Background

As places that exemplify thousands of years of human history and hundreds of years of nation building, Canada's national historic sites are part of the inheritance of all Canadians. Extending from the northwest corner of the Yukon to the eastern tip of Newfoundland, these historic places reflect a diversity of cultures, geographical settings and time periods as vast as Canada itself, symbolizing its national identity and human environmental heritage.

National historic sites evoke many of the great themes of human history, in circumstances that represent the commonplace as well as the unique. They remind Canadians and visitors to Canada that our past is rich and varied, encompassing places as diverse as Port au Choix in Newfoundland, a 4000-year-old Aboriginal site depicting the Maritime Archaic culture; the Lachine Canal, in Montréal, one of the most important places associated with Canada's industrial and transportation history; York Factory, in Manitoba, once the headquarters of a fur trade empire that covered western and northern Canada, and Kitwanga Fort site in British Columbia, part of a significant intertribal trading network. At the same time, national historic sites reflect the enormous impact that the biophysical environment - our natural heritage - has had on the landscape of Canadian history. As places where we commemorate our history and our diverse but common heritage, national historic sites play a significant role in the public education of all Canadians.

The term "national historic site" embraces the entire spectrum of nationally significant historic places, ranging in size from the gravesites of the Fathers of Confederation to extensive cultural landscapes in urban, rural and wilderness settings. These places may contain surface and subsurface remains, individual buildings or complexes of buildings and other works, artifacts, natural features and combinations thereof. Where individual national historic sites do not constitute cultural landscapes in their own right, they form part of a larger cultural landscape. Recognition of this enhances our appreciation of the value of these historic places and their associated environments.

The impulse to commemorate significant aspects of the past is one that Canadians share with others around the world. Most nations have formal or informal programs of this nature, and over 100 countries, including Canada, adhere to the United Nations' World Heritage Convention. The Convention has as its objective the identification, protection, conservation and presentation of cultural and natural heritage places of outstanding universal value. A number of Canada's national historic sites have been recognized by the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) as World Heritage Sites, including L'Anse aux Meadows in Newfoundland, the only authenticated site of the Viking presence in the New World, and Ninstints Village in British Columbia, with its unsurpassed collection of Haida totem and mortuary poles. Another Canadian World Heritage Site, the Historic District of the city of Québec, contains several national historic sites that were instrumental in its World Heritage designation, chief among them being the walls of the old city.

At the federal level, responsibility for designating the nation's historic places rests with the Minister of the Environment, who acts on the advice of the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada. The Board also advises the Minister on the commemoration of persons, events and other historical phenomena.

Early governmental activities in Canada relating to the commemoration of historic places tended to focus on marking and preserving battle and fortification sites because of their importance - real and symbolic - as landmarks in Canada's national evolution. Local initiative was often instrumental in the commemoration of these places. The importance of local interest in the conservation of national heritage has long been a feature of the national historic sites program, as has been the recognition that our national history is to be found in all parts of the country.

It was not until the second decade of the 20th century that the first national program for preserving sites of historical interest was established within the Dominion Parks Branch of the former Department of the Interior. Largely the work of an early commissioner of the Branch, this program represented a blending of the cultural heritage and natural conservation movements of the time, and began the long organizational association between national historic sites and national parks that has continued to the present. With the formation of the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada in 1919, provision was made for outside experts to advise the Minister on the commemoration of nationally significant aspects of Canadian history.

Three pieces of federal legislation have been instrumental in the development of the historic sites program: the Dominion Forest Reserves and Parks Act of 1911; Part II of the National Parks Act (1930), which makes provision for the setting aside of federal lands to commemorate an event of national importance, or to preserve a historic landmark or "any object of historic, prehistoric, or scientific interest of national importance;" and the Historic Sites and Monuments Act (1952-53), which describes the powers of the Minister with respect to the commemoration of historic places and outlines the role of the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada.

The federal government plays an essential role in historical commemoration, specifically at the national level, but many others are actively involved. Private citizens, historical societies, heritage groups, professional bodies and others play a major part in identifying and conserving heritage, and in lobbying governments at all levels to devise, implement or expand legislation and programs. In fact, most of the proposals for commemoration considered by the Minister are submitted by the public.

Provincial and territorial governments also play a significant role, not only through the programs they sponsor and the historic sites they operate, but also because provincial jurisdiction over private property enables the provinces to pass and enforce legislation extending legal protection to designated properties or sites not owned by governments or subject to federal regulation. Federal - provincial - territorial cooperation is facilitated by formal mechanisms, as well as by ongoing contact at the agency level.

National historic sites represent a true national partnership in the preservation of Canada's heritage. The Minister of the Environment is responsible for designating these sites and for directly managing a number of them, while many others are owned by other levels of government, corporations and individuals. This partnership, which is often informal rather than formal, is symbolized by the term "Family of National Historic Sites." The family includes sites that are operated as heritage institutions, as well as those that continue to serve traditional commercial, administrative, industrial and spiritual purposes, touching the everyday lives of people across Canada in national historic sites such as the Historic District of Lunenburg, Christ Church Cathedral in Fredericton, the Chateau Frontenac in the city of Québec, Union Station in Toronto, Stirling, in Alberta, Igloolik Island in the Northwest Territories, or Stanley Park in Vancouver. To a degree unforeseen even ten years ago, historic sites are increasingly viewed as an integral part of the human environment, rather than as enclaves where the past is separated from the present.

While Canadians can take pride in their national historic sites, there is no room for complacency. Each year significant places associated with our history are destroyed, either by natural causes or through human action or inaction. Many sites of great value remain to be commemorated, and many await the resources necessary to properly protect and effectively present them. Our historic sites represent a legacy that, once lost, can never be replaced.

The Government of Canada is aware that a strong and secure sense of the past is an indispensable source of confidence in the future, particularly for a country that is outward-looking by choice and independent by conviction. National historic sites provide tangible and irreplaceable links to what defines us as a nation and a people, and along with other national institutions and symbols, especially those of historic value, are integral to "our sense of country." The federal government is dedicated to assuring that the existing system of national historic sites remains strong and, equally important, that new sites are added to ensure that the full range of Canada's human history is adequately represented within the national commemorative program.

The designation and stewardship of national historic sites reflect the values of those who have been given responsibility for the commemoration of our heritage. The need to identify and to preserve non-renewable heritage resources has never been more urgent or important. Future generations will judge the content and quality of our stewardship.

This policy sets out objectives, describes means to achieve them, and provides guidelines for evaluating the program using such concepts as commemorative integrity.

État de la question

Témoins de millénaires d'histoire humaine et de plusieurs siècles d'efforts pour façonner un pays, les lieux historiques nationaux appartiennent au patrimoine de tous les Canadiens. De l'extrémité nord-ouest du Yukon jusqu'à la pointe est de Terre-Neuve, ces lieux sont le reflet d'une mosaïque de cultures, de paysages et d'époques qui n'a d'égale que l'immensité même du Canada. Ils sont le symbole de son identité nationale et de son patrimoine environnemental et humain.

Nos lieux historiques nationaux illustrent nombre de grands thèmes de l'histoire de l'humanité au travers d'épisodes où la banalité côtoie l'exceptionnel. Des endroits tels que Port au Choix à Terre-Neuve, remarquable site témoin des civilisations de l'archaïque maritime, le canal de Lachine au Québec, jalon majeur du développement industriel et de l'histoire des transports au Canada, York Factory au Manitoba, coeur du trafic des pelleteries dans l'ouest et le nord du pays, et le fort Kitwanga en Colombie- Britannique, partie intégrante d'un réseau de commerce complexe entre les tribus, pour n'en citer que quelques-uns, rappellent aux Canadiens et aux visiteurs toute la richesse et la diversité de notre passé. Nos lieux historiques nationaux reflètent également l'impact considérable qu'a exercé l'environnement biophysique - notre patrimoine naturel - sur le paysage historique canadien. En leur qualité d'endroits où l'on commémore notre histoire et les aspects tant divers que communs de notre patrimoine, nos lieux historiques nationaux contribuent de façon significative à l'éducation de tous les Canadiens.

L'expression lieu historique national s'applique à toute la gamme d'endroits d'importance historique nationale, dont l'ampleur s'étend des lieux d'enterrement des Pères de la Confédération à de vastes paysages culturels dans des cadres urbains, ruraux et sauvages. Ces endroits peuvent comprendre des vestiges à la surface et sous la croûte terrestre, des bâtiments distincts ou des ensembles de bâtiments, et d'autres ouvrages, artefacts et particularités naturelles, ainsi que toutes autres combinaisons des éléments sus-mentionnés. Les lieux historiques nationaux font partie d'un paysage culturel global même si, individuellement, certains n'ont pas cette prétention. Reconnaître ce fait, c'est apprécier davantage ces endroits historiques et leur environnement immédiat.

L'élan qui pousse les Canadiens à commémorer les aspects les plus marquants de leur histoire est commun à une tendance qui s'observe dans le monde entier. En effet, la plupart des pays ont créé des programmes de commémoration et plus d'une centaine de pays, dont le Canada, adhèrent à la Convention du patrimoine mondial des Nations Unies. L'un des objectifs de la Convention concerne justement l'identification, la protection, la conservation et la mise en valeur de lieux dont le caractère culturel ou naturel présente une valeur universelle exceptionnelle. Certains lieux historiques nationaux du Canada ont été désignés sites du patrimoine mondial par l'Organisation des Nations Unies pour l'éducation, les sciences et la culture (UNESCO), dont l'Anse aux Meadows, à Terre-Neuve, seul lieu officiel confirmant la présence des Vikings dans le Nouveau Monde, et Ninstints, en Colombie-Britannique, site d'un remarquable legs culturel des Haïdas. Un autre site du patrimoine mondial, l'arrondissement historique de la ville de Québec, abrite plusieurs lieux historiques nationaux, dont les Fortifications, qui ont valu à la ville sa désignation.

Au niveau fédéral, il revient au ministre de l'Environnement de désigner les lieux historiques nationaux de notre pays sur recommandation de la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada. La Commission conseille aussi le ministre quant au choix des personnes, des événements et des autres phénomènes historiques à commémorer.

Les premières initiatives gouvernementales canadiennes en matière de commémoration consistèrent surtout à signaler et à préserver des lieux de batailles et des ouvrages militaires en raison de leur importance réelle ou symbolique comme jalons de l'évolution du Canada. Ces endroits furent souvent commémorés à la demande des collectivités locales. L'intérêt manifesté par ces collectivités est une caractéristique du programme des lieux historiques nationaux depuis fort longtemps, tout comme d'ailleurs le fait de reconnaître que notre histoire s'est déroulée partout au pays.

Ce n'est qu'au cours de la deuxième décennie du XXe siècle que le premier programme de préservation de lieux historiques fut créé au sein de la Direction des parcs fédéraux du défunt ministère de l'Intérieur.Oeuvre d'un de ses premiers directeurs, cette direction vit le jour à partir des mouvements de préservation du patrimoine culturel et de conservation de la nature, en vogue à l'époque, et marqua le point de départ d'une association entre les lieux historiques nationaux et les parcs nationaux qui s'est maintenue jusqu'à ce jour. Avec la création de la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada, en 1919, il devenait possible à des experts de l'extérieur du gouvernement de conseiller le ministre sur la commémoration d'aspects de l'histoire du Canada jugés d'importance nationale.

Trois lois fédérales ont contribué à la mise sur pied du programme des lieux historiques : la Loi des réserves forestières et des parcs fédéraux de 1911; la Loi sur les parcs nationaux (1930), dont la Partie II prévoit la mise à part de terres fédérales pour commémorer un événement historique d'importance nationale ou pour conserver un lieu historique ou tout objet d'intérêt historique, préhistorique ou scientifique d'importance nationale; et la Loi sur les lieux et monuments historiques (1952-1953), qui définit les pouvoirs du ministre en ce qui concerne la commémoration des lieux historiques ainsi que le rôle de la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada.

Bien que le gouvernement fédéral joue un rôle essentiel dans le domaine de la commémoration historique, en particulier au niveau national, de nombreuses autres entités y sont aussi actives. Simples citoyens, sociétés historiques, groupes de défense du patrimoine, associations professionnelles et autres ont su se rendre indispensables en contribuant à l'identification et à la protection de notre patrimoine, et en faisant pression sur les administrations publiques, à tous les niveaux, pour que soient conçus et mis en oeuvre des lois et des programmes efficaces. En fait, la plupart des propositions de commémoration étudiées par le ministre émanent du public.

Les gouvernements des provinces et des territoires ont également un rôle important à jouer, non seulement en raison des programmes qu'ils parrainent et des lieux historiques dont ils assurent le fonctionnement, mais du fait de la juridiction exercée par les provinces et territoires sur la propriété privée. Ils peuvent en effet adopter et appliquer des lois qui étendent la protection juridique à des propriétés ou à des lieux désignés du domaine privé, ou qui ne sont pas assujettis à la législation fédérale. L'existence de mécanismes officiels ainsi que les contacts habituels entre les divers organismes facilitent la collaboration fédérale, provinciale et territoriale.

Les lieux historiques nationaux constituent véritablement un partenariat dans la préservation du patrimoine national. Bien qu'il incombe au ministre de l'Environnement de désigner les lieux et d'en gérer certains, la majorité appartiennent à d'autres paliers de gouvernement, à des entreprises ou à des particuliers. Ces partenariats, généralement officieux, sont symbolisés par l'expression Famille des lieux historiques nationaux. Cette famille comprend des lieux qui sont exploités à titre d'établissements du patrimoine et d'autres qui servent toujours à des fins commerciales, administratives, industrielles et spirituelles. Tous les jours, des millions de personnes y travaillent, y prient, y habitent ou encore traversent ces endroits ou les visitent. Citons comme exemples l'arrondissement historique de Lunenburg, la cathédrale Christ Church à Frédéricton, le Château Frontenac à Québec, la gare Union à Toronto, Stirling en Alberta, l'île Igloolik dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest et le parc Stanley à Vancouver. Il y a dix ans, il aurait été impossible de prévoir que les lieux historiques deviendraient une partie intégrale de notre cadre de vie et cesseraient d'être des enclaves où le passé et le présent sont dissociés.

Bien que les Canadiens puissent être légitimement fiers de leurs lieux historiques nationaux, la complaisance n'est pas de mise. Chaque année, des lieux chargés d'histoire sont détruits, soit de cause naturelle, soit du fait de l'action ou de l'inaction humaine. Nombre de lieux d'une grande valeur historique restent à commémorer et plusieurs sites attendent que soient débloqués les fonds qui permettront de les protéger convenablement et de les mettre en valeur efficacement. Nos lieux historiques constituent un legs irremplaçable qu'on ne peut laisser perdre.

Le gouvernement du Canada est conscient qu'un indéfectible sens du passé constitue un gage de confiance dans l'avenir, surtout pour un pays qui s'est tourné vers l'extérieur par choix et qui reste indépendant par conviction. Les lieux historiques nationaux constituent des liens tangibles et irremplaçables avec ce qui nous définit comme pays et comme peuple. Conjointement avec les autres institutions et symboles nationaux, plus particulièrement ceux qui ont une importance historique, ils sont essentiels à notre sentiment d'appartenance au pays. C'est pourquoi le gouvernement fédéral a à coeur de maintenir la vigueur du réseau existant de lieux historiques nationaux et, également, d'ajouter de nouveaux lieux afin de faire en sorte que tous les aspects de l'histoire humaine au Canada soient représentés adéquatement dans le programme national de commémoration.

La désignation et l'administration des lieux historiques nationaux témoignent des valeurs des personnes chargées de la commémoration du patrimoine. Il n'a jamais été aussi urgent et important d'identifier et de préserver les ressources non renouvelables de notre patrimoine; les générations montantes jugeront le contenu et la qualité de notre administration.

La présente politique énonce les objectifs visés, décrit divers moyens pour les atteindre et fournit des directives pour évaluer le programme à l'aide de notions comme l'intégrité commémorative.