1.0 The National Marine Conservation Areas System

National marine conservation areas are intended to conserve representative examples of Canada's marine environments, coastal zone, and Great Lakes. Based on current scientific information, Canada's oceans and Great Lakes have been divided into 29 marine regions, each of which warrants representation in the system of national marine conservation areas. Efforts to create new marine conservation areas are concentrated on those marine regions that are unrepresented.

Establishment of new marine conservation areas will be guided by the National Marine Conservation Area System Plan. The Plan will provide a description of the 29 marine regions, and the status of system planning for each. Parks Canada will periodically update the Plan, including the listing of representative marine areas identified during regional analysis studies. In addition, Parks Canada will keep an Action Plan up to date to describe the activities that must be undertaken to complete the representation of each of the marine regions.

Parks Canada, acting alone, cannot protect all the areas identified as representative of Canada's marine regions. But by making public the Systems Plan and Action Plan, Parks Canada hopes to encourage other public agencies and appropriate private organizations to work to protect areas that will not be included within the national marine conservation area system.

Public support and the cooperation of other levels of government are essential in establishing new national marine conservation areas or adjusting the boundaries of existing ones. The establishment process is therefore based upon public consultation and intergovernmental cooperation.

There is no rigid process for establishing national marine conservation areas. Each situation is unique and the steps leading up to their creation will reflect individual circumstances. The normal sequence, however, is characterized by five steps:

  • identifying representative marine areas;
  • selecting a potential national marine conservation area;
  • assessing marine conservation area feasibility;
  • negotiating a marine conservation area agreement; and
  • establishing a new national marine conservation area in legislation.

The following policies related to marine conservation area establishment are grouped under these headings.


1.1 Identifying Representative Marine Areas

1.1.1
Representative marine areas will be identified for those marine regions that are not represented in the system. The following criteria are used:

i) the area must portray the geological, oceanographic, biological and ecosystem diversity that is characteristic of the marine region; and
ii) the area's ecosystems must be in a healthy, natural state, or, if they are stressed or significant environmental degradation has taken place, restoration and maintenance of their essential structure and function must be considered feasible.

1.1.2
Representative marine areas will be identified in consultation with provincial and territorial governments, other federal agencies and with the interested public.

1.1.3
Representative marine areas will be identified regardless of the current protected status or jurisdiction.


1.2 Selecting Potential National Marine Conservation Areas

1.2.1
Potential national marine conservation areas will be selected from among the representative marine areas, in those marine regions which do not already have adequate representation in the system of marine conservation areas.

1.2.2
In selecting potential national marine conservation areas, consideration will be given to a wide range of factors including:

i) the extent to which the area represents the ecosystem diversity of the marine region;

ii) the degree to which the area contributes to the maintenance of essential ecological processes and life support systems for downstream areas (e.g., the protection of nursery or juvenile rearing areas);

iii) the importance of the area in maintaining biodiversity and protecting critical habitats of rare, threatened or endangered species;

iv) the occurrence of exceptional natural phenomena and cultural resources;

v) the existing or potential value of the area for ecological research and monitoring;

vi) opportunities for public understanding; education and enjoyment;

vii) possible threats to the long-term sustainability of the area's marine ecosystems as well as those of the surrounding lands;

viii) minimizing conflict with existing or probable marine resource uses such as significant commercial fishing areas, mineral or energy resources, navigation routes or defence exercise areas;

ix) complementarity with the objectives of existing or planned protected marine or coastal areas of other jurisdictions in the marine region;

x) the potential of establishing an adjacent national park or national park reserve representative of its natural region;

xi) the potential to cooperatively manage existing and potential uses of the marine resources within and adjacent to the potential marine conservation area on a sustainable basis, compatible with the objective of protecting its biotic resources and other park values; and

xii) the implications of comprehensive land claims and treaties with Aboriginal peoples.

1.2.3
A composite national marine conservation area consisting of two or more non-contiguous areas may be considered where it will facilitate achieving marine conservation area identification and selection objectives.

1.2.4
Potential national marine conservation areas will be selected in consultation with provincial and territorial governments, other federal agencies, non-government organizations, and the interested public.


1.3 Assessing National Marine Conservation Areas Feasibility

1.3.1
To initiate an assessment of the feasibility of a marine conservation area, Parks Canada will first consult with other federal departments and agencies, provincial and territorial governments and seek their cooperation and support.

1.3.2
Parks Canada will then initiate discussions with local communities and affected user groups to seek their cooperation in conducting a feasibility study, to determine the best timing and process for their active participation, and how to incorporate the knowledge of individuals living and working in the area.

1.3.3
As a guide, the feasibility study should include recommendations on the conservation and management objectives of the area, its boundaries, a draft zoning plan as described in section 2.10 with a description of the purpose and objectives of each zone and the uses that will be permitted, including fishing. It should also identify specific issues of concern to local communities and affected user groups and, when possible, recommend how they could be addressed.

1.3.4
In proposing the boundaries of a potential national marine conservation area, every effort will be made to establish an area with a size and configuration that:

i) protects a wide diversity of marine ecosystems representative of the marine region;

ii) accommodates the habitat requirements of viable populations of marine species that are native to the marine region;

iii) does not fragment sensitive, highly diverse or productive marine communities;

iv) protects exceptional marine phenomena, and rare, threatened or endangered marine wildlife and plants;

v) includes important sites for ecological research and monitoring;

vi) offers opportunities for public understanding and enjoyment;

vii) results in minimum long-term disruption of the social and economic life in the surrounding region; and

viii) does not encompass permanent communities.

In addition, consideration may be given to including submerged cultural features or coastal/island sites which are significant in portraying human use of marine resources within a proposed national marine conservation area.

1.3.5
As part of the feasibility assessment, Parks Canada will cooperate with those federal departments or provincial/territorial governments responsible for assessing the renewable and nonrenewable natural resource potential of the proposed marine conservation area. Any associated field activities will take into account the natural and cultural qualities which recommend the area for marine conservation area status.

1.3.6
Boundary adjustments intended to improve the representation of an existing marine conservation area or its ecological integrity will be assessed according to the above policies.


1.4 National Marine Conservation Areas Agreements

1.4.1
National marine conservation areas will be established pursuant to agreements with the concerned provincial or territorial governments, federal departments and agencies, and with Aboriginal organizations, as appropriate.

1.4.2
The Crown in Right of Canada will own all land, including the sea or lake bed and its subsoil, within a national marine conservation area. Private lands and interests will be acquired by negotiated settlement, and term interests may be allowed to expire.

1.4.3
The agreement will describe the boundaries of the national marine conservation area, and will stipulate the role(s) of concerned government departments and agencies, any local communities and affected user groups, as well as interested non-government organizations and the public in the cooperative stewardship, planning and management of the marine conservation area.

1.4.4
Parks Canada will take a lead role in developing cooperative arrangements with all concerned parties for the complementary use and management of resources within a national marine conservation area.

1.4.5
Commercial exploration, extraction or development of nonrenewable resources and ocean dumping will not be permitted within a national marine conservation area.

1.4.6
Parks Canada and the provincial and federal governments will foster opportunities for local residents to find employment and business opportunities related to the operation of national marine conservation areas.

1.4.7
Where the resources of a marine conservation area are, or may be, significantly impacted by upstream pollution sources, Parks Canada will cooperate with government and non-government agencies at the local, provincial, territorial, federal and international levels in order to monitor water quality and endeavour to prevent or mitigate pollution effects.

1.4.8
Prior to the establishment of a marine conservation area, Parks Canada will prepare a report setting out the area's purpose and objectives, boundaries agreed to, zoning plan, and the various agreements made with other governments and federal departments for the cooperative management of the marine conservation area.


1.5 Establishing National Marine Conservation Areas in Legislation

1.5.1
Marine conservation areas will be formally established by the Parliament of Canada through amendment to the National Parks Act or in accordance with new legislation respecting the establishment of national marine conservation areas.

1.5.2
When new national marine conservation areas are established in conjunction with the settlement of land claims of Aboriginal peoples, the final boundaries as well as harvesting rights and involvement of Aboriginal peoples in planning and management will be proposed in legislation according to the terms of the land claim agreement. In the interim, the area may be set aside as a "national marine conservation areas reserve" under the Act and traditional hunting, fishing and other marine resource based activities by entitled Aboriginal peoples will continue.

1.0 Réseau des aires marines nationales de conservation

Les aires marines nationales de conservation servent à conserver des échantillons représentatifs du littoral canadien, des milieux marins qui le bordent et des Grands Lacs. En se fondant sur les informations actuelles scientifiques, les Grands Lacs et les zones océaniques du Canada ont été divisés en 29 régions marines, qui méritent toutes d'être représentées dans le réseau des aires marines nationales de conservation. Les efforts en vue de créer de nouvelles aires marines nationales de conservation porteront principalement sur les régions marines non représentées.

La création des nouvelles aires marines nationales de conservation sera assujettie au projet de réseau des aires marines nationales de conservation. Le document décrira les 29 régions marines ainsi que l'état de la planification dans ces régions. Parcs Canada mettra le projet de réseau à jour régulièrement, y compris la liste des aires marines représentatives répertoriées pendant les analyses régionales.

Parcs Canada tiendra également à jour un plan d'action qui décrira les activités à entreprendre pour achever la représentation de toutes les régions marines. Parcs Canada ne saurait protéger, à lui seul, toutes les aires représentatives des régions marines du Canada. Mais en rendant publics le projet de réseau et le plan d'action, il espère encourager les autres organismes publics et les organismes privés à collaborer à la protection des aires qui ne font pas partie du réseau des aires marines nationales du Canada.

L'appui du public et la collaboration des autres paliers de gouvernement sont essentiels pour la création de nouvelles aires marines nationales de conservation et pour l'ajustement des frontières des aires existantes. Le processus de création repose donc sur des consultations publiques et sur la coopération intergouvernementale.

La création des aires marines nationales de conservation n'est pas régie par un processus strict. Chaque situation est unique, et les étapes qui mènent à la création d'une aire marine nationale de conservation varient selon les circonstances. En temps normal cependant, on compte cinq étapes : détermination d'aires marines représentatives; sélection d'une éventuelle aire marine nationale de conservation; étude de faisabilité; négociation d'une entente relative à l'aire marine de conservation; et création d'une nouvelle aire marine nationale de conservation par voie législative. Dans les pages qui suivent, ces mêmes rubriques sont utilisées pour présenter les politiques relatives à la création d'aires marines de conservation.


1.1 Détermination d'aires marines représentatives

1.1.1
Les critères suivants régissent l'identification d'aires marines représentatives dans les régions marines non représentées du réseau :

i) l'aire doit illustrer la diversité de la région marine aux plans de la géologie, de l'océanographie, de la biologie et de l'écologie; et
ii) les écosystèmes de l'aire marine doivent être à l'état naturel, ou, en cas de stress ou de détérioration importante de l'environnement, la restauration et le maintien de leur structure et fonction doivent être jugés possibles.

1.1.2
L'identification des aires naturelles marines d'intérêt canadien se fera en consultation avec les gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux, les ministères et organismes fédéraux concernés et le public.

1.1.3
L'identification des aires marines représentatives ne tient compte ni de leur administration ni de leur statut actuels.


1.2 Sélection des éventuelles aires marines nationales de conservation

1.2.1
Les aires marines nationales de conservation éventuelles sont choisies parmi les aires marines représentatives situées à l'intérieur de régions marines insuffisamment représentées au sein du réseau.

1.2.2
La sélection des éventuelles aires marines nationales de conservation tient compte de nombreux facteurs dont :

i) la représentativité de l'aire au chapitre de la diversité des écosystèmes de la région marine;
ii) la contribution de l'aire au maintien des processus écologiques et des systèmes de soutien essentiels aux aires en aval (par exemple, protection des zones de reproduction ou d'alevinage);
iii) l'importance de l'aire pour le maintien de la biodiversité et pour la protection des habitats critiques d'espèces rares, menacées ou en voie de disparition;
iv) la présence de ressources culturelles et de phénomènes naturels exceptionnels;
v) la valeur actuelle ou potentielle de l'aire en matière de recherche et de surveillance écologiques;
vi) l'occasion pour le public de connaître, d'apprendre et d'apprécier;
vii) les menaces potentielles pour le maintien à long terme des écosystèmes marins de l'aire et des terres environnantes;
viii) la réduction des conflits reliés à l'utilisation des ressources existantes ou potentielles tels les zones importantes de pêche commerciale, les ressources minérales ou énergétiques, les corridors de navigation ou les aires d'exercices militaires;
ix) la complémentarité avec les objectifs des aires marines ou côtières protégées existantes ou prévues qui relèvent d'autres compétences à l'intérieur de la région marine;
x) la possibilité de créer un parc national ou une réserve de parc national représentatif de sa région naturelle;
xi) la possibilité de gérer, conjointement et de façon durable, les utilisations actuelles et potentielles des ressources marines situées à l'intérieur de l'aire marine de conservation éventuelle ou à proximité, tout en visant la protection de ses ressources biotiques et des autres valeurs de l'aire;
xii) les répercussions des revendications territoriales globales et des traités avec les peuples autochtones.

1.2.3
Parcs Canada peut prendre en considération une aire marine nationale de conservation combinée, constituée de deux aires non contiguës ou plus, pour aider à atteindre les objectifs d'identification et de sélection d'aires marines de conservation.

1.2.4
La sélection des éventuelles aires marines nationales de conservation se fera en collaboration avec les gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux, les autres organismes publics, les organisations non gouvernementales et le public intéressé.


1.3 Évaluation de la faisabilité

1.3.1
Pour évaluer la faisabilité d'une aire marine de conservation, Parcs Canada consulte d'abord les autres ministères et organismes fédéraux ainsi que les gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux afin de demander leur coopération et appui.

1.3.2
Parcs Canada entreprend ensuite des discussions avec les collectivités locales et avec les groupes d'utilisateurs touchés afin de leur demander leur collaboration en vue de l'étude de faisabilité, de déterminer le meilleur moment et la meilleure façon d'obtenir leur participation active et d'utiliser les connaissances des personnes qui vivent et qui travaillent dans la région.

1.3.3
En général, l'étude de faisabilité doit contenir des recommandations sur les objectifs de conservation et de gestion de l'aire, ses limites, un projet de plan de zonage conforme aux dispositions du paragraphe 2.1.0 accompagné d'une description du but et des objectifs de chaque zone ainsi que des utilisations permises, incluant la pêche. Elle doit aussi énumérer les préoccupations spécifiques des collectivités locales et des groupes d'utilisateurs touchés et recommander, si possible, des mesures correctives.

1.3.4
Au moment de délimiter une éventuelle aire marine nationale de conservation, on doit faire tous les efforts nécessaires pour que l'aire créée ait une taille et une configuration permettant:

i) de protéger une grande variété d'écosystèmes marins représentatifs de la région marine;
ii) de répondre aux exigences d'habitat de populations viables d'espèces marines propres à la région marine;
iii) de ne pas fragmenter des communautés marines fragiles, très diversifiées ou productives;
iv) de protéger les phénomènes marins exceptionnels ainsi que les plantes et animaux marins rares, menacés ou en voie de disparition;
v) d'inclure des sites importants à des fins de recherche et de surveillance écologiques;
vi) d'offrir au public des occasions de connaître et d'apprécier;
vii) de déranger le moins possible à long terme la vie socio-économique de la région environnante;
viii) de ne pas inclure des agglomérations permanentes.

En outre, il faut envisager l'inclusion de biens culturels submergés ou de sites insulaires ou côtiers importants pour décrire l'utilisation humaine des ressources marines dans l'aire marine nationale de conservation proposée.

1.3.5
Dans le cadre de l'évaluation de la faisabilité, Parcs Canada coopère avec les ministères fédéraux ou les gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux concernés, chargés d'évaluer les éventuelles ressources naturelles renouvelables et non renouvelables de l'aire marine de conservation proposée. Toutes les activités connexes doivent tenir compte des qualités naturelles et culturelles qui rendent l'aire éligible au statut d'aire marine de conservation.

1.3.6
Les ajustements de délimitation d'une aire marine de conservation existante destinés à améliorer son intégrité écologique ou la présentation des thèmes naturels sont évalués d'après les politiques qui précèdent.


1.4 Ententes relatives aux aires marines nationales de conservation

1.4.1
La création d'aires marines nationales de conservation se fait suivant des ententes avec les gouvernements provinciaux ou territoriaux, les ministères et agences fédéraux intéressés et avec les organismes autochtones s'il y a lieu.

1.4.2
Toutes les terres à l'intérieur d'une aire marine nationale de conservation, y compris le fond marin et le sous-sol, appartiennent à la Couronne du chef du Canada. Les terres et les intérêts fonciers privés sont acquis en vertu d'un règlement négocié et, dans certains cas, les activités de durée déterminée peuvent être poursuivies jusqu'à leur terme.

1.4.3
L'entente décrit les limites de l'aire marine nationale de conservation et précise le rôle des ministères et agences gouvernementales concernés, des collectivités locales et des groupes d'utilisateurs touchés, de même que celui des organismes non gouvernementaux intéressés et du public en matière de gérance coopérative, de planification et de gestion de l'aire marine de conservation.

1.4.4
Parcs Canada a un rôle de premier plan en ce qui concerne l'élaboration d'ententes de coopération avec les parties intéressées en vue de l'utilisation et de la gestion complémentaires des ressources situées à l'intérieur d'une aire marine nationale de conservation.

1.4.5
Les activités commerciales telles que l'exploration, l'extraction ou l'exploitation des richesses naturelles non renouvelables, de même que le déversement en mer, sont interdites dans les aires marines nationales de conservation.

1.4.6
Parcs Canada et les administrations provinciales et fédérale doivent faire en sorte de favoriser les occasions d'emploi et d'affaires associées aux aires marines nationales de conservation pour les populations locales.

1.4.7
Dans les cas où les ressources d'une aire marine de conservation sont ou risquent d'être considérablement affectées par la pollution en amont, Parcs Canada collabore avec des organismes gouvernementaux et non gouvernementaux locaux, provinciaux, territoriaux, fédéraux et internationaux afin de surveiller la qualité de l'eau et d'empêcher ou d'atténuer les effets de la pollution.

1.4.8
Avant la création d'une aire marine nationale de conservation, Parcs Canada préparera un rapport qui décrira le but et les objectifs de l'aire proposée, l'accord sur les limites, le plan de zonage et les accords réalisés avec les autres ministères fédéraux reliés à la gestion coopérative de l'aire marine de conservation.


1.5 Création d'aires marines nationales de conservation par voie législative

1.5.1
Les aires marines de conservation seront officiellement créées lorsque les modifications apportées à la Loi sur les parcs nationaux auront été adoptées par le Parlement du Canada ou en vertu d'une nouvelle loi sur la création d'aires marines nationales de conservation.

1.5.2
Quand de nouvelles aires marines nationales de conservation sont créées dans le cadre du règlement des revendications territoriales des autochtones, les limites finales de ces aires, de même que les droits de récolte et le mode de participation des autochtones au processus de planification et de gestion sont énoncés dans la loi suivant les conditions de l'entente sur le règlement des revendications territoriales. En attendant, une aire peut être mise à part à titre de réserve d'aire marine nationale de conservation en vertu de la loi, et les activités traditionnelles des peuples autochtones autorisés, telles que la chasse, la pêche et toute autre activité fondée sur les ressources marines, peuvent y être poursuivies.