1.0 Roles and Responsibilities

1.1 The Role of the Minister
1.2 The Role of the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada
1.3 The Role of Parks Canada


1.1 The Role of the Minister

The Minister of the Environment is responsible for directing the national program of historical commemoration provided for in legislation.

1.1.1
The Minister will respond to public and other requests relating to the commemoration of aspects of Canada's human history.

1.1.2
The Minister will make designations of national historic significance, based on recommendations of the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada.

1.1.3
The Minister will determine the appropriate forms of commemoration for recognizing national historic significance, based on recommendations of the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada, and information provided by the department.

1.1.4
Provinces and territories will be notified when the Minister receives a request for designation affecting that province or territory, and will thus have an opportunity to provide information they consider relevant.

1.1.5
In the case of a national historic site under the authority of another federal minister or agency, the Minister will seek an interdepartmental agreement providing for the protection of the site.

1.1.6
To protect national historic sites that are not owned by the federal government, the Minister will, at the time of designation, encourage the province or territory in which the site is located to apply its own heritage legislation. To the extent permitted by law, the Minister will recognize provincial or territorial heritage designations on lands under his or her authority.

1.1.7
The Minister will, at the time of designation, provide owners of national historic sites with a copy of the Cultural Resource Management Policy, and encourage them to apply the principles and practice described in the Policy. Where operational requirements permit, owners of national historic sites will be provided with professional and technical advice upon request.


1.2 The Role of the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada

The Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada is an independent body that provides the Minister of the Environment with impartial and expert advice on matters relating to historical commemoration, and devises its own policies to carry out its responsibilities. In practice, the Minister will not designate or commemorate without the Board's advice. All parts of the country are represented on the Board, which includes two residents from Ontario, two from Quebec, one from each of the other provinces and territories, as well as the National Archivist of Canada, an official of the Canadian Museum of Civilization and an official of Environment Canada. The Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada meets at least twice a year and submits recommendations to the Minister for approval.

1.2.1
The Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada will advise the Minister on those aspects of Canadian history that it considers worthy of a Ministerial designation of national historic significance, and will provide the Minister with reasons for the proposed designation.

1.2.2
The Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada will advise the Minister on the form of commemoration it considers appropriate to recognize national historic significance, and may advise the Minister on any other matter relating to the commemoration of Canada's history.

1.2.3
When the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada recommends that the Minister acquire a site to commemorate an aspect of Canadian history, the recommendation will be based on historical considerations relating to the national historic significance of the site, or its resources. The Board may advise the Minister on which in situ or extant resources, if any, are considered to have national historic significance.


1.3 The Role of Parks Canada

Parks Canada and its predecessors have been responsible for the national historic sites program since 1914.

1.3.1
Parks Canada will fulfill the Minister of the Environment's responsibility to provide a Secretary and other employees of the department necessary for conducting the business of the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada.

1.3.2
Parks Canada will undertake studies on all aspects of Canada's human history relative to the national program of historical commemoration, and will compile inventories of sites in order to ensure that the commemorative program reflects the rich and varied texture of Canada's past. These studies will be undertaken to assist the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada and the department in identifying, evaluating, selecting and commemorating sites of national historic significance.

1.3.3
Parks Canada will maintain and periodically update a long-range systems plan to identify and address gaps in the commemorative program and to provide a basis for making systematic decisions regarding forms of commemoration.

1.3.4
Parks Canada will provide managerial, policy, planning, research and technical facilities and services to support the effective implementation of the national commemorative program.

1.3.5
Opportunities for public involvement in the national commemorative program contribute to an overall sense of national identity and to a greater appreciation of the public benefits of national historic sites. Parks Canada will provide opportunities for public involvement in the identification, development and operation of national historic sites, and will work with individuals and volunteer groups such as cooperating associations to achieve commemorative objectives.

1.3.6
Parks Canada is committed to ongoing cooperation with those who are involved in the commemoration of Canada's history. It will consult and cooperate with agencies at the federal and other government levels, with non-government organizations and with members of the public to achieve commemorative objectives.

1.3.7
Parks Canada will encourage understanding, appreciation and enjoyment of Canada's history and of Canada's national historic sites by communicating the scope of the national historic sites system and by making the results of research available to the public through departmental, cooperative and private sector publications and other media.

1.3.8
Parks Canada will inform the public about those aspects of Canada's human history that have been designated nationally significant by the Minister, and about the location and significance of national historic sites so that Canadians can become better acquainted with the special places associated with their history. Only in those rare cases where the integrity of a site and its resources would be threatened will information about the location be withheld.

1.3.9
Parks Canada will review existing federal legislation for purposes of enhancing the statutory protection of national historic sites under federal jurisdiction.

1.3.10
Parks Canada will protect and present national historic sites under its administration in accordance with the Cultural Resource Management Policy.

1.3.11
Parks Canada will monitor the condition of national historic sites.

1.0 Rôles et responsabilités

1.1 Rôle du ministre
1.2 Rôle de la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada
1.3 Rôle de Parcs Canada


1.1 Rôle du ministre

Le ministre de l'Environnement est responsable de la mise en œuvre du programme national de commémoration historique tel que stipulé dans la loi.

1.1.1
Le ministre tient compte des demandes de commémoration de certains aspects de l'histoire humaine du Canada présentées par le public ou d'autres sources.

1.1.2
Le ministre procède aux désignations d'importance historique nationale à la suite des recommandations de la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada.

1.1.3
Le ministre détermine les formes que prend la commémoration à partir des recommandations de la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada et de l'information fournie par le Ministère.

1.1.4
Lorsque le ministre reçoit une demande de désignation touchant une province ou un territoire, il en informe la province ou le territoire visé afin de lui permettre de fournir des renseignements pertinents.

1.1.5
Lorsqu'un lieu relevant d'un autre ministère ou organisme fédéral est désigné, le ministre demande une entente interministérielle pour assurer la protection du lieu.

1.1.6
Pour protéger un lieu historique national qui ne relève pas du gouvernement fédéral, le ministre, au moment de la désignation, encourage la province ou le territoire concerné à appliquer ses propres lois en matière de patrimoine. Le ministre reconnaît, dans les limites fixées par la loi, les désignations provinciales ou territoriales de lieux ou de ressources situés sur des terres qui relèvent de sa compétence.

1.1.7
Au moment de la désignation, le ministre fournit aux propriétaires de lieux historiques nationaux une copie de la Politique sur la gestion des ressources culturelles et les encourage à appliquer les principes et la pratique qui y sont exposés. Les propriétaires de lieux historiques nationaux obtiennent sur demande des conseils d'ordre professionnel et technique si les exigences d'ordre opérationnel le permettent.


1.2 Rôle de la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada

La Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada est un organisme indépendant qui conseille le ministre de l'Environnement de façon impartiale et experte sur les questions relatives à la commémoration historique. Elle élabore elle-même les politiques qu'elle applique dans l'exercice de ses responsabilités. En pratique, le ministre ne procède à aucune désignation et à aucune commémoration sans l'avis de la Commission. Les membres de la Commission représentent toutes les régions du pays : deux proviennent de l'Ontario, deux du Québec, un de chaque territoire et de chacune des huit autres provinces. La Commission compte également l'Archiviste national du Canada, un représentant du Musée canadien des civilisations et un représentant d'Environnement Canada. La Commission se réunit au moins deux fois par année et soumet ses recommandations à l'approbation du ministre.

1.2.1
La Commission conseille le ministre sur les aspects de l'histoire du Canada qui, à son avis, méritent d'être désignés d'importance historique nationale, et communique au ministre les raisons de sa recommandation.

1.2.2
La Commission conseille le ministre sur la forme de commémoration qu'elle considère la plus appropriée et sur toute question relative à la commémoration de l'histoire du Canada.

1.2.3
Lorsque la Commission recommande que le ministre se porte acquéreur d'un lieu dans le but de commémorer un aspect de l'histoire du Canada, sa recommandation doit se fonder sur des considérations liées à l'importance historique nationale du lieu ou des ressources qui s'y trouvent. Si c'est le lieu qui est d'importance historique nationale, la Commission peut donner au ministre son avis sur les ressources présentes qu'elle juge d'importance historique nationale.


1.3 Rôle de Parcs Canada

Parcs Canada et ses prédécesseurs sont devenus l'organisme fédéral responsable du programme des lieux historiques nationaux en 1914.

1.3.1
Parcs Canada remplit l'engagement du ministre de l'Environnement de fournir un secrétaire et tout autre employé du Ministère nécessaire au fonctionnement de la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada.

1.3.2
Parcs Canada entreprend des études sur tous les aspects de l'histoire humaine au Canada reliés au programme de commémoration et fait l'inventaire des lieux pour s'assurer que le programme de commémoration reflète la richesse et la diversité de la trame historique canadienne. Ces études ont pour objectif d'aider la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada et le Ministère à identifier, évaluer, sélectionner et commémorer des lieux d'importance historique nationale.

1.3.3
Parcs Canada maintient un plan du réseau à long terme et le met à jour périodiquement de façon à déceler et à combler les lacunes dans le programme de commémoration et à prendre des décisions rationnelles concernant les formes de commémoration.

1.3.4
Parcs Canada fournit aide et services en matière de gestion, de politique, de planification, de recherche et de technologie de façon à appuyer efficacement l'application du programme national de commémoration.

1.3.5
La participation du public au programme national de commémoration favorise l'émergence d'un sentiment collectif d'identité canadienne et une meilleure appréciation des avantages liés à l'existence des lieux historiques nationaux. Parcs Canada entend encourager cette participation relativement à l'identification, à l'aménagement et à l'exploitation des lieux historiques nationaux et travaille avec des particuliers et des groupes bénévoles, comme les associations coopérantes, pour atteindre les objectifs de commémoration.

1.3.6
Parcs Canada entend collaborer en permanence avec ceux qui s'occupent de la commémoration de l'histoire, consulter les organismes fédéraux, les autres paliers de gouvernement, les organisations non gouvernementales et le public en vue de réaliser les objectifs de commémoration.

1.3.7
Parcs Canada vise à favoriser la compréhension et l'appréciation de l'histoire du Canada et des lieux historiques nationaux en précisant l'envergure du réseau des lieux historiques nationaux et en diffusant au public les résultats des recherches au moyen de publications produites par le ministère, en coédition, par le secteur privé ou par d'autres médias.

1.3.8
Parcs Canada renseigne le public sur les aspects de l'histoire humaine du Canada dont le ministre a reconnu l'importance historique nationale et l'informe de l'emplacement et de la signification des lieux historiques nationaux afin de permettre aux Canadiens de mieux connaître les lieux qui sont associés à l'histoire de leur pays. Il s'abstient de donner des précisions sur un emplacement dans les rares cas où des lieux ou des ressources sont menacés.

1.3.9
Parcs Canada examine la législation fédérale actuelle en vue d'accroître la protection statutaire des lieux historiques nationaux de compétence fédérale.

1.3.10
Parcs Canada assure la protection et la mise en valeur des lieux historiques nationaux dont il a la responsabilité, conformément à la Politique sur la gestion des ressources culturelles.

1.3.11
Parcs Canada exerce une surveillance sur l'état des lieux historiques nationaux.