Background

Context for Policy Revisions

The creation of marine protected areas has become an urgent concern of many coastal states. To accelerate the establishment of a Canadian system of marine protected areas, Parks Canada developed a policy for the establishment of national marine parks. It received Ministerial approval in 1986 following extensive public consultations.

Since then, an agreement was signed in 1987 with Ontario to establish Fathom Five in Georgian Bay as Canada's first national marine park. In 1988, Canada signed an agreement with British Columbia calling for the creation of a marine park at South Moresby in the Queen Charlotte Islands, and with Quebec in 1990 to examine the feasibility of establishing a joint federal provincial marine park at the confluence of the Saguenay Fiord and St. Lawrence Estuary. These new marine park proposals, as well as preliminary work on other park proposals, have provided considerable practical experience and opportunity for Parks Canada staff to work with officials from other government agencies and the public to implement the 1986 policy.

During this period, considerable effort has been spent at the national and international levels examining the fundamental principles and practices associated with planning and managing systems of marine protected areas. At the national level, Parks Canada and various advisory groups, interest groups and universities have sponsored several workshops, seminars and publications providing valuable insight and support for the establishment of marine protected areas in Canadian waters. As well, public consultation on the proposed revision to this policy has provided many useful suggestions.

At the international level, the 4th World Wilderness Congress (1987) and the 17th General Assembly of the International Union for the Conservation of Nature (IUCN) (1988) passed important resolutions setting out a broad policy framework for the planning and management of marine protected areas. In 1992, the IUCN prepared more detailed guidelines on marine protected areas that were tabled at the 4th World Congress on National Parks and Protected Areas.

The international community is urging all states to develop national and global representative systems of marine protected areas in order to meet the objectives of the World Conservation Strategy. Citing the Parks Canada approach as a possible model, coastal states are urged to develop a biogeographical classification system to aid in the selection of a truly representative system of marine protected areas. To help ensure their long-term viability, they urge that the establishment of marine protected areas be based on a high level of cooperation between the public and all levels of government. Furthermore, the areas set aside should be relatively large and managed on a sustainable basis.

While the basic tenets of the 1986 National Marine Parks Policy remain, the revised policy responds to the broad experience gained at all levels over the past several years, and to recent public comments. Policies have required some restructuring and clarification and some new principles and concepts have been introduced which Parks Canada hopes will facilitate the planning and management of a national system of marine protected areas in Canada. One of the changes made has been to refer to these areas as "national marine conservation areas" instead of "national marine parks." Parks Canada believes that this designation more accurately reflects the purpose and objectives of these areas.


Management and Planning Considerations in the Marine Environment
The policy recognizes that planning and management considerations in the marine environment differ from those associated with terrestrial national parks.

Differences in the nature of marine ecosystems are a fundamental consideration. For example, terrestrial parks are usually associated with semi-closed ecosystems dominated by components that are essentially fixed in space and subject to rates of change over relatively long periods of time. On the other hand, marine protected areas are almost always associated with open ecosystems that are large and dynamic and where rates of change associated with many important ecological processes involve relatively little time. Several pelagic, demersal and anadromous fish species and many of the marine mammals and invertebrate species undertake far-ranging migrations associated with their feeding or reproductive cycles.

The water column is the fundamental component in most marine ecosystems. The density of sea water allows it to suspend and transport materials over great distances and thereby link geographically isolated areas. It provides a transportation medium for pollutants that enter the sea from the atmosphere or from terrestrial run-off, and renders marine protected areas vulnerable to a wide range of potentially harmful downstream effects. This characteristic also generally affords marine ecosystems a greater capacity for natural regeneration than their terrestrial counterparts. The water column sustains primary production and provides for most of the habitat requirements of marine plants and animals (including benthic communities) through the transportation of nutrients, food and their larvae.

The nature and effect of human activities in the marine environment also differ from those on land. Maintaining the structural integrity of terrestrial ecosystems due to habitat loss and fragmentation associated with activities such as forestry, agriculture and transportation are usually critical concerns on land. However, they are less of a concern in marine environments. (Exceptions apply to estuarine and near-shore areas.) Of far greater concern in the sea are the effects of pollution and over-exploitation of resources that gradually alter physical, chemical and biological processes in ways that are not often immediately apparent.

It is important to understand that, for the most part, our knowledge of marine ecosystems lags far behind that of terrestrial ecosystems. Furthermore, the technology available to study marine ecosystems is not as extensive or as revealing as that used on land, and the logistics of operating in the marine environment make marine research a generally costly proposition.

The complexity of legislation and jurisdictions affecting the marine environment is also a significant consideration. For example, within Canada, there are at least 36 federal acts and 20 provincial and territorial acts together with numerous international conventions and accords that relate to the protection and use of the marine environment and marine resources. In view of the openness of marine ecosystems and the high degree of connectivity between marine environments and between these and upstream terrestrial activities, the long-term viability of marine protected areas will require close collaboration and cooperation across many jurisdictional boundaries.

The policy also recognizes the need for flexibility in the approach to the planning and management of these areas since from region to region, Canadians view the marine environment and the role of marine protected areas quite differently. This is a reflection of strongly held social and economic values concerning the protection and use of the marine environment and its resources. While Parks Canada believes these areas must make a meaningful contribution to the protection of Canada's marine heritage, it also believes that the objectives for these areas are unlikely to be achieved without the cooperation, support and continued involvement of those most directly affected by their establishment.

In addition to their natural features, most national marine conservation areas contain significant cultural resources. These will be managed according to the Cultural Resource Management Policy found in Part III of this document.


The Concept of A National Marine Conservation Area

In keeping with guidance from the IUCN, Parks Canada is committed to establishing a system of marine protected areas that is representative of the full range of Canada's marine environments. For this reason, and to assist in their effective conservation, these areas will ideally be quite large. For example, the proposed study area for the Gwaii Haanas National Marine Conservation Area encompasses 3180 km2 of coastal waters.

National marine conservation areas will include the sea bed, its subsoil and the overlying water column. In coastal areas, they may include wetlands, river estuaries, islands and other coastal lands. However, they may also be established wholly offshore to protect marine areas some distance from Canada's coastline.

Since marine protected areas are vulnerable to downstream effects associated with adjacent terrestrial areas, establishing a marine conservation area in proximity to an existing national park or another protected area could provide additional protection to a conservation area.

The management philosophy associated with national marine conservation areas will differ from that in terrestrial national parks in one very important respect. Instead of trying to protect marine ecosystems in a state essentially unaltered by human activity, which is the primary goal in terrestrial national parks, management effort in national marine conservation areas will be directed towards the conservation of these areas in the sense that it is defined in the World Conservation Strategy. Therefore, the focus will be on the management of a wide range of human activities to ensure the greatest sustainable benefit to present generations while maintaining the potential of the area to meet the needs and aspirations of future generations. In this context, conservation embraces a number of management concepts including preservation, maintenance, sustainable use, and restoration of the natural marine environment.

The success of this program will hinge on the establishment of integrated management systems which, ideally, should help to coordinate the management of marine and terrestrial areas well beyond the boundaries of a national marine conservation area. In some cases, this would involve the participation of Parks Canada in integrated management programs sponsored by other agencies. In other instances, it will require that Parks Canada take a lead role in facilitating and coordinating the efforts of government and non-government agencies and affected users to collaborate and share in the stewardship of these areas. In the long term, it is hoped that these areas might serve as models for a more holistic approach to the planning and management of marine environments.

An essential feature of all national marine conservation areas will be the setting aside of some zones for protection purposes. These zones will recognize the existence of particularly significant and vulnerable ecosystem components or cultural resources, their importance for ecological research or environmental monitoring, and their potential for non-consumptive recreational use and public education. These zones would be identified during the preparation of a proposal to create a national marine conservation area.

While amendments were made to the National Parks Act in 1988 to allow for the establishment of marine protected areas on an interim basis, new legislation will be required to better reflect the mandate and overall responsibility of the Minister for the administration, control and coordinated management of national marine conservation areas to ensure the protection of their associated marine ecosystems. This legislation must also recognize the responsibilities of other federal and provincial ministers in areas such as the administration and control of fisheries, navigation and shipping.

Introduction

Contexte de la révision de la politique

De nombreux états côtiers sont maintenant sensibilisés à l'urgence de créer des aires marines protégées. Dans le but d'accélérer la création d'un réseau canadien d'aires marines protégées, Parcs Canada a élaboré une politique sur les parcs marins nationaux, qui a reçu l'approbation du ministre en 1986, après de nombreuses consultations publiques.

Depuis, Fathom Five, dans la baie Georgienne, est devenu le premier parc marin au Canada en 1987. L'année suivante, le Canada signait une entente avec la Colombie-Britannique en vue de la création d'un parc marin à Moresby-Sud, dans les îles de la Reine-Charlotte, puis une autre, en 1990, avec le Québec, en vue d'une étude sur la faisabilité d'un parc marin fédéral-provincial au confluent du fjord du Saguenay et de l'estuaire du Saint-Laurent. Ces nouveaux projets de parcs marins et les travaux préliminaires sur d'autres projets de parcs ont permis au personnel de Parcs Canada d'acquérir une expérience pratique considérable et de collaborer avec des représentants d'autres organismes gouvernementaux et du public à l'application de la politique de 1986.

Durant cette période, beaucoup d'efforts ont été consacrés à l'étude des principes et des pratiques de planification et de gestion des réseaux d'aires marines protégées, tant à l'échelle nationale qu'à l'échelle internationale. Au pays, Parcs Canada et divers groupes consultatifs, des groupes d'intérêt et des universités ont parrainé des ateliers, des séminaires et des publications qui ont ouvert des perspectives intéressantes en plus d'appuyer la création d'aires marines protégées au Canada. De même, les consultations publiques sur la révision de cette politique ont permis de recueillir beaucoup de suggestions utiles.

À l'échelle internationale, le 4th World Wilderness Congress (1987) et la 17e Assemblée générale de l'Alliance mondiale pour la nature (IUCN) (1988) ont adopté d'importantes résolutions proposant un cadre général de politique sur la planification et la gestion des aires marines protégées. En 1992, l'IUCN a également rédigé des directives plus détaillées sur les aires marines protégées, directives qui ont été présentées au 4th World Congress on National Parks and Protected Areas.

La communauté internationale exhorte tous les États à créer des réseaux nationaux et mondiaux représentatifs d'aires marines protégées afin d'atteindre les objectifs de la Stratégie mondiale de la conservation. Citant l'approche de Parcs Canada comme modèle possible, elle encourage les États côtiers à élaborer un système de classement biogéographique pour faciliter la création de réseaux vraiment représentatifs d'aires marines protégées. Afin d'assurer la viabilité à long terme de ces réseaux, elle leur conseille de s'assurer la collaboration du public et de tous les paliers d'administration pour sélectionner des aires relativement vastes, gérées en fonction des objectifs de développement durable.

Bien qu'elle conserve la doctrine de base de la politique de 1986 sur les parcs marins nationaux, la nouvelle politique tient compte de l'expérience considérable acquise à tous les niveaux depuis, et des commentaires du public. Les politiques ont dû être restructurées et clarifiées, et de nouveaux principes et concepts ont été introduits, qui devraient, selon pour Parcs Canada, faciliter la planification et la gestion d'un réseau national d'aires marines protégées au Canada. L'un des changements effectués porte sur la désignation de ces aires qui deviennent des aires marines nationales de conservation au lieu de parcs marins nationaux. Parcs Canada croit que la nouvelle désignation reflète mieux le but et les objectifs visés par la création de ces aires.


Gestion et planification en milieu marin

La politique reconnaît que les activités de planification et de gestion menées en milieu marin et dans les parcs nationaux terrestres diffèrent.

La première chose à considérer est la nature particulière des écosystèmes marins. En effet, les parcs terrestres sont en général associés à des écosystèmes semi-fermés, dominés par des composantes qui sont essentiellement fixes dans l'espace, et dont le rythme d'évolution est plutôt lent. Par ailleurs, les aires marines protégées sont presque toujours associées à des écosystèmes ouverts, vastes et dynamiques, où de nombreux procédés écologiques importants connaissent un rythme d'évolution plutôt rapide. Plusieurs espèces de poissons pélagiques, démersaux et anadromes, et plusieurs mammifères et invertébrés marins ont des cycles alimentaires ou reproductifs qui les amènent à entreprendre de longues migrations.

La colonne d'eau est une composante fondamentale de la plupart des écosystèmes marins. En raison de sa densité, l'eau de mer peut transporter des matières en suspension sur de grandes distances et donc relier des régions isolées sur le plan géographique. Elle peut aussi transporter les polluants qui viennent de l'atmosphère ou des écoulements terrestres, et rend les aires marines protégées vulnérables aux effets de diverses activités menées en amont et susceptibles d'être nocives. Cette caractéristique confère souvent aux écosystèmes marins une capacité de régénération naturelle supérieure à celle des écosystèmes terrestres. La colonne d'eau soutient la production primaire et fournit un habitat à la plupart des plantes et des animaux, y compris aux communautés benthiques, car elle assure le transport des nutriments, de la nourriture et des larves.

Les activités humaines ont aussi des effets différents sur les milieux marins et terrestres. Sur terre, le maintien de l'intégrité structurelle des écosystèmes, menacée par la perte d'habitat et par la fragmentation qui sont liées à la foresterie, à l'agriculture et au transport, constitue habituellement une grande source de préoccupation. Le problème se pose moins en mer, sauf dans les estuaires et à proximité des côtes. En mer, il faut avant tout se méfier des effets de la pollution et de la surexploitation des ressources, qui modifient graduellement les procédés physiques, chimiques et biologiques, souvent sans qu'on s'en aperçoive tout de suite.

Il faut bien comprendre que nous connaissons en général beaucoup moins les écosystèmes marins que les écosystèmes terrestres. De plus, les techniques applicables à l'étude des écosystèmes marins sont moins nombreuses et moins efficaces que celles qui sont utilisées sur terre, et l'effort logistique requis en milieu marin rend la recherche marine très coûteuse.

La complexité des lois et des sphères d'attribution qui se rapportent à l'environnement marin pose aussi un problème considérable. Par exemple, au Canada, on doit tenir compte d'au moins 36 lois fédérales et 20 lois provinciales et territoriales sur la protection et l'utilisation de l'environnement marin et des ressources marines, sans compter les diverses conventions et ententes internationales qui traitent du même sujet. Étant donné l'aspect découvert des écosystèmes marins et la grande connectivité qui existe entre les différents milieux marins et entre ces milieux et les activités terrestres en amont, la viabilité à long terme des aires marines protégées exige l'étroite collaboration des compétences en cause.

La politique reconnaît aussi la nécessité d'une approche souple en vue de la planification et de la gestion de ces aires puisque, d'une région à l'autre, les Canadiens voient le milieu marin et le rôle des aires marines protégées d'un oeil fort différent. Ceci reflète les valeurs socio-économiques profondes qui sont associées à la protection et à l'utilisation du milieu marin et de ses ressources. Parcs Canada considère que ces aires ont un rôle important à jouer dans la protection du patrimoine marin du Canada, mais il croit aussi qu'il est peu probable d'atteindre les objectifs fixés sans la collaboration, l'appui et l'engagement de ceux qui sont le plus directement touchés par leur création.

En plus des composantes naturelles, la plupart des aires marines nationales de conservation contiennent des ressources culturelles importantes. Celles-ci doivent être gérées conformément à la Politique de gestion des ressources culturelles présentée à la partie III de ce document.


Le concept d'aire marine nationale de conservation

Compte tenu de l'orientation proposée par l'IUCN, Parcs Canada s'est engagé à créer un réseau d'aires marines protégées représentatif de tous les milieux marins du Canada. Par conséquent, et pour faciliter les efforts de conservation, il faut idéalement choisir des aires assez vastes. Ainsi, la région à l'étude en vue de la création de l'aire marine nationale de conservation de Gwaii Haanas couvre 3 180 kilomètres carrés d'eaux côtières.

Le fond marin, le sous-sol et la colonne d'eau qui les recouvre sont compris dans les aires marines nationales de conservation. Dans les régions côtières, les terres humides, les estuaires, les îles et d'autres terres côtières peuvent être inclus. Cependant, on peut aussi créer des aires marines au large afin de protéger des secteurs marins situés à distance des côtes canadiennes.

Étant donné que les aires marines protégées sont vulnérables aux activités terrestres menées en amont, la proximité d'un parc national ou d'une aire protégée déjà en place pourrait contribuer à la protection des aires de conservation.

La philosophie de gestion associée aux aires marines nationales de conservation et celle qui a cours dans les parcs nationaux terrestres sont très différentes sur un point. En effet, au lieu d'essayer de protéger les écosystèmes marins contre les effets de toute activité humaine, ce qui est le but premier des parcs terrestres nationaux, la gestion des aires marines nationales de conservation vise la conservation au sens de la Stratégie mondiale de la conservation. Par conséquent, l'accent est mis sur la gestion d'activités humaines variées dans le but d'offrir tous les avantages durables possibles aux générations actuelles, tout en gardant le potentiel pour répondre aux besoins et aux aspirations des générations à venir. Bien entendu, dans ce contexte, la conservation englobe une foule de concepts de gestion, dont la préservation, le maintien, l'utilisation durable et la restauration du milieu marin naturel.

Parcs Canada croit que le succès du programme repose sur la création de systèmes de gestion intégrée qui devraient, idéalement, aider à coordonner la gestion des aires marines et terrestres bien au-delà des limites des aires marines nationales de conservation. Dans certains cas, ceci implique la participation de Parcs Canada à des programmes de gestion intégrée parrainés par d'autres organismes. Dans d'autres, il joue un rôle d'initiateur en vue de faciliter et de coordonner les efforts des organismes gouvernementaux et non gouvernementaux ainsi que des utilisateurs, en matière de collaboration et de gérance. À long terme, on espère que ces aires serviront de modèles pour une planification et une gestion plus holistiques des milieux marins.

Un des éléments essentiels de toutes les aires marines nationales de conservation est la mise en réserve de certaines zones dans un but de protection. Ces zones servent à reconnaître l'existence de ressources culturelles ou de composantes d'écosystèmes particulièrement importantes et vulnérables, leur importance pour la recherche écologique ou la surveillance environnementale et leur potentiel à des fins de loisirs non abusifs et d'éducation du public. Elles sont identifiées dans le cadre des préparatifs d'un projet de création d'une aire marine nationale de conservation.

Bien que la Loi sur les parcs nationaux ait été modifiée en 1988 pour tenir compte de la création d'aires marines protégées provisoires, il faut une nouvelle loi et de nouveaux règlements pour refléter le mandat et la responsabilité globale du ministre en matière d'administration, de contrôle et de gestion coordonnée des aires marines nationales de conservation, afin d'assurer la protection des écosystèmes marins qui s'y rattachent. Cette législation doit aussi reconnaître les responsabilités des autres ministres fédéraux et provinciaux dans des domaines comme l'administration et le contrôle de la pêche, de la navigation et du transport maritime.