3.0 Managing the Use of National Marine Conservation Areas

Managing the use of national marine conservation areas will be based on the "ecosystem management" concept. This involves adopting a holistic view of the natural environment, ensuring that decisions consider the dynamic and interactive nature of ecosystems, human activities within the ecosystems, and their finite capacity to recover from stress caused by human disturbances.

To be effective, ecosystem management must have a broad base of support. It requires understanding and collaboration among all those who directly use the area or who influence the ecological integrity of a marine conservation area by their activities in the surrounding hinterland. Forging strong partnerships is also important, particularly in research and environmental monitoring where user groups, universities, conservation organizations and the private sector have much to contribute.

Ecosystem management must be based in science. Adequate baseline information about the physical, oceanographic and biological characteristics, and existing and potential uses of the conservation area is required to guide planning and management of the area and to develop public education programs. Monitoring is required to detect changes occurring in the marine environment and to determine whether these are due to natural causes or to stress caused by human activities.


3.1 Ecosystem Management

3.1.1
Measurable goals and management strategies will be formulated for each national marine conservation area to ensure the protection and maintenance of its ecosystems.

3.1.2
Where marine ecosystems or components thereof have been seriously degraded, Parks Canada will initiate restoration programs in cooperation with others.

3.1.3
When a marine species which spends a part of its natural life cycle in a marine conservation area is adversely affected by human activities outside the area, Parks Canada will cooperate with Canadian and international regulatory agencies to promote its conservation throughout its range.

3.1.4
Extirpated species that are native to the marine conservation area may be reintroduced after research has shown that reintroduction is likely to succeed and that its probable effects are acceptable within the conservation area and the surrounding region.

3.1.5
The introduction of exotic plants or animals into the wild in a marine conservation area will not be permitted.

3.1.6
Federal environmental assessment and review legislation will be implemented in conservation areas in an exemplary fashion. Parks Canada will also review and comment upon environmental impact assessments for proposed developments that are near established or potential marine conservation areas.

3.1.7
Parks Canada will encourage understanding and cooperation in achieving marine area conservation goals by participating in regional sea and coastal zone planning programs sponsored by other jurisdictions and interested parties.

3.1.8
To promote science-based management, Parks Canada will work with others in compiling and analyzing baseline information on the physical, oceanographic and biological characteristics of the marine conservation area and surrounding lands, use of marine resources within this geographic area and their effects.


3.2 Protection and Compliance

3.2.1
Parks Canada will implement appropriate regulations under the National Parks Act or other statutes in accordance with management and zoning decisions set out in the approved conservation area management plan.

3.2.2
Parks Canada, in cooperation with other law enforcement agencies, will monitor compliance with the marine conservation area regulations that have been implemented to protect marine ecosystems, maintain the public peace and protect life and property. Strict enforcement action will be taken to detect and stop illegal activities such as poaching.

3.2.3
The public will be consulted in the development of regulations applicable to marine conservation areas, and visitors will be made aware of the rationale for such regulations.

3.2.4
Under the National Parks Act, Parliament must approve new pipeline or submarine cable rights of way through a national marine conservation area while the Governor in Council retains authority to alter existing rights of way. The Minister will recommend that new or altered corridors be authorized only where it is demonstrated that, relative to alternative routes or modes, a new or altered route:

i) will provide significant economic advantages; and

ii) will not significantly increase damage or long-term risk to the area's marine environment.

All such proposals will be subject to the Federal Environmental Assessment and Review Process and must be constructed and operated so as to satisfy all environmental impact mitigation measures that have been agreed upon.


3.3 Fishing and Aquaculture

3.3.1
Fishing is an appropriate activity in Zone III areas, subject to protecting the conservation area's ecosystems, to maintaining viable stocks, and to attaining the purpose and objectives of the marine conservation area.

3.3.2
Aquaculture may be permitted in Zone III areas if it does not impair the structure and function of the marine conservation area's ecosystems and does not conflict with other fisheries, navigation, marine outdoor recreation and public education activities.

3.3.3
Fishing and aquaculture closures in Zone I and II areas and changes to fishing and aquaculture practices in Zone III areas will be agreed to between Parks Canada, the Department of Fisheries and Oceans (DFO) and, where applicable, provincial agencies in consultation with the fishing industry, at the time of establishment of a marine conservation area, and reviewed during management planning.

3.3.4
Fisheries in national marine conservation areas will be regulated under the provisions of the Fisheries Act. Other statutes may also be used to provide additional protection to marine ecosystems.

3.3.5
Fisheries in marine conservation areas will be managed in accordance with fisheriesmanagement plans established by DFO. Parks Canada will participate in the negotiation of these plans to secure the protection of marine ecosystems in and around marine conservation areas.

3.3.6
Parks Canada will work cooperatively with DFO and the fishing industry to minimize indiscriminate methods of fishing and the use of gear that is destructive to the sea bed within a conservation area.

3.3.7
Shore based support facilities for fishing will be permitted in Zone III areas if operated in a manner that does not conflict with the purpose and objectives of the conservation area. Parks Canada may contribute to the cost of relocating or upgrading existing facilities that are incompatible with the area's purpose and objectives. Expansion and improvement will require approval by Parks Canada, DFO and other involved federal or provincial/territorial agencies.

3.3.8
Proposals to introduce any new fishery into a marine conservation area (including aquaculture), not agreed to at the time the conservation area was established, will be considered during the management planning process. These proposals will be subject to the prior completion of stock assessment and environmental impact studies.


3.4 Marine Transportation

3.4.1
Transportation, navigation and aids to navigation, and the operation of pleasure craft in marine conservation areas will be regulated under the Canada Shipping Act and other applicable legislation and regulations.

3.4.2
The routing of new transportation corridors within marine conservation areas will be considered during the management planning process, and will take into account the need for essential services, such as ferries and northern supply routes.

3.4.3
Vessel access to, and movement within, marine conservation areas will be managed in conformity with conservation area objectives and the area's zoning plan in a manner that will:

i) circumvent areas frequented by threatened or endangered species and their habitats;

ii) provide the public with opportunities to understand and enjoy the conservation area;

iii) ensure public safety; and

iv) minimize conflict between commercial and recreational uses.

3.4.4
Traditional Aboriginal and other fishermen's rights of marine access, including over-ice transportation, will be recognized, subject to the requirement of protecting fish and wildlife, including marine mammals, and habitat important to their well-being.

3.0 Gestion de l'utilisation des aires marines nationales de conservation

La gestion de l'utilisation des aires marines nationales de conservation doit être fondée sur le concept de la gestion des écosystèmes. Il faut donc aborder l'environnement naturel d'un point de vue holistique et faire en sorte que les décisions prises tiennent compte de la nature dynamique et interactive des écosystèmes, des interactions humaines avec les écosystèmes et de la capacité limitée des écosystèmes de récupérer suite aux perturbations causées par l'homme.

Pour être efficace, la gestion des écosystèmes doit bénéficier d'un appui étendu solide. Elle requiert la compréhension et la collaboration des utilisateurs d'une aire, ou de ceux qui influent sur son intégrité écologique par les activités qu'ils mènent alentour. La création de partenariats solides importe également, surtout en matière de recherche et de surveillance environnementales où les groupes d'utilisateurs, les universités, les organismes de conservation et le secteur privé ont un rôle considérable à jouer.

La gestion des écosystèmes doit être fondée sur la science. Il faut des données de base adéquates sur les utilisations actuelles et éventuelles et sur les caractéristiques physiques, océanographiques et biologiques de l'aire de conservation pour en orienter la planification et la gestion et pour élaborer des programmes d'éducation du public. La surveillance est essentielle pour déceler les modifications à l'environnement marin et pour déterminer si elles découlent de causes naturelles ou du stress associé aux activités humaines.


3.1 Gestion des écosystèmes

3.1.1
Des buts mesurables et des stratégies de gestion doivent être formulés pour chaque aire marine nationale de conservation afin d'assurer la protection et le maintien de ses écosystèmes.

3.1.2
Parcs Canada conclura des partenariats dans le but de mettre en oeuvre des programmes visant à restaurer les écosystèmes marins ou les composantes d'écosystèmes marins qui sont considérablement dégradés.

3.1.3
Parcs Canada collaborera avec les organismes canadiens et internationaux de réglementation afin de promouvoir la conservation des espèces marines qui passent une partie de leur cycle de vie à l'intérieur d'une aire marine de conservation et qui sont affectées par les activités humaines menées à l'extérieur de cette aire.

3.1.4
Les espèces indigènes qui sont disparues, peuvent êtres réintroduites après qu'une recherche ait démontré que la réintroduction a de bonnes chances de réussir et qu'elle aura des effets acceptables pour l'aire de conservation et les environs.

3.1.5
Toute introduction de plantes ou d'animaux exotiques dans une aire marine de conservation est interdite.

3.1.6
Les règlements sur le Processus fédéral d'évaluation et d'examen en matière d'environnement doivent être appliqués de façon exemplaire dans les aires de conservation. De plus, Parcs Canada doit examiner et commenter les évaluations environnementales des projets d'aménagement situés près d'aires marines de conservation établies ou potentielles.

3.1.7
Pour atteindre les buts fixés pour les aires marines de conservation, Parcs Canada encourage la compréhension et la collaboration en participant à divers programmes régionaux de planification des zones marines et côtières parrainés par d'autres autorités et parties intéressées.

3.1.8
Dans le but de favoriser la gestion scientifique, Parcs Canada collabore avec d'autres organismes à la compilation et à l'analyse de données de base sur les caractéristiques physiques, océanographiques et biologiques de l'aire marine de conservation et des terres avoisinantes et sur l'utilisation des ressources marines dans cette zone géographique et ses effets.


3.2 Protection et application de la loi

3.2.1
Parcs Canada applique les règlements appropriés pris aux termes de la Loi sur les parcs nationaux ou d'autres lois conformément aux décisions de gestion et de zonage énoncées dans le plan de gestion approuvé pour l'aire de conservation.

3.2.2
Parcs Canada, en collaboration avec les autres organismes chargés d'appliquer la loi, assure la conformité avec les règlements sur les aires marines de conservation qui ont été établis pour protéger les écosystèmes marins, maintenir la paix publique et protéger la vie et la propriété. Des mesures strictes sont prises pour détecter et arrêter les activités illégales, telles que le braconnage.

3.2.3
Le public est consulté lors de l'élaboration des règlements sur les aires marines de conservation et les visiteurs sont informés du bien-fondé de ces règlements.

3.2.4
Conformément à la Loi sur les parcs nationaux, le Parlement doit approuver le droit de passage de tout nouveau pipeline ou câble sous-marin devant traverser une aire marine nationale de conservation et le gouverneur en conseil maintient son autorité sur les modifications proposées aux droits de passage existants. Le ministre peut recommander la création ou la modification de corridors seulement lorsqu'il est démontré que comparativement à d'autres routes ou voies, la traversée de l'aire :

i) assure des avantages économiques substantiels; et
ii) n'augmente pas de façon significative les risques à long terme ou les dommages au milieu marin de l'aire.

Toutes les propositions du genre sont assujetties au Processus fédéral d'évaluation et d'examen en matière d'environnement et, en cas d'approbation, la construction et l'exploitation doivent satisfaire à toutes les mesures d'atténuation d'impact environnemental négociées.


3.3 Pêche et aquiculture

3.3.1
La pêche est une activité autorisée dans la zone III, à la condition qu'elle protège les écosystèmes de l'aire de conservation, maintienne des populations viables et soit compatible avec l'objectif global des aires marines nationales de conservation.

3.3.2
L'aquiculture peut être permise dans la zone III si elle ne nuit pas à la structure et à la fonction des écosystèmes de l'aire marine de conservation et si elle n'est pas incompatible avec d'autres activités de pêche, de navigation, de loisirs de plein air et d'éducation du public.

3.3.3
Lors de la création d'une aire marine de conservation, Parcs Canada doit trouver un terrain d'entente pour la fermeture des pêches et des installations d'aquiculture en zone I et II de même que les modifications aux pratiques de pêche et d'aquiculture en zone III avec le ministère des Pêches et des Océans et, au besoin avec des ministères provinciaux et avec l'industrie de la pêche. Cette entente doit être revue lors de l'élaboration du plan de gestion de l'aire.

3.3.4
Dans les aires marines nationales de conservation, la pêche est réglementée en vertu des dispositions de la Loi sur les pêcheries. D'autres textes de loi peuvent aussi être invoqués pour protéger davantage les écosystèmes marins.

3.3.5
La pêche dans les aires marines de conservation est gérée conformément aux plans régionaux de gestion des pêches élaborés par Pêches et Océans. Parcs Canada participe à la négociation de ces plans afin de veiller à la protection des écosystèmes marins dans les aires marines de conservation et dans les environs.

3.3.6
Parcs Canada doit travailler en collaboration avec Pêches et Océans et avec les représentants de l'industrie de la pêche afin de réduire au minimum l'utilisation de méthodes de pêche non sélectives et d'engins susceptibles de détruire le fond marin dans les aires de conservation.

3.3.7
Les infrastructures côtières liées à la pêche sont autorisées en zone III à la condition que leur exploitation n'aille pas à l'encontre du but et des objectifs de l'aire de conservation. Parcs Canada peut défrayer une partie du coût de réinstallation ou d'amélioration des infrastructures existantes qui sont incompatibles avec le but et les objectifs de l'aire. Tout projet d'expansion ou d'amélioration doit être approuvé par Parcs Canada, le ministère des Pêches et des Océans et les autres organismes fédéraux, provinciaux ou territoriaux concernés.

3.3.8
Toute proposition en vue d'introduire une nouvelle pêche dans une aire marine de conservation, y compris l'aquiculture, qui n'a pas été autorisée au moment de la création de l'aire de conservation, doit être étudiée au cours du processus de planification de la gestion. Cette proposition est également assujettie à la réalisation préalable d'études d'évaluation des populations et d'impact sur l'environnement.


3.4 Transport maritime

3.4.1
Le transport, la navigation, les aides à la navigation et l'utilisation d'embarcations de plaisance dans les aires marines de conservation sont réglementés en vertu de la Loi sur la marine marchande du Canada et des autres lois et règlements applicables.

3.4.2
Le tracé des nouveaux corridors de transport à l'intérieur des aires marines de conservation doit être étudié dans le cadre du processus de planification de la gestion et doit tenir compte des services essentiels comme les traversiers et les corridors d'approvisionnement dans le Nord.

3.4.3
L'accès et la circulation des navires dans les aires marines de conservation sont gérés conformément aux objectifs de l'aire de conservation et à son plan de zonage, de façon à :

i) contourner les aires fréquentées par des espèces menacées ou en danger de disparition et leurs habitats;
ii) offrir au public la possibilité de connaître et d'apprécier le parc marin;
iii) assurer la sécurité du public; et
iv) éviter les conflits entre les utilisations commerciales et récréatives.

3.4.4
Les droits traditionnels des pêcheurs autochtones et autres concernant l'accès marin, y compris le passage sur les glaces, sont reconnus, sous réserve de la protection des poissons et des espèces fauniques, y compris les mammifères marins et les habitats importants pour leur bien-être.