4.0 Public Understanding, Appreciation and Enjoyment of National Parks

National Parks are "dedicated to the people of Canada for their benefit, education and enjoyment ... and shall be maintained and made use of so as to leave them unimpaired for the enjoyment of future generations." Since these words were enshrined in the National Parks Act in 1930, many millions of Canadians have visited their national parks. Millions more in Canada and around the world have enjoyed books, films, articles and photographs depicting the intricate wonders of these special places. From these direct and indirect experiences has grown an increased level of understanding and appreciation of the natural values for which the parks are established and protected. This has, in turn, led to strong public support for maintaining the ecological, educational and cultural values of the parks by people of widely varied interests and capabilities. Maintaining this support is essential to completing the national parks system as well as for protecting the existing parks.

To fulfill the obligations of the National Parks Act and serve the people of Canada, park values must be maintained forever. A comprehensive Visitor Activity Management Process has been developed that is predicated on analysis of social science information and integrated with natural and cultural science information. Clear service objectives must be used in determining benefit, education and enjoyment opportunities, since the provision of such opportunities must be measured against the obligations imposed by the Act to maintain the parks unimpaired. This means that not every kind of use requested by the public can be provided.

In meeting the obligations of the Act, Parks Canada does not stand alone. Provincial, territorial, municipal and private agencies will be encouraged to provide complementary opportunities, programs and facilities outside national parks in ways that respect shared ecosystems and the distinctive qualities of local communities. The practice of environmentally sustainable tourism will constitute an important mutual linkage with other land management agencies and private interests.


4.1 Management of Visitor Activities

4.1.1
The Visitor Activities Management Process will be used to match visitor interests with the specific educational and outdoor recreation opportunities determined for each national park through the management plan.

4.1.2
Consistent with maintaining ecological integrity, each national park may offer a variety of outdoor recreation opportunities conforming to the zoning determined in the management plan. These will serve visitors of diverse interests, ages, physical capabilities and skills so that they can understand and experience the park's natural environment .

4.1.3
Only outdoor activities which promote the appreciation of a park's purpose and objectives, which respect the integrity of the ecosystem, and which call for a minimum of built facilities will be permitted.

4.1.4
As new or modified forms of outdoor recreation emerge, each will be assessed for its appropriateness nationally before consideration in the park management planning process. Individual park management plans will then specify the types and ranges of both new and existing appropriate outdoor recreation activities and their supporting facilities. Parks Canada will also periodically review its national directives to ensure that new forms of outdoor recreation are adequately considered.

4.1.5
The private sector and non-governmental organizations, such as volunteers, cooperating associations and the Canadian Parks Partnership, will be encouraged to provide skills development programs that will increase visitor understanding, appreciation and enjoyment of the national parks.

4.1.6
An integrated visitor activities data base will be developed and kept up to date for each national park to provide, along with research, monitoring and evaluation, the visitor information required for park management decisions and state of the parks reporting to Parliament. The information gained will be used to add to or improve existing opportunities, and in the development and review of park management plans, service plans, and visitor risk management programs. Both activity data and park infrastructure and environment data will be incorporated into risk assessments. Risk control measures will consider the experience needs of the visitor and promote visitor self-reliance accordingly.

4.1.7
Parks Canada will use a variety of direct and indirect strategies for managing public use. Examples of direct strategies include zoning, rationing use intensity, restricting activities, and law enforcement. Examples of indirect strategies include facility design, information dispersal, and cost recovery mechanisms.

4.1.8
Provisions for public understanding, appreciation and enjoyment of the cultural resources located in national parks, and associated activities, services and facilities, will be made in accordance with the policy on Cultural Resource Management.


4.2 Interpretation and Public Education

4.2.1
Parks Canada will continue to develop and enhance its information, interpretation and extension programs and services as a principal means of achieving its protection and presentation objectives, building constituencies and fostering national identity.

4.2.2
Information will be made available to all Canadians, as well as to park visitors, to encourage and assist them in understanding, appreciating, enjoying and protecting their national parks.

4.2.3
Parks Canada will welcome visitors and make them aware of the opportunities for understanding, appreciating and enjoying each national park through its programs, services and facilities. It will also provide information on relevant regulations and the necessary skills and equipment to safely participate in an activity. Particular efforts will be made to provide visitor orientation at key locations to ensure that visitors understand the purpose of national parks and their role in protecting them; can easily locate park features, services and facilities; and can freely choose whether they wish to participate in an activity or not. Visitors will be made aware of risk assessment information and of their responsibility to incorporate this information into their activity planning.

4.2.4
Parks Canada will provide the public with interesting and enjoyable opportunities to observe and discover each park's natural, cultural, historical and environmental features and processes, as well as the park's resource management issues and practices, both within and outside national parks. It will present these opportunities in a variety of ways using personal and non-personal interpretive techniques. Parks Canada may present park themes and messages directly or indirectly through cooperative arrangements.

4.2.5
Parks Canada will relate park themes and messages to broader environmental issues to provide the public with opportunities to acquire the knowledge and skills to make environmentally responsible decisions.

4.2.6
Parks Canada will provide interpretation programs on challenges to maintaining the ecological integrity of national parks in order to foster greater public understanding of the role that protected spaces play in a healthy environment.

4.2.7
Information on a park and its themes will be accessible to all visitors. Where the location of a service or facility illustrating the themes prevents access by persons with disabilities, special programs or services will be offered.

4.2.8
Institutions and groups may be permitted to use the parks for educational activities or research, in ways that do not impair the ecosystem or limit enjoyment by other users.

4.2.9
Parks Canada will be responsible for the preparation and presentation of interpretation programs and special events. In meeting this objective, Parks Canada will welcome and seek the assistance of informed individuals, professionals, and interest groups.


4.3 Visitor Services and Facilities

4.3.1
Parks Canada, working in cooperation with others, will offer high-quality visitor services by ensuring that park resources do not deteriorate and that quality visitor experiences are not diminished.

4.3.2
Parks Canada will cooperate with the tourism sector toward fulfilling public needs for a broad range of essential services and facilities within the regions surrounding national parks, particularly as they relate to the practice of environmentally sustainable tourism. To avoid impacts on park ecosystems and to contribute to regional economic development, the location of commercial services and facilities should take place in adjacent communities. Parks Canada will locate its own administrative facilities outside the parks wherever possible provided that the location would have the least impact on a shared ecosystem.

4.3.3
Certain services and facilities arf essential for public access to, as well as understanding, appreciation and enjoyment of, heritage areas. Provision of such services and facilities within national parks will be based upon the following considerations:

  • impacts on the ecosystem as well as on specific natural and cultural resources;
  • contribution to the interpretation of park themes and messages; heritage character and historical appropriateness;
  • types of opportunities and activities appropriate to the area, as set out in management plans;
  • a high degree of concern for site planning and choice of construction materials;
  • environmentally appropriate design, aesthetics, architectural motif, and energy conservation; and
  • the needs and expectations of visitors, consistent with park objectives.

4.3.4
Within national parks, essential services and facilities will serve the basic needs of the public, and will be directly related to the provision of understanding, appreciation and enjoyment of the natural and cultural heritage. While protection of the environment and heritage resources is paramount, Parks Canada is committed to the principles of service excellence. Normally, services and facilities will be grouped together within appropriate zones for energy conservation and protection of park resources, public convenience and equality of access.

4.3.5
The involvement of the public including private and voluntary organizations, such as cooperating associations and the Canadian Parks Partnership, will be encouraged in the planning, development and operation of appropriate services and facilities for visitors in national parks.

4.3.6
The setting of rates controlled by Parks Canada for use of services and facilities provided either by Parks Canada or by private enterprise should take into account such market factors as supply and demand, and the price, quality and location of related services outside national parks.

4.3.7
Parks Canada will continue to develop and adopt architectural and environmental design guidelines and standards for each park so that the scale, site, accessibility, form, aesthetics and function of structures are in harmony with the setting.


4.4 Access and Circulation

4.4.1
Where feasible, access and circulation within national parks will be designed to supply opportunities for understanding, appreciation and enjoyment for visitors of all ages, skills and physical abilities. Special information programs will be offered where direct access is excessively challenging or inappropriate. All access and circulation will be defined in management plans and conform with zoning.

4.4.2
Non-motorized means of transportation will be favoured in national parks wherever feasible. Public transit for park purposes will be preferred where special circumstances warrant.

4.4.3
Access by private or commercial aircraft within national parks will not be allowed except to remote areas where reasonable travel alternatives are not available; where it has been authorized through the management planning process and specified by regulation; and under strict controls designating landing sites, times, flight lines, altitudes and any special conditions related to resource protection, including wildlife harassment or the enjoyment of the park by other visitors.

4.4.4
Roads and trails may be constructed if their primary function is to serve park purposes, they have been approved under the park management plan and they meet the full requirements of the Federal Environmental Assessment and Review Process. New roads and trails that constitute through routes designed to serve other than park purposes will not be considered.


4.5 Visitor Accommodation

4.5.1
Within national parks, preference will be given to basic accommodation facilities such as campgrounds, hostels and shelters which enhance visitors' understanding, appreciation and enjoyment of the parks' special values and which provide access to additional, enjoyable park experiences including a range of appropriate recreational opportunities.

4.5.2
In particular, camping opportunities, activities and services are directly related to the national park mandate of providing benefit, education and enjoyment to park visitors and, therefore, will be the principal form of accommodation made available to the majority of park visitors.

4.5.3
In some national parks, the commercial sector may be invited to provide roofed accommodation due to severe climate conditions and the lack of existing or potential adjacent facilities. Any such facility must not impair the wilderness experience of others, will be assessed within the management planning process, and if authorized must stringently conform to the zoning plan.

4.5.4
Where commercial accommodation is provided within national parks, it will enhance understanding, appreciation and enjoyment of natural settings; provide access to additional park experiences, including a range of recreational opportunities; and be available for use by the general public.

4.0 Connaissance, appréciation et utilisation des parcs nationaux par le public

Les parcs nationaux sont dédiés au peuple canadien pour son bénéfice, son instruction et sa jouissance... et doivent être entretenus et utilisés de façon à rester intacts pour les générations futures. Depuis que ces mots ont été insérés dans la Loi sur les parcs nationaux de 1930, plusieurs millions de Canadiens ont visité les parcs nationaux. Des millions d'autres personnes dans le monde se sont intéressées aux merveilleuses complexités de ces endroits remarquables par les livres, films, articles et photographies les décrivant. Grâce à ces expériences directes et indirectes, le public apprécie et comprend de façon accrue pourquoi on crée et on protège les parcs. Ainsi des personnes, qui ont des intérêts et des capacités très différents, ont accordé leur appui au maintien des valeurs écologiques, éducatives et culturelles des parcs. Il est indispensable de conserver cet appui pour concrétiser l'achèvement du réseau des parcs nationaux ainsi que la protection des parcs existants.

Pour s'acquitter des obligations décrites dans la Loi sur les parcs nationaux et pour servir le peuple canadien, Parcs Canada doit préserver à jamais les valeurs des parcs. Il a conçu à cette fin un processus de gestion des activités des visiteurs fondé sur des données sociales, naturelles et culturelles. Des objectifs clairs de service devront être établis pour permettre au public de découvrir, d'apprécier et d'utiliser les parcs tout en les laissant intacts pour les générations futures, comme l'exige la Loi sur les parcs nationaux. Cela signifie qu'il est impossible d'autoriser toutes les utilisations demandées par le public.

Il ne revient pas à Parcs Canada de concrétiser à lui seul les obligations de la loi. Les organismes provinciaux, territoriaux, municipaux et privés seront encouragés à fournir des occasions, des programmes et des installations complémentaires à l'extérieur des parcs nationaux. Ils respectent les écosystèmes communs ainsi que les qualités particulières des communautés locales. Le tourisme environnementalement viable permettra d'établir des rapports avec les autres organismes de gestion du territoire et le secteur privé.


4.1 Gestion des activités à l'intention des visiteurs

4.1.1
Parcs Canada emploie le processus de gestion des activités des visiteurs pour faire correspondre les intérêts des visiteurs aux possibilités de récréation de plein air et d'éducation décrites dans le plan de gestion de chaque parc.

4.1.2
En tenant compte de l'objectif de maintien de l'intégrité écologique et du zonage précisé dans le plan de gestion, chaque parc national offre une gamme d'activités de récréation de plein air permettant aux visiteurs de tous âges, intérêts et capacités physiques, de comprendre et d'apprécier l'environnement naturel.

4.1.3
Seules les activités de récréation de plein air, qui favorisent l'appréciation des buts et des objectifs du parc, qui respectent l'intégrité écologique et qui exigent peu d'installations, sont permises.

4.1.4
Au fur et à mesure de l'apparition de nouvelles formes de récréation de plein air, on évaluera sur le plan national si leur pratique est acceptable dans le contexte des parcs, avant de les prendre en considération dans le cadre du processus de planification de la gestion. Le plan de gestion identifie les types et la variété jugés appropriés d'activités récréatives de plein air existantes et nouvelles ainsi que les installations de soutien pour le parc. Parcs Canada révise périodiquement ses directives en fonction de l'émergence de ces nouvelles formes récréatives de plein air.

4.1.5
Parcs Canada encourage les organismes non gouvernementaux et le secteur privé (bénévoles, associations coopérantes et les Partenaires des parcs canadiens) à offrir des programmes de développement des connaissances personnelles et des habiletés physiques dans le but d'augmenter l'intérêt et l'appréciation des parcs nationaux par le public.

4.1.6
Pour chaque parc national, il faut concevoir et tenir à jour une base intégrée de données sur les activités des visiteurs qui fournira, de concert avec les comptes rendus de recherche, de surveillance et d'évaluation, les renseignements sur les visiteurs dont la direction des parcs a besoin pour prendre des décisions et rédiger le rapport au Parlement sur l'état des parcs. L'information recueillie servira à augmenter ou à améliorer l'offre de service existante et à réviser les plans de gestion des parcs, les plans de service et les programmes de gestion du risque pour les visiteurs. Les données sur les activités de même que les renseignements sur l'infrastructure du parc et l'environnement seront intégrés aux évaluations des risques. Les mesures de contrôle des risques tiendront compte des attentes des visiteurs et favoriseront leur autonomie.

4.1.7
Parcs Canada a recours à des méthodes directes et indirectes de gestion de l'utilisation des parcs par le public. Les méthodes directes comprennent entre autres le zonage, le respect des lois, les activités restreintes et la rationalisation de l'intensité de la fréquentation. Les méthodes indirectes englobent la conception des installations, la diffusion de renseignements et le recouvrement des coûts.

4.1.8
Parcs Canada assure la compréhension, l'appréciation et la jouissance par le public des ressources culturelles situées dans les parcs nationaux, ainsi que les activités, services et installations qui leur sont associés, conformément à la Politique sur la gestion des ressources culturelles.


4.2 Interprétation et éducation du public

4.2.1
Parcs Canada continue d'élaborer et de promouvoir ses programmes et services d'information, d'interprétation et de vulgarisation et d'en concevoir de nouveaux afin de concrétiser les objectifs de protection et de mise en valeur, d'attirer la clientèle et de susciter un sentiment de fierté nationale.

4.2.2
Des renseignements sur les parcs nationaux sont mis à la disposition de tous les Canadiens et des visiteurs des parcs, afin de les encourager et de les aider à comprendre, à apprécier, à protéger les parcs nationaux et à en jouir.

4.2.3
Parcs Canada accueille et sensibilise les visiteurs aux différentes possibilités de connaître, d'apprécier et de jouir de chaque parc national, avec ses programmes, installations et services. Les visiteurs sont également tenus informés des règlements pertinents, des aptitudes et de l'équipement nécessaires pour participer sans risque aux activités. À des endroits stratégiques, on explique aux visiteurs à quoi servent les parcs nationaux, comment ils peuvent les protéger, où sont situés les caractéristiques et les services et installations des parcs et où se déroulent les activités auxquelles ils peuvent participer. Les visiteurs sont également informés des risques possibles et de leur part de responsabilité à cet égard.

4.2.4
Parcs Canada offre aux visiteurs des possibilités intéressantes et agréables d'observer et d'interpréter les caractéristiques naturelles, culturelles, historiques et environnementales de chaque parc. Il leur fait part des enjeux et des pratiques de gestion des ressources. Les thèmes et messages d'interprétation sont offerts autant à l'intérieur qu'à l'extérieur du parc, au moyen de méthodes individuelles et autres et en ayant aussi recours à des ententes de coopération.

4.2.5
Parcs Canada établit une corrélation entre les thèmes et les messages du parc et les grandes questions environnementales afin de permettre au public d'acquérir les connaissances et les compétences dont il a besoin pour prendre des décisions qui tiennent compte de l'environnement.

4.2.6
Parcs Canada propose des programmes d'interprétation qui expliquent jusqu'à quel point il est difficile de maintenir l'intégrité écologique des parcs nationaux. Le public peut ainsi mieux comprendre que, dans un environnement sain, il est indispensable d'avoir des espaces protégés.

4.2.7
L'information sur le parc et ses thèmes doit être accessibles à tous les visiteurs. Lorsque l'emplacement du service ou de l'installation présentant les thèmes empêche l'accès aux personnes handicapées, des programmes ou des services compensatoires doivent être offerts.

4.2.8
Les institutions et les groupes sont autorisés à utiliser les parcs pour des activités éducatives ou de recherche. Ces activités ne doivent ni restreindre l'appréciation du parc par les autres utilisateurs ni se répercuter de façon négative sur les écosystèmes du parc.

4.2.9
Parcs Canada est responsable de l'élaboration et de la présentation des programmes d'interprétation et d'événements spéciaux. Afin de rencontrer cet objectif, il demande de l'aide de personnes averties, de professionnels et d'autres groupes d'intérêts.


4.3 Installations et services offerts aux visiteurs

4.3.1
Parcs Canada et ses partenaires offrent des services de grande qualité aux visiteurs tout en s'assurant que les ressources du parc ne soient pas détériorées et que la qualité de l'expérience des visiteurs n'en soit pas diminuée.

4.3.2
Parcs Canada collabore avec le secteur touristique, à combler les besoins du public en matière d'installations et de services essentiels à proximité des parcs nationaux. Le domaine du tourisme environnementalement viable retient tout particulièrement l'attention. Il faut prévoir des installations et des services commerciaux dans les collectivités adjacentes aux parcs afin d'éviter de nuire aux écosystèmes des parcs et afin de contribuer au développement économique régional. Lorsque possible, Parcs Canada doit installer ses bâtiments administratifs à l'extérieur des parcs pour éviter des répercussions négatives sur les écosystèmes communs.

4.3.3
Certains services et installations sont essentiels pour l'accès du public et pour la compréhension, l'appréciation et la jouissance des aires du patrimoine. Voici les éléments dont il faut tenir compte au moment de fournir des installations et services dans les parcs nationaux :

  • répercussions sur les écosystèmes ainsi que sur les ressources culturelles et naturelles spécifiques;
  • interprétation des thèmes et messages des parcs;
  • caractère patrimonial et exactitude historique;
  • possibilités et activités adaptées au secteur et figurant dans les plans de gestion;
  • aménagement soigné et choix judicieux des matériaux;
  • conception soucieuse de l'environnement, esthétique, architecture, et conservation de l'énergie; et
  • attentes et besoins des visiteurs et objectifs des parcs.

4.3.4
Dans les parcs nationaux, les services et installations doivent répondre aux besoins fondamentaux du public et seront axés sur la compréhension, l'appréciation et la jouissance du patrimoine naturel et culturel. Bien que la protection de l'environnement et des ressources du patrimoine soit sa seule préoccupation, Parcs Canada s'engage également à respecter le principe d'excellence de service. Services et installations sont également regroupés dans des zones appropriées pour des raisons de conservation de l'énergie, de protection des ressources du parc, de commodité et d'accès.

4.3.5
On encourage la participation des organismes privés et des bénévoles, tels que les associations coopérantes et les Partenaires des parcs canadiens, dans la planification, l'aménagement et l'administration de services et d'installations destinés aux visiteurs dans les parcs nationaux.

4.3.6
La fixation des tarifs contrôlés par Parcs Canada pour l'utilisation des installations et des services fournis, soit par Parcs Canada, soit par des entreprises privées, doit tenir compte de facteurs du marché tels que l'offre et la demande, les prix, la qualité et l'emplacement des services connexes à l'extérieur des parcs nationaux.

4.3.7
Parcs Canada continue d'élaborer et d'adopter, pour chaque parc, des lignes directrices relatives aux normes et à la conception architecturale et environnementale. La taille, l'emplacement, l'accessibilité, la forme, l'apparence et les fonctions des structures restent en harmonie avec leur milieu.


4.4 Accès et circulation

4.4.1
Lorsque possible, l'accès et la circulation à l'intérieur des parcs nationaux sont conçus afin de permettre aux visiteurs de tous âges, aptitudes et capacités physiques de comprendre, d'apprécier les parcs et d'en jouir. Si l'accès direct est difficile, voire impossible, il faut proposer des programmes d'information spéciaux. Les plans de gestion définissent l'accès et la circulation qui doivent être conformes au zonage.

4.4.2
Dans la mesure du possible, les parcs nationaux sont dotés de moyens de transport non motorisés. Cependant, lorsque des transports motorisés s'imposent pour répondre aux objectifs du parc, la préférence est accordée aux transports en commun.

4.4.3
L'accès au moyen d'aéronefs commerciaux ou privés n'est autorisé à l'intérieur des parcs nationaux que dans les secteurs reculés lorsqu'il n'existe aucune autre possibilité raisonnable d'accès et qu'il est permis dans le cadre du processus de planification de gestion et les règlements; celui-ci est d'ailleurs soumis à une réglementation rigoureuse quant à la désignation des terrains d'atterrissage, aux plans de vol, à l'altitude, aux périodes et aux conditions particulières reliées à la protection des ressources (il faut éviter de nuire à la faune et ne pas déranger les autres visiteurs).

4.4.4
Des routes et des sentiers peuvent être construits s'ils ont pour but premier de répondre aux objectifs du parc, s'ils ont été approuvés dans les plans de gestion et s'ils satisfont aux pleines exigences du Processus fédéral d'évaluation et d'examen en matière d'environnement. De nouvelles routes et sentiers de transit conçus à d'autres fins ne sont pas considérés.


4.5 Hébergement

4.5.1
Dans les parcs nationaux, des services d'hébergement de base comme des terrains de camping, auberges et refuges ont préséance parce qu'ils permettent aux visiteurs de mieux comprendre et apprécier les valeurs spéciales des parcs et d'en jouir. Ils ajoutent à la qualité des séjours des visiteurs et conviennent aussi à une gamme d'activités de récréation permises.

4.5.2
Le camping, en particulier, ainsi que les activités et les services s'y rattachant, retiennent l'attention, car ils sont directement reliés au mandat des parcs nationaux : amener le public à comprendre et utiliser les parcs nationaux et à en bénéficier. Le camping constitue la principale forme d'hébergement proposée aux visiteurs.

4.5.3
Dans certains parcs nationaux, le secteur privé est appelé à offrir un hébergement autre à cause des conditions climatiques rigoureuses et de l'absence d'installations appropriées à proximité. Les installations font l'objet d'un examen dans le cadre du processus de planification de gestion, ne doivent pas nuire au séjour en milieu sauvage des autres visiteurs et si elles sont autorisées, doivent se conformer au plan de zonage.

4.5.4
L'hébergement fourni par le secteur privé dans un parc national doit aider le visiteur à comprendre et à apprécier le cadre naturel afin d'en jouir, et lui procurer des possibilités de loisirs plus vastes et être accessible au public en général.