2.0 Determining National Historic Significance

Only those aspects of Canadian history that have been declared by the Minister to be of national historic significance will be commemorated.

2.1 Scope
2.2 Criteria
2.3 Designation


2.1 Scope

2.1.1
Any aspect of Canada's human history not specifically excluded by policies of the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada may be considered for a Ministerial designation of national historic significance. Living persons and places located outside Canadian territory are among the exclusions.

2.1.2
With the exception of Prime Ministers, who are eligible for commemoration immediately upon death, a minimum of 25 years must normally elapse following the death of an individual, in order to allow the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada to make an informed, impartial recommendation based solely on historical considerations concerning the possible national significance of that person.

2.1.3
The Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada will not recommend that religious and ethnic groups per se be specifically commemorated except where their contributions are represented by sites, individuals, or events of national historic significance.


2.2 Criteria

Designations of national historic significance will be based on the following general criteria:

i) the subject under consideration will have had a nationally significant impact on Canadian history, or will be deemed to represent a nationally important example or illustration of Canadian human history.

  • Uniqueness or rarity are not, in themselves, evidence of national historic significance, but may be used as criteria in connection with i);
  • A representative example may be deemed to warrant a designation of national historic significance because it eminently typifies an important aspect of Canadian history.

ii) a site, structure or object may be designated by virtue of an association with a nationally significant aspect of Canadian history, provided that the association is itself sufficiently important for the site to merit a designation of national historic significance.


2.3 Designation

2.3.1
The Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada will consider proposals for commemoration that have originated with the public and other sources. Public involvement in proposing subjects that might qualify as being of national historic significance will be encouraged.

2.3.2
Recommendations of national historic significance and the forms of commemoration relating thereto will be forwarded to the Minister for consideration. To ensure that the commemorative program is one of high calibre, advice to the Minister will be based on sound research.

2.3.3
Parks Canada will advise the Minister on operational and other implications of approving a Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada recommendation of national historic significance, specifically as it relates to the form of commemoration.

2.3.4
A designation of national historic significance will be made when the Minister approves a recommendation from the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada to that effect.

2.0 Détermination de l'importance historique nationale

Seuls les aspects de l'histoire du Canada que le ministre a déclarés d'importance historique nationale sont commémorés.

2.1 Portée
2.2 Critères
2.3 Désignation


2.1 Portée

2.1.1
Tout aspect de l'histoire humaine du Canada qui n'est pas exclu par une politique précise de la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada peut être désigné par le ministre. Les personnes encore vivantes et les endroits situés à l'extérieur du territoire canadien sont des exemples d'aspects exclus.

2.1.2
Sauf pour les premiers ministres fédéraux qui peuvent être commémorés immédiatement après leur décès, il faut généralement attendre au moins 25 ans après le décès d'une personne pour que la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada puisse faire une recommandation éclairée et impartiale, fondée uniquement sur des considérations historiques, sur la possibilité de reconnaître à cette personne une importance nationale.

2.1.3
La Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada ne recommande pas la commémoration spécifique de groupes religieux ou ethniques, sauf si leur contribution est associée à des endroits, à des personnages ou à des événements d'importance historique nationale.


2.2 Critères

Les désignations sont faites en fonction des critères généraux suivants :

i) Le sujet à l'étude a eu un impact d'importance nationale sur l'histoire du Canada ou constitue un exemple ou une illustration d'importance nationale de l'histoire humaine au Canada;

  • l'unicité ou la rareté ne prouvent pas, en soi, l'importance historique nationale, mais peuvent servir de critères dans le cadre des critères décrits au point (i);
  • un exemple représentatif peut mériter une désignation d'importance historique nationale s'il est éminemment caractéristique d'un aspect significatif de l'histoire du Canada.

ii) Un lieu, un bâtiment, un ouvrage ou un objet peut être désigné en raison de son lien avec un aspect d'importance nationale de l'histoire du Canada pourvu que ce lien soit jugé suffisamment significatif pour que le site mérite une désignation d'importance historique nationale.


2.3 Désignation

2.3.1
La Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada étudie les propositions émanant du public ou d'autres sources. On encourage le public à présenter des propositions de sujets admissibles à la désignation.

2.3.2
Les recommandations de la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada sur l'importance historique nationale et les formes de commémoration sont transmises au ministre pour qu'il les prenne en considération. En vue d'assurer la qualité du programme de commémoration, la Commission fonde ses recommandations sur des recherches approfondies.

2.3.3
Parcs Canada informe le ministre des incidences opérationnelles ou autres effets que pourrait entraîner l'approbation d'une recommandation de la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada et, en particulier, au sujet de la forme de commémoration qui aura été suggérée.

2.3.4
Le statut d'importance historique nationale est reconnu lorsque le ministre a approuvé une recommandation de la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada à cet effet.