitement associés à ce qui est commémoré.

3.1.3
La Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada fait des recommandations au ministre du Patrimoine canadien quant au texte qui doit figurer sur chaque plaque.

3.1.4
Le texte de chacune des plaques doit apparaître dans les deux langues officielles et, sur recommandation de la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada, dans d'autres langues.


3.2 Monuments

Le ministre peut autoriser l'érection d'un monument lorsqu'il juge, d'après l'avis de la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada, que les aspects de l'histoire du Canada que l'on veut reconnaître seraient mieux commémorés par la présence d'un monument.

3.2.1
Le monument doit être conçu de façon à communiquer au public ce qui est commémoré.

3.2.2
Les artistes et sculpteurs canadiens, y compris ceux qui habitent la région où le monument est érigé, sont invités à présenter des projets de monument.

3.2.3
Le monument est érigé ou installé à un endroit étroitement associé à ce qui est commémoré.


3.3 Ententes

À la recommandation de la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada, le ministre peut conclure des ententes avec d'autres parties pour signaler, conserver et entretenir un lieu historique.

3.3.1
Aux termes du Programme national de partage des frais, le ministre peut conclure une entente afin de contribuer aux coûts d'acquisition, de conservation et de mise en valeur d'un lieu, d'un bâtiment ou d'un ouvrage reconnu d'importance historique nationale et peut, en outre, fournir des conseils professionnels et techniques, sous réserve des conditions suivantes :

i) le lieu, le bâtiment ou l'ouvrage doit appartenir à une province, à un territoire, à une municipalité ou à un organisme constitué en société;
ii) la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada doit recommander qu'il y ait entente de partage des frais;
iii) le lieu, le bâtiment ou l'ouvrage doit être accessible au public;
iv) l'utilisation du lieu, du bâtiment ou de l'ouvrage ne doit pas mettre en péril la signification ou l'intégrité de ce qui est commémoré et ni y porter atteinte; et
v) l'entente entre le ministre et le propriétaire du lieu historique national doit reposer sur les principes énoncés dans la Politique sur la gestion des ressources culturelles.


3.4 Acquisition

Chacun des lieux historiques nationaux du Canada illustre un aspect important de l'histoire du pays. Il n'est pas obligatoire, toutefois, que le gouvernement fédéral en soit propriétaire; en fait, la majorité des lieux historiques nationaux du Canada appartiennent à des particuliers, à des organismes publics, à des associations, ou à d'autres paliers de gouvernement. Même s'il n'est ni réaliste ni souhaitable que le gouvernement du Canada soit propriétaire de tous les lieux historiques nationaux, celui-ci continuera de se porter acquéreur de certains lieux pour éviter que le programme national ne devienne la responsabilité unique d'autres parties et assurer que le patrimoine que ces lieux représentent soit protégé et accessible aux Canadiens, et ce dans tout le pays, ainsi que pour faire preuve de leadership et d'engagement au chapitre de la conservation et de l'interprétation du patrimoine.

3.4.1
La Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada peut recommander au ministre l'acquisition d'un lieu historique national.

3.4.2
Parcs Canada doit informer le ministre, avant qu'il ne prenne une décision, des incidences financières, politiques et opérationnelles liées à l'acquisition d'un lieu et à son aménagement, le cas échéant, aux fins de respecter les objectifs de commémoration.

3.4.3
Lorsque le ministre estime que l'acquisition d'un lieu historique national par le gouvernement du Canada s'impose pour commémorer un aspect d'importance historique nationale, il doit obtenir l'approbation du Conseil du Trésor à cet effet.

Lorsqu'un lieu historique national est déjà la propriété du gouvernement fédéral, mais ne relève pas du ministre, l'obtention de son administration se fait habituellement par négociations entre les ministres.

Un lieu historique national relevant du ministre peut être mis à part aux termes de la Partie II de la Loi sur les parcs nationaux et aux fins de l'application des règlements. Ceci constitue une mesure administrative plutôt qu'une forme de commémoration et relève de la Politique sur la gestion des ressources culturelles.

3.4.4
Les lieux historiques nationaux susceptibles d'être acquis sont choisis d'après les critères suivants :

i) Le lieu doit être reconnu comme étant un ajout commémoratif important au réseau des lieux historiques nationaux relevant du ministre; et

  • il faut disposer de données suffisantes sur ce lieu et les lieux connexes pour s'assurer que l'intégrité du réseau des lieux historiques nationaux est préservée; et
  • le lieu doit comprendre des ressources importantes directement reliées au but recherché et ces ressources doivent avoir une intégrité suffisante pour que la commémoration soit justifiée; et
  • les avantages que peut en retirer le public, soit la connaissance et l'appréciation de l'histoire du Canada, doivent être particulièrement remarquables, c'est-à-dire que le lieu ou ses ressources doivent se prêter très bien à l'interprétation et, par conséquent, à l'illustration d'un aspect important de l'histoire du Canada; et
  • le lieu ou ses ressources doit mériter d'être préservé par le gouvernement fédéral pour le bénéfice des générations actuelles et futures.

ii) Une acquisition est envisagée lorsque, de l'avis du ministre, sur la recommandation de la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada, le lieu tient une place telle dans l'histoire du Canada que son importance seule justifie son acquisition.

3.4.5
Au moment d'établir les priorités concernant l'acquisition de lieux historiques nationaux, il faut tenir compte des facteurs suivants :

  • des composantes du plan du réseau à long terme, telle la représentation des thèmes historiques; et
  • de la capacité de fournir aux Canadiens et aux visiteurs la possibilité de mieux connaître le Canada et son histoire en parcourant tous les coins du pays.

On peut accorder une cote de priorité plus élevée à un lieu menacé à condition que les autres critères et facteurs soient également respectés.

3.4.6
Un lieu historique national peut être mis à part pour préserver un ou des objets présentant un intérêt historique ou scientifique d'importance nationale, conformément à la Partie II de la Loi sur les parcs nationaux, à un endroit qui n'est pas lui-même d'importance historique nationale. Dans ce cas, le lieu doit être situé dans une localité ayant un lien direct avec le ou les objets ou leur créateur ou concepteur.

3.4.7
Par suite d'un conseil de la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada, le ministre peut recommander au gouverneur en conseil l'établissement d'un musée historique pour commémorer un lieu historique. Il est d'usage de ne pas chercher à établir un musée historique sauf si cela est jugé essentiel pour la commémoration.

Une fois son établissement approuvé, un musée historique sera aménagé à l'endroit même qui a été déclaré d'importance nationale ou près de celui-ci. Un bâtiment ou un ouvrage construit à des fins d'interprétation ou d'accueil pour les visiteurs n'est pas un musée historique, à moins d'avoir été reconnu à ce titre par le gouverneur en conseil.

3.4.8
Les acquisitions sont effectuées selon les lignes directrices suivantes :

  • les résidents de la localité concernée et le gouvernement de la province ou du territoire doivent être consultés;
  • on doit procéder à une étude d'impact afin de déterminer les répercussions éventuelles de l'acquisition (cette étude doit porter, entre autres, sur les menaces qui pourraient peser sur les ressources suite à l'acquisition).

On encourage le public à participer au processus d'acquisition et d'aménagement du lieu historique national.


3.5 Autres formes de commémoration

La Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada peut proposer au ministre d'autres formes de commémoration pourvu que ces formes soient officielles, appropriées, significatives et à caractère durable.