Background

Canada's rivers are keys to the understanding of our country's natural and human history. Virtually all of the nation's freshwater eventually flows through rivers into five different salt water bodies: the Atlantic, Pacific and Arctic Oceans, Hudson Bay, and into the Gulf of Mexico. Modern industrial development has irreversibly changed many rivers through the construction of dams for hydro-electricity and irrigation, and through the disposal of waste into them. There is relentless pressure on Canada's important rivers from industry, agriculture and urbanization.

To help identify, conserve and encourage public use of important rivers, the Canadian Heritage Rivers System (CHRS) was set up as a cooperative program by the federal, provincial and territorial governments. The System is overseen by a Board comprised of representatives appointed by each participating government. Parks Canada and the Department of Indian Affairs and Northern Development represent the federal government on this Board.

This policy outlines how Parks Canada will implement its responsibilities for the coordination of the CHRS as well as its own participation in nominating, designating and managing rivers under the Minister's authority.

All agencies participating in the Canadian Heritage Rivers System, including Parks Canada, adhere to the agreed objectives and policies which are described in the document, The Canadian Heritage Rivers System: Objectives, Principles and Procedures. The System's objectives are to give national recognition to the important rivers of Canada and to ensure their future management in such a way that the natural and human heritage which they represent is conserved and interpreted, and the opportunities they possess for recreation and heritage appreciation are realized by residents of and visitors to Canada.

État de la question

Les cours d'eau du Canada ont joué un rôle prépondérant dans la compréhension de l'histoire naturelle et humaine du pays. D'ailleurs tout le réseau hydrographique canadien d'eaux douces se déverse dans au moins un des cinq grands bassins d'eau salée : les océans Atlantique, Pacifique et Arctique, la baie d'Hudson, et même le golfe du Mexique. Le développement industriel a modifié de façon irréversible le caractère de plusieurs cours d'eau, notamment par la construction de barrages hydro-électriques et d'ouvrages d'irrigation, et sans compter les déversements des déchets. D'importantes rivières du Canada subissent sans relâche des pressions de la part des industries, de l'agriculture et de l'urbanisation.

Dans le but de favoriser l'identification et la conservation et encourager le public à utiliser nos cours d'eau, un programme coopératif intitulé Réseau des rivières du patrimoine canadien (RRPC) a été mis sur pied par les gouvernements fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux. Une commission, formée d'un représentant de chacun des gouvernements participants et nommé par lui, veille aux intérêts de ce réseau. Le gouvernement fédéral, pour sa part, est représenté par deux membres, l'un de Parcs Canada et l'autre du ministère des Affaires indiennes et du Nord.

Cette politique définit les responsabilités de coordination de Parcs Canada au RRPC ainsi que sa participation à la nomination, désignation et gestion des rivières sous la gouverne du ministre.

Tous les organismes membres du Réseau des rivières du patrimoine canadien, y compris Parcs Canada, ont souscrit aux objectifs et politiques décrits dans le document intitulé Le Réseau des rivières du patrimoine canadien : objectifs, principes et modalités de fonctionnement. Les objectifs du réseau sont de mettre en évidence, au niveau national, les rivières importantes du Canada et assurer leur gestion future de façon à ce que le patrimoine naturel et culturel qu'elles représentent soit sauvegardé et mis en valeur et que les Canadiens et les visiteurs puissent en apprécier la valeur patrimoniale et récréative.