4.0 Public Understanding, Appreciation, and Enjoyment of National Marine Conservation Areas

Parks Canada has an important leadership role in marine environmental education. Its interpretation and public education programs are intended to promote the development of an environmental consciousness in all Canadians and a willingness to take personal and collective action to better protect and maintain the marine environment.

Through interpretation programs, Parks Canada challenges visitors to develop a better understanding and appreciation of the area's marine heritage and the issues affecting it and the surrounding region. Through public education programs, and in cooperation with others, Parks Canada hopes to foster a stronger environmental ethic among all Canadians and to broaden support for marine conservation, including the establishment of marine conservation areas and other marine protected areas. These programs will also promote the wise use and stewardship of marine resources by local people and visitors.

Only recreational activities that are compatible with the long-term protection of the marine conservation area and that allow visitors to enjoy the marine environment for what it is and on its own terms will be encouraged. Visitors will be encouraged to develop the knowledge, skills and camaraderie required to visit marine conservation areas safely with minimal disturbance to the environment and to develop an appreciation and respect for local traditions and ways of life.

In responding to visitor needs for services, facilities and access to marine conservation areas, Parks Canada must act with care and imagination. Their provision will depend on the sensitivity of a particular environment to human impact. Marine conservation areas offer rare and outstanding opportunities to experience and learn about Canada's marine heritage. They cannot, however, accommodate every kind of service and facility requested by the public. The difficulties of access and movement within marine areas make it essential that services and facilities be designed to allow for safe contact with the water.


4.1 Management of Visitor Activities

4.1.1
The Visitor Activity Management Process will be used to match visitor interests with specific educational and outdoor recreation opportunities determined for each marine conservation area through the management plan.

4.1.2
Parks Canada will encourage those outdoor recreational uses of a marine conservation area that broaden visitor understanding and appreciation of the natural environment, and that cause minimal disturbance to the environment, wildlife and local life styles.

4.1.3
In providing opportunities for outdoor recreation, Parks Canada will take into account the different needs of visitors depending on their age, physical capabilities and levels of skill and knowledge to function safely in the marine environment.

4.1.4
Parks Canada will encourage the private sector and non-governmental organizations to provide skills and knowledge development programs to increase visitor understanding and enjoyment of the marine conservation areas.

4.1.5
As new or modified forms of outdoor recreation emerge, each will be assessed for its appropriateness nationally before consideration in the management planning process. Individual management plans will then specify the types and ranges of both new and existing appropriate outdoor recreation activities and their supporting facilities. Parks Canada will also review its national directives periodically to ensure that new forms of outdoor recreation are adequately considered.

4.1.6
An integrated visitor activities data base will be developed and kept up to date for each national marine conservation area to provide, along with research, monitoring and evaluation, the visitor information required for management decisions and state of the parks reporting to Parliament. The information gained will be used to add to or improve existing opportunities, and in the development and review of management plans, service plans, and visitor risk management programs. Both activity data and infrastructure and environment data will be incorporated into risk assessments. Risk control measures will consider the experience needs of the visitor and promote visitor self-reliance accordingly.

4.1.7
Parks Canada will use a variety of direct and indirect strategies for managing public use. Examples of direct strategies include zoning, rationing use intensity, restricting activities, and law enforcement. Examples of indirect strategies include facility design, information dispersal, and cost-recovery mechanisms.

4.1.8
Provisions for public understanding, appreciation and enjoyment of the cultural resources located in national marine conservation areas, and associated activities, services and facilities, will be made in accordance with the Cultural Resource Management Policy.


4.2 Interpretation and Public Education

4.2.1
Parks Canada will cooperate with others in developing marine conservation area interpretation and public education programs that will provide visitors and all Canadians with accurate information of the area's marine ecosystems, key environmental issues and the various programs that have been implemented for the protection and wise use of these ecosystems.

4.2.2
Visitors will be informed of activities permitted in the conservation area, and the services and facilities available to them in the area and surrounding region. In particular, visitors will be made aware of the dependence of local people on the area's marine resources, and will be asked to respect their values and traditions during their visit.

4.2.3
Various marine conservation interpretation programs will be made available to visitors, including those with disabilities, in a manner which causes little or no disturbance to the natural environment.

4.2.4
Parks Canada will cooperate with schools, universities and other learning institutions in developing public education programs, and to encourage the use of marine conservation areas as centres for environmental education and research.


4.3 Visitor Services and Facilities

4.3.1
Parks Canada will only provide facilities and services in marine conservation areas that are deemed essential for interpretation, public education and recreational activities in the approved management plan.

4.3.2
In developing facilities within a marine conservation area, impacts on the area's resources and established uses such as fishing will be minimized, and due attention will be given to visitor risk management.

4.3.3
The establishment of artificial reefs to attract marine organisms for display purposes, the intentional sinking of vessels or other man-made objects for recreational diving, and similar facilities will not be permitted in marine conservation areas.

4.3.4
Parks Canada will encourage visitors to become familiar with the skills, knowledge and equipment they should have in order to safely undertake outdoor activities in the marine conservation area.

4.3.5
Parks Canada will coordinate accident prevention and search and rescue services in and around marine conservation areas with the Canadian Coast Guard and other agencies involved in public safety.

4.3.6
Parks Canada will work with the tourism sector to fulfill public needs for a broad range of services and facilities adjacent to the marine conservation areas, and will locate its own administrative facilities accordingly.

4.3.7
Private and voluntary organizations, such as cooperating associations, will be encouraged to plan, develop and operate essential visitor services and facilities within a marine conservation area.


4.4 Tenure

4.4.1
No lands or foreshore areas within a marine conservation area will be made available for private cottages, camps, seasonal camping areas, or for any exclusive recreational use by individuals or organizations. In areas where settlement has already occupied shorelines in locations contemplated for a national marine conservation area, the boundary may include such shorelines since they are often important biological areas. In such cases, a shoreline zoning classification system will be developed to regulate nearshore developments.

4.4.2
Limited tenure may be granted on marine conservation area lands and waters in the form of permits, leases, or licences of occupation for the provision of essential services and facilities for visitors.

4.4.3
Upon the expiry of a lease, licence, or permit of occupation (when not already provided in an existing agreement), a replacement instrument may be negotiated if the purpose is supported by the conservation area management plan; if the holder has complied with the terms and conditions of the expiring agreement; and if the granting of a replacement agreement is consistent with federal government policy on fair access.

4.0 Connaissance, appréciation et jouissance des aires marines nationales de conservation par le public

Parcs Canada joue un rôle de premier plan dans l'éducation en matière d'environnement marin. Ses programmes d'interprétation et d'éducation du public visent à sensibiliser les Canadiens à l'importance de protéger l'environnement et à les amener à prendre des mesures individuelles et collectives en vue de mieux protéger et conserver l'environnement marin.

Par ses programmes d'interprétation des aires marines de conservation, Parcs Canada invite les visiteurs à mieux connaître et apprécier le patrimoine marin de l'aire et à mieux comprendre les problèmes qui l'affectent tout comme la région avoisinante. Par ses programmes d'éducation du public, et en collaboration avec d'autres organismes, il espère favoriser une meilleure éthique environnementale chez les Canadiens et trouver plus d'appuis pour la conservation marine, y compris pour la création d'aires marines de conservation et d'autres aires marines protégées. Ces programmes ont également pour but de favoriser l'utilisation et la gestion intelligentes des ressources marines par la population locale et par les visiteurs.

Seules les activités de loisirs qui sont compatibles avec la protection à long terme des aires marines de conservation et qui permettent aux visiteurs de profiter de l'environnement marin comme tel sont encouragées. Les visiteurs sont invités à approfondir leurs connaissances ainsi qu'à acquérir les compétences et l'esprit de camaraderie nécessaires pour visiter les aires marines de conservation en toute sécurité, de manière à perturber le moins possible l'environnement, et à apprendre à apprécier et à respecter les traditions et les valeurs locales.

Parcs Canada apporte soins et imagination pour satisfaire les besoins des visiteurs en matière de services, d'installations et d'accès aux aires marines de conservation. La satisfaction de ces besoins dépend de la vulnérabilité de chaque environnement aux activités humaines. Les aires marines de conservation offrent des occasions rares et exceptionnelles d'acquérir des connaissances sur le patrimoine marin du Canada et d'en faire l'expérience. Elles ne peuvent cependant soutenir l'ensemble des services et des installations souhaités par le public. Étant donné les difficultés d'accès et de déplacement à l'intérieur des aires marines, il est essentiel que les services et les activités offerts soient conçus pour assurer la sécurité dans les contacts avec l'eau.


4.1 Gestion des activités à l'intention des visiteurs

4.1.1
Parcs Canada emploie le processus de gestion des activités des visiteurs pour faire correspondre les intérêts des visiteurs aux possibilités de récréation de plein air et d'éducation décrites dans le plan de gestion de chaque aire marine nationale de conservation.

4.1.2
Dans les aires marines de conservation, Parcs Canada encourage les loisirs de plein air qui aident les visiteurs à mieux connaître et apprécier l'environnement naturel et qui causent le minimum de perturbations à l'environnement, à la faune et au mode de vie local.

4.1.3
Parcs Canada offre des occasions de loisirs de plein air qui tiennent compte des besoins des visiteurs de tous âges, capacités physiques et niveaux de compétences et de connaissances et qui assurent leur sécurité en milieu marin.

4.1.4
Parcs Canada encourage le secteur privé et les organismes non gouvernementaux à offrir des programmes de développement des connaissances et habiletés personnelles dans le but d'amener les visiteurs à mieux comprendre et profiter des aires marines de conservation.

4.1.5
Au fur et à mesure de l'apparition de nouvelles formes de récréation de plein air, on évaluera sur le plan national si leur pratique est acceptable dans le contexte des aires marines de conservation, avant de les prendre en considération dans le cadre du processus de planification de la gestion. Le plan de gestion identifiera les types et la variété jugés appropriés d'activités récréatives de plein air ainsi que les installations de soutien. Parcs Canada révisera périodiquement ses directives en fonction de l'émergence de ces nouvelles formes récréatives de plein air.

4.1.6
Pour chaque aire marine nationale de conservation, il faut concevoir et tenir à jour une base intégrée de données sur les activités des visiteurs, qui fournira, de concert avec les comptes rendus de recherche, de surveillance et d'évaluation, les renseignements sur les visiteurs dont la direction a besoin pour prendre des décisions et rédiger le rapport au Parlement sur l'état des parcs. L'information recueillie servira à augmenter ou à améliorer l'offre de service existante et à réviser les plans de gestion, les plans de service et les programmes de gestion du risque pour les visiteurs. Les données sur les activités de même que les renseignements sur les installations et l'environnement seront intégrés aux évaluations des risques. Les mesures de contrôle des risques tiendront compte des attentes des visiteurs et favoriseront leur autonomie.

4.1.7
Parcs Canada a recours à des méthodes directes et indirectes de gestion de l'utilisation par le public. Les méthodes directes comprennent entre autres le zonage, le respect des lois, les activités restreintes et la rationalisation de l'intensité de la fréquentation. Les méthodes indirectes englobent la conception des installations, la diffusion de renseignements et le recouvrement des coûts.

4.1.8
Parcs Canada assure la compréhension et la jouissance par le public des ressources culturelles situées dans les aires marines nationales de conservation, ainsi que les activités, services et installations qui leur sont associés, conformément à la Politique sur la gestion des ressources culturelles.


4.2 Interprétation et éducation du public

4.2.1
En collaboration avec d'autres organismes, Parcs Canada élabore des programmes d'interprétation des aires marines de conservation et d'éducation du public pour donner aux visiteurs et à tous les Canadiens des renseignements précis sur les écosystèmes marins de l'aire, les grandes questions environnementales et les divers programmes qui ont été mis en oeuvre pour la protection et l'utilisation intelligente de ces écosystèmes.

4.2.2
Les visiteurs doivent être informés des activités permises dans l'aire de conservation et des services et installations qui sont à leur disposition dans l'aire et dans la région. En particulier, on doit leur expliquer la dépendance des habitants de la région à l'égard des ressources marines et leur demander de respecter les valeurs et les traditions locales pendant leur visite.

4.2.3
Divers programmes d'interprétation de l'aire marine présentant peu ou pas de risque pour l'environnement naturel sont proposés aux visiteurs, y compris aux visiteurs handicapés.

4.2.4
Parcs Canada collabore avec les écoles, les universités et les autres établissements d'enseignement pour élaborer des programmes d'éducation du public et pour encourager l'utilisation des aires marines de conservation en tant que centres d'éducation et de recherche en matière d'environnement.


4.3 Services et installations offerts aux visiteurs

4.3.1
Dans les aires marines de conservation, Parcs Canada n'offre que les services et installations qui sont jugés essentiels pour l'interprétation, l'éducation du public et les activités de loisirs prévues dans le plan de gestion approuvé.

4.3.2
Au moment d'aménager des installations dans une aire marine de conservation, les incidences sur les ressources de l'aire et sur les utilisations établies, comme la pêche, doivent être minimisées et l'attention voulue doit être accordée à la gestion du risque pour les visiteurs.

4.3.3
Dans les aires marines de conservation, il est interdit de créer des récifs artificiels pour attirer des organismes marins à des fins d'exposition, d'immerger volontairement des navires ou d'autres objets fabriqués aux fins de la plongée récréative ou d'aménager tout autre installation du genre.

4.3.4
Parcs Canada encourage les visiteurs à se familiariser avec les compétences, les connaissances et le matériel nécessaires pour pratiquer des activités de plein air en toute sécurité dans les aires marines de conservation.

4.3.5
Parcs Canada, la Garde côtière canadienne et d'autres organismes chargés de la sécurité du public coordonnent les services de prévention des accidents et de recherche et sauvetage dans les aires marines de conservation et dans les environs.

4.3.6
Parcs Canada collabore avec le secteur touristique en vue de combler les besoins du public en matière d'installations et de services à proximité des aires marines de conservation, et choisit l'emplacement de ses bâtiments d'administration en conséquence.

4.3.7
Les organismes privés et bénévoles comme les associations coopérantes, sont encouragés à planifier, élaborer et offrir des installations et des services essentiels dans les aires marines de conservation.


4.4 Droit de tenure

4.4.1
Aucun terrain ou zone riveraine d'une aire marine de conservation ne peut être utilisé pour des chalets privés, des camps, des aires de camping saisonnier ou des activités de loisirs exclusives à des individus ou à des organismes. Dans les aires où des habitations sont déjà installées le long des côtes envisagées pour une aire marine nationale de conservation, les limites peuvent inclure ces côtes puisque celles-ci sont souvent d'importantes zones biologiques. Dans ces cas, le développement de la côte sera réglementé par une classification de zonage du littoral.

4.4.2
On peut céder, pour des périodes limitées, des terrains et des zones aquatiques dans les aires marines de conservation au moyen de baux ou de permis d'occupation afin de fournir des installations et des services essentiels aux visiteurs.

4.4.3
À l'expiration d'un bail ou d'un permis d'occupation, lorsque aucune indication n'a été préalablement convenue, un renouvellement peut être négocié si le but de celui-ci correspond au plan de gestion de l'aire de conservation; si le locataire a respecté les conditions de l'entente expirée; et si l'émission du contrat de renouvellement est en accord avec la politique du gouvernement fédéral concernant l'égalité d'accès.