2.0 Management Planning

The goal of a national marine conservation area management plan is to provide for sustainable use of the area consistent with the need to maintain the structure and function of marine ecosystems. The plan provides guidance to marine conservation area managers and users about the day-to-day management and use of the area. It also outlines how the Minister responsible for Parks Canada proposes to conserve the area's resources in keeping with the provisions of the National Parks Act.

Management planning is an iterative process: plans must be prepared within five years of the area's proclamation and be reviewed and amended as necessary every five years thereafter. Since planning decisions are inevitably based on incomplete knowledge of the area's resources, plans will always lean to the side of caution when prescribing reasonable levels of use. However, through continuing cooperative and inter-disciplinary approach, information about the physical, biological and socio-economic characteristics of the area will be compiled and interpreted to avoid uncertainty in decision-making.

Zoning is an essential part of the national marine conservation area management plan. Its main purposes are to define and map the different levels of protection and use that will occur in the marine conservation area and to separate potentially conflicting human activities. Zoning must be comprehensive but also as simple as possible to ensure it can be readily understood by the public, and be translated into management actions and regulations that are easy to comply with and enforce. To avoid unnecessary regulation of human activities, each zone will have clear and justifiable objectives.

The three proposed marine conservation zones reflect a continuum of protection and use. Different levels of protection and use will be permitted in each zone, or at different times.

Temporal and vertical zoning may provide flexibility and objectivity in harmonizing use. For example, temporal zoning could prohibit visitor access to, or commercial fishing near, a particular fish spawning ground, sea bird colony or whale calving area during the reproductive season but allow it throughout other, less critical periods. Depending on the factors involved, the time span may be long term, seasonal, cyclical or even diurnal. Vertical zoning may also be appropriate in some situations where, for example, certain benthic species or habitats require absolute protection while fishing, transportation or recreational uses continue at or near the surface of the water column.

In some cases, environmentally or culturally sensitive sites may require special management but do not fit the zoning designations below. Management plans will include the guidelines necessary for the protection and use of such sites. In other cases, a marine conservation area may encompass an existing protected area where the degree of protection and use allowed does not correspond precisely to the national marine conservation area zoning definitions. In this situation, where the existing protected area contributes to the overall purpose and objectives of the conservation area, it may be designated as a special use zone to ensure its function and identity remain intact.


2.1
Parks Canada will adopt an inter-disciplinary approach to management planning to ensure a broader perception and understanding of issues, and the development of solutions to problems that are more comprehensive, far-reaching and durable.


2.2
Parks Canada will prepare management plans for the Minister's approval and tabling in Parliament within five years of an area's proclamation under the National Parks Act or other legislation. Management plans will be reviewed every five years thereafter.


2.3
Maintaining the structure and function of marine ecosystems will be a first priority when considering the zoning and management of visitor use and renewable resource harvesting activities.


2.4
Cultural resources will be managed in accordance with the Cultural Resource Management Policy.


2.5
Each management plan will contain a statement of the purpose and objectives of the marine conservation area in the national system and in the marine region in which it is located. As well, it will detail the specific protection and use objectives of each designated zone.


2.6
Parks Canada will inform and involve a broad spectrum of the Canadian public in the preparation, review and amendment of management plans.


2.7
A management advisory committee will be formed for each conservation area to ensure regular consultation and direct involvement of resource users and residents of the surrounding region in the preparation and implementation of the management plan.


2.8
Parks Canada will cooperate with other federal agencies and levels of government, private organizations and individuals involved in the planning and management of areas adjacent to marine conservation areas to ensure that research, management and regulatory programs, facilities and services are integrated in effective and economical ways.


2.9
Management plans for national marine conservation areas which have additional international and national designations such as World Heritage Site, Biosphere Reserve or National Historic Site, will include strategies for protection and promotion of the values that resulted in the additional designations.


2.10
The national marine conservation area zoning system will apply to all land and water areas of national marine conservation areas, and will state the specific protection and use objectives of each designated zone. Parks Canada will monitor the degree to which those objectives are being achieved and assess the validity of the designation during the review of the management plan.

The zoning provisions outlined below are intended to serve as a guide only. They may change as Parks Canada acquires planning and management experience in several marine conservation areas. Also, an alternative zoning system may be recommended for a national marine conservation area during the feasibility study

2.10.1
Zone I (Preservation) - Areas will be considered for Zone I designation when their management objectives involve protecting:

i) habitats deemed critical to the survival and maintenance of depleted, vulnerable, threatened or endangered species;

ii) habitats of more common species and communities that are particularly sensitive to human disturbances;

iii) unique or best examples of a natural feature;

iv) cultural resources of national historic significance or of historic significance; or,

v) areas considered important for long-term environmental monitoring or ecological research.

In Zone I areas, renewable resource harvesting will not be permitted. Visitor use will not normally be allowed but in certain cases, where the public education benefits are high, provisions may be made for limited and closely supervised visitor access. Permanent facilities will not be permitted, unless they are essential for public safety or the protection of natural features.

2.10.2
Zone II (Natural Environment) - Areas will be considered for Zone II designation when their management objectives involve:

i) creating a buffer zone around Zone I areas in order to enhance protection of its special habitats or features;

ii) protecting highly representative areas that provide opportunities for non-consumptive recreational use and public education in as natural a setting as possible; and

iii) conducting environmental monitoring and research projects in which public education is an integral part of the study program.

In Zone II areas, renewable resource harvesting activities including recreational hunting and fishing will be prohibited. Research, public education and low-intensity outdoor recreation will be permitted. Where practical and safe, the use of non-motorized transportation would be encouraged. Only minimal facility development would be allowed.

2.10.3
Zone III (Conservation) - Areas will be considered for Zone III designation when their management objectives involve:

i) renewable resource harvesting activities, aquaculture and marine transportation; or

ii) providing opportunities for a broad spectrum of outdoor recreation and public education activities.

In Zone III areas, provision will be made for reasonable use consistent with maintaining the structure and function of marine ecosystems. Hunting may be permitted in designated areas on a conservative basis, subject to ongoing population assessments and visitor safety concerns. Permanent facilities for conservation area administration, public education, visitor services and accommodation would be allowed.

2.10.4
Zones of a marine conservation area may be subject to temporary access or use restrictions when specific components or functions of a marine ecosystem require additional protection. These temporary zoning restrictions may be seasonal, cyclical, diurnal (on a daily or nightly basis), or combinations thereof, as warranted.

2.10.5
Vertical zoning may be used to provide more protection to natural or cultural resources at or near the sea floor while recreational, transportation or near-surface fishing activities continue above.

2.10.6
Changes to an area's zoning, including provisions for temporal and vertical zoning, will only be made following public notice and public participation in the decision.

2.10.7
Establishing and maintaining a core of Zone I and II areas will be an essential feature of all national marine conservation areas.

2.0 Planification de la gestion

Les plans de gestion des aires marines nationales de conservation ont pour but d'assurer l'utilisation durable de ces aires, compte tenu de la nécessité de maintenir la structure et la fonction des écosystèmes marins. Les plans servent à guider les gestionnaires et les utilisateurs des aires marines de conservation en ce qui concerne la gestion et l'utilisation courantes de ces aires. Ils précisent aussi comment le ministre responsable de Parcs Canada prévoit conserver les ressources qu'elles contiennent conformément aux dispositions de la Loi sur les parcs nationaux.

La planification de la gestion est un processus itératif : les plans doivent être élaborés dans les cinq années qui suivent la proclamation d'une aire, puis revus et modifiés au besoin tous les cinq ans par la suite. Puisque les décisions de planification sont inévitablement fondées sur une connaissance incomplète des ressources de l'aire, il faut toujours faire preuve d'une grande prudence au moment de prescrire les niveaux raisonnables d'utilisation. Cependant, une coopération constante et une approche interdisciplinaire permettront de compiler et d'interpréter les données relatives aux caractéristiques physiques, biologiques et socio-économiques de l'aire de façon que le processus décisionnel comporte moins d'incertitudes.

Le zonage est un élément essentiel de tout plan de gestion d'une aire marine nationale de conservation. Son but principal consiste à définir et à cartographier les différents niveaux de protection et d'utilisation au sein de l'aire marine de conservation, et à séparer les activités humaines pouvant être conflictuelles.

Parcs Canada croit que le zonage doit être complet, mais qu'il doit également être aussi simple que possible si on veut qu'il soit bien compris par le public et qu'il se traduise par des mesures et des règlements de gestion faciles à respecter et à appliquer. Pour éviter la réglementation inutile des activités humaines, chaque zone doit avoir des objectifs clairs et justifiables.

Les trois zones marines de conservation proposées reflètent un continuum de protection et d'utilisation. Différents niveaux de protection et d'utilisation sont permis dans chaque zone ou à différents moments.

Le zonage temporel et le zonage vertical peuvent apporter souplesse et objectivité au processus d'harmonisation des diverses utilisations. Ainsi, le zonage temporel peut interdire la présence des visiteurs ou la pêche commerciale à proximité d'une frayère, d'une colonie d'oiseaux de mer ou d'une aire de mise bas des baleines durant la saison de reproduction, mais permettre le libre accès à ces zones au cours de périodes moins critiques. Compte tenu des facteurs en cause, ce zonage peut être établi à long terme ou de façon saisonnière, cyclique ou même diurne. Le zonage vertical peut convenir dans lds cas où, par exemple, certaines espèces ou certains habitats du fond marin exigent une protection totale alors que des activités de pêche, de transport ou de loisirs se poursuivent dans la colonne d'eau ou près de sa surface.

Dans certains cas, les lieux fragiles sur le plan environnemental ou culturel peuvent exiger une gestion spéciale s'écartant du cadre du zonage décrit plus loin. Les plans de gestion doivent contenir les lignes directrices nécessaires à la protection et à l'utilisation de ces lieux. Ailleurs, une aire marine de conservation peut inclure une aire protégée existante où le degré de protection et d'utilisation permis ne correspond pas précisément aux définitions du zonage dans les aires marines nationales de conservation. En pareil cas, si l'aire protégée existante contribue au but et aux objectifs globaux de l'aire de conservation, on peut la désigner à titre de zone d'utilisation spéciale de façon à lui conserver sa fonction et son identité.


2.1
Parcs Canada doit adopter une approche multidisciplinaire pour aborder la planification de la gestion afin de mieux percevoir et comprendre les problèmes en cause, et de trouver des solutions plus globales, plus approfondies et plus durables.


2.2
Parcs Canada prépare des plans de gestion qui sont approuvés par le ministre et déposés devant le Parlement dans les cinq ans qui suivent la proclamation officielle d'une aire en vertu de la Loi sur les parcs nationaux ou d'une autre loi. Par la suite, les plans de gestion sont révisés tous les cinq ans.


2.3
Au moment d'établir les dispositions relatives au zonage et à la gestion de l'utilisation par les visiteurs et des activités de récolte des ressources renouvelables, la priorité est donnée au maintien de la structure et de la fonction des écosystèmes marins.


2.4
Les ressources culturelles seront gérées en fonction de la Politique de Parcs Canada sur la gestion des ressources culturelles.


2.5
Chaque plan de gestion énonce le but et les objectifs approuvés de l'aire marine de conservation au sein du réseau national et dans sa région marine. Il précise de plus les objectifs particuliers de chaque zone en matière de protection et d'utilisation.


2.6
Parcs Canada informe et consulte largement le public canadien lors de l'élaboration, de la révision et de la modification des plans de gestion des parcs.


2.7
Un comité consultatif de gestion est formé pour chaque aire de conservation afin de consulter régulièrement les utilisateurs des ressources et les résidants de la région et de les associer directement à la préparation et à la mise en oeuvre du plan de gestion.


2.8
Parcs Canada collabore avec les autres organismes fédéraux, avec les différents paliers d'administration, avec les organismes privés et avec les individus qui participent à la planification et à la gestion des aires voisines des aires marines de conservation, afin d'assurer l'intégration efficace et économique des programmes, des installations et des services de recherche, de gestion et de réglementation.


2.9
Les plans de gestion des aires marines nationales de conservations qui ont reçu une nomination additionnelle de niveau national ou international telle que Site du patrimoine mondial, Réserve de la biosphère ou Lieu historique national comprendront des stratégies de protection et de promotion des valeurs qui ont contribué à ces nominations.


2.10
Le zonage des aires marines nationales de conservation s'applique à tous les plans d'eau ainsi qu'à toutes les aires terrestres de ces aires de conservation, et précise les objectifs de chaque zone désignée en matière de protection et d'utilisation. Parcs Canada doit vérifier le degré de réalisation de ces objectifs et évaluer la validité de la désignation au moment de la révision du plan de gestion.

Les dispositions suivantes sur le zonage sont présentées à titre d'indication seulement. Elles pourront être modifiées à mesure que Parcs Canada acquiert de l'expérience en matière de planification et de gestion dans diverses aires marines de conservation. De plus, l'étude de faisabilité pourra recommander un système de zonage différent pour une aire marine de conservation donnée.

2.10.1
Zone I - Préservation

Peuvent être désignées zone I, les aires dont les objectifs de gestion incluent la protection :

i) d'habitats jugés essentiels pour la survie et le maintien d'espèces décimées, vulnérables, menacées ou en voie de disparition;
ii) d'habitats d'espèces et de communautés plus communes qui sont particulièrement vulnérables ou sensibles à l'activité humaine;
iii) d'exemples uniques ou exceptionnels d'éléments naturels;
iv) de ressources culturelles d'importance historique nationale ou d'importance historique;
v) d'aires jugées importantes à des fins de surveillance environnementale ou de recherche écologique à long terme.

En zone I, la récolte des ressources renouvelables est interdite. En règle générale, l'utilisation par les visiteurs est aussi interdite, mais on peut autoriser un accès limité étroitement surveillé lorsque les avantages au chapitre de l'éducation du public sont élevés. Aucune installation permanente n'est autorisée, sauf si elle est essentielle pour la sécurité du public ou pour la protection des ressources naturelles.

2.10.2
Zone II - Milieu naturel

Peuvent être désignées zone II, les aires dont les objectifs de gestion incluent :

i) la création d'une zone tampon autour des aires désignées zone I afin d'améliorer la protection de leurs habitats ou éléments spéciaux;
ii) la protection d'aires hautement représentatives offrant des possibilités de loisirs non abusifs et d'éducation du public dans un milieu aussi naturel que possible;
iii) la réalisation de projets de surveillance et de recherche environnementales dans lesquels l'éducation du public fait partie intégrante du programme d'études.

En zone II, les activités de récolte des ressources renouvelables, y compris la chasse et la pêche récréative, sont interdites. La recherche, l'éducation du public et les activités de loisirs de plein air de faible intensité, sont cependant autorisées. Quand la chose est possible et sûre, on peut encourager l'utilisation de transports non motorisés. Seules des installations minimales sont permises.

2.10.3 Zone III - Conservation

Peuvent être désignées zone III, les aires dont les objectifs de gestion incluent :

i) les activités de récolte des ressources renouvelables, l'aquiculture et le transport maritime;
ii) la présentation de toute une gamme d'activités de loisirs de plein air et d'éducation du public.

>2.10.4
Les zones d'une aire marine de conservation peuvent faire l'objet de restrictions temporaires en ce qui concerne l'accès ou l'utilisation lorsque certaines composantes ou fonctions particulières d'un écosystème ont besoin d'une protection accrue. Ces restrictions temporaires de zonage peuvent être saisonnières, cycliques, diurnes ou nocturnes (ou une combinaison de ces possibilités) selon le cas.

2.10.5
Le zonage vertical peut servir à assurer une protection accrue aux ressources naturelles ou culturelles qui se trouvent au fond de la mer ou près de celui-ci, pendant que se poursuivent à la surface des activités récréatives, de transport maritime ou de pêche.

2.10.6
Toute modification au plan de zonage d'une aire, y compris aux dispositions relatives au zonage temporel ou vertical, ne peut intervenir qu'à la suite d'une notification et d'une consultation du public.

2.10.7
Des secteurs désignés zone I et zone II doivent être établis et maintenus dans toutes les aires marines nationales de conservation.