1.0 The National Parks System

National parks protect representative examples of the Canadian landscape. To this end, Parks Canada has identified 39 terrestrial natural regions across Canada, each of which warrants representation in the national parks system. Efforts to create new parks are concentrated on those natural regions that do not have a national park.

National park establishment work is guided by the National Parks System Plan. The plan provides a description of each of the 39 National Park Natural Regions and the status of national park establishment in each. Parks Canada will periodically update the plan, including the listing of representative natural areas which are identified during regional analysis studies. In addition, Parks Canada will keep up to date an action plan to describe the activities which must be undertaken to complete the representation of each of the national park natural regions.

Parks Canada, acting alone, cannot protect all the areas identified as representative of Canada's natural regions. But by making public the system plan and action plan, Parks Canada hopes to encourage other public agencies and appropriate private organizations to work towards protecting areas that will not be included within the national park system.

Public support and the cooperation of other levels of government are essential in establishing new national parks or adjusting the boundaries of existing national parks. The park establishment process is therefore based upon public consultation and intergovernmental cooperation.

There is no rigid process for establishing new national parks. Each situation is unique and the steps leading up to the creation of a new national park reflect individual circumstances. The normal sequence, however, is characterized by five steps: identifying representative natural areas; selecting a potential national park; assessing park feasibility; negotiating a park agreement and obtaining clear title; and establishing a new national park in legislation. The following policies related to park establishment are grouped under these headings.


1.1 Identifying Representative Natural Areas

1.1.1
Representative natural areas will be identified for those national park natural regions not represented in the national parks system. The following criteria will be used:

i) the area must portray the geology, physiography, vegetation, wildlife, and ecosystem diversity characteristic of the natural region; and,
ii) the area's ecosystems must be in a healthy, natural state, or, if they are stressed or significantly modified, the area must have the potential for being restored to a natural state.

1.1.2
Representative natural areas will be identified in consultation with provincial and territorial governments, with other federal agencies and with the interested public.

1.1.3
Representative natural areas will be identified regardless of their current protected status or jurisdiction.


1.2 Selecting Potential National Parks

1.2.1
Potential national parks will be selected from among the representative natural areas identified in those natural regions that do not already have adequate representation in the national parks system.

1.2.2
In selecting potential national parks, consideration will be given to a wide range of factors, including:

i) the extent to which the area represents the ecosystem diversity of the natural region;
ii) the potential for supporting viable populations of wildlife species native to the natural region;
iii) the ecological integrity of the area's ecosystems, as well as those of the surrounding lands;
iv) the occurrence of exceptional natural phenomena, and rare, threatened or endangered wildlife and vegetation;
v) the existence of significant cultural heritage features or landscapes;
vi) opportunities for public understanding, education and enjoyment;
vii) competing land and resource uses;
viii) possible threats to the long-term sustainability of the area's ecosystems;
ix) complementarity with the objectives of existing or planned protected natural areas of other jurisdictions in the region;
x) the potential for establishing an adjacent national marine conservation area that is representative of its marine region;
xi) the implications of Aboriginal rights, comprehensive land claims and treaties with Aboriginal peoples; and
xii) international criteria for national parks.

1.2.3
Potential national parks will be selected in consultation with provincial or territorial governments, other federal agencies, non-government organizations, affected Aboriginal peoples and the interested public.


1.3 Assessing National Park Feasibility

1.3.1
Parks Canada, in conjunction with provincial or territorial governments, will undertake an assessment of the feasibility of a new park proposal; where there are opportunities, this will be undertaken as part of other processes such as regional land use planning, provincial protected area strategies or Aboriginal comprehensive land claim negotiations.

1.3.2
As part of the feasibility assessment, there will be consultations to seek the views of local communities, Aboriginal peoples, non-government organizations, relevant industries, other government departments and the interested public. Parks Canada will provide information regarding the purpose and the environmental, social and economic implications of the national park proposal.

1.3.3
In proposing the boundaries of a potential national park, Parks Canada will endeavour to establish a park with a size and configuration that:

i) protects ecosystems and landscape features representative of the natural region;
ii )accommodates the habitat requirements of viable populations of wildlife species that are native to the natural region;
iii) includes an undisturbed core which is relatively unaffected by impacts originating from the surrounding landscape;
iv) does not fragment sensitive, highly diverse or productive natural communities;
v )maintains drainage basin integrity;
vi) protects exceptional natural phenomena, and vulnerable, threatened or endangered wildlife and vegetation;
vii) offers opportunities for public understanding and enjoyment;
viii) results in minimum long-term disruption of the social and economic life particularly in the surrounding region; and
ix) does not encompass permanent communities.
In addition, consideration may be given to including significant cultural heritage features or landscapes within a proposed national park.

1.3.4
It is the policy of the Department of Indian Affairs and Northern Development to ensure that an inventory of the non-renewable natural resource potential of areas in the Northwest Territories and Yukon be compiled prior to their formal establishment as new national parks. The fundamental qualities of the area which recommend it for national park status will be taken into account in any land use activities associated with compiling the inventory. Parks Canada will cooperate with other federal agencies responsible for carrying out such inventories.

1.3.5
Parks Canada will consider, in cooperation with agencies having jurisdiction over land and resource uses, ways to prevent the loss of ecological values during the feasibility assessment process.

1.3.6
Following completion of a park feasibility assessment, governments will decide whether to proceed to negotiate a park agreement.

1.3.7
Boundary adjustments intended to improve the representation of the natural themes or the ecological integrity of an existing national park will be assessed according to the above policies.


1.4 National Park Agreements

1.4.1
New national park agreements will be negotiated between the Government of Canada and the government and/or Aboriginal peoples having constitutional authority regarding the lands; the agreement will commit the parties to establishing a national park under the National Parks Act and will set out the terms and conditions under which this will take place.

1.4.2
Areas which include Provincial Crown Lands will be established as national parks according to an agreement between the Government of Canada and the provincial government setting out terms and conditions for the acquisition of all third party interests and the transfer of administration and control of Provincial Crown Lands to the Crown in Right of Canada.

1.4.3
National parks in the territories will be established pursuant to agreements with the territorial government and with relevant Aboriginal organizations.

1.4.4
The Crown in Right of Canada will own the land and subsurface rights within the legislated boundaries of national parks.

1.4.5
Commercial exploration, extraction or development of natural resources will be terminated before national parks are formally established. Certain traditional subsistence uses of natural resources may be permitted to continue in designated parts of a national park as outlined in sections 1.4.10, 1.4.11, 1.4.12 and 1.5.2.

1.4.6
Private lands and interests will be acquired by negotiated settlement. Term interests may be allowed to expire. In exceptional cases, where lands are essential for park purposes, a settlement may require using expropriation to establish clear title to some properties.

1.4.7
Parks Canada will contribute toward the cost of special provisions agreed at the time of park establishment to reduce negative impacts on occupants or other users of lands acquired for a national park.

1.4.8
A variety of means will be used to foster opportunities for local residents to find employment and business opportunities related to the operation of national parks.

1.4.9
Cooperative arrangements for complementary use and management of lands adjacent to national parks will be pursued with government and non-government agencies at the local, provincial, territorial and federal levels in order to maintain ecosystem integrity and to foster sustainable development.

1.4.10
Existing Aboriginal and treaty rights of the Aboriginal peoples of Canada will be honoured. These may be defined in treaties and comprehensive claim agreements.

1.4.11
In areas subject to existing Aboriginal or treaty rights or to comprehensive land claims by Aboriginal peoples, the terms and conditions of park establishment will include provision for continuation of renewable resource harvesting activities, and the nature and extent of Aboriginal peoples' involvement in park planning and management.

1.4.12
In addition to Aboriginal or treaty rights, when new national parks are proposed within areas where local people have traditionally depended on the land for subsistence and no immediate alternative can be found, an agreement may be negotiated regarding the continuation of specified subsistence resource harvesting activities for a finite period of time, subject to regulation.

1.4.13
Parks Canada will negotiate interim measures as part of the park agreement in order to facilitate effective protection and management of the area until the national park is formally established under federal legislation. In the territorial north, one such measure may be withdrawal from further disposition of the lands for a proposed new national park under the Territorial Lands Act.


1.5 Establishing National Parks in Legislation

1.5.1
National parks will be formally established through amendment to the National Parks Act. The proposed legislation will give effect to the terms of a new park agreement.

1.5.2
Where new national parks are established in conjunction with the settlement of land claims of Aboriginal peoples, final boundaries of the national park as well as harvesting rights and involvement of Aboriginal peoples in park planning and management will be proposed in legislation according to the terms of the land claim agreement. In the interim, the area may be set aside as a "national park reserve" under the Act and traditional hunting, fishing and trapping activities by Aboriginal peoples will continue. Other interim measures may also include local Aboriginal peoples' involvement in park reserve management.

1.0 Réseau des parcs nationaux

Les parcs nationaux protègent des exemples représentatifs des paysages canadiens. Parcs Canada a identifié 39 régions terrestres qui méritent toutes d'être représentées dans ce réseau. Les efforts sont actuellement concentrés sur les régions qui ne sont pas encore dotées d'un parc national.

C'est le Projet de réseau des parcs nationaux qui règle la création de nouveaux parcs. Le document décrit les 39 régions terrestres ainsi que le statut des parcs dans ces régions. Parcs Canada met le projet à jour régulièrement, y compris la liste des aires naturelles représentatives répertoriées pendant les analyses régionales. Parcs Canada tient également à jour un plan d'action qui décrit les activités à entreprendre pour achever la représentation de toutes les régions naturelles.

Parcs Canada ne saurait protéger, à lui seul, toutes les aires représentatives des régions naturelles du Canada. Mais en rendant publics le plan du réseau et le plan d'action, Parcs Canada espère inciter les autres organismes publics et les organisations privées visées à collaborer en vue de protéger les aires qui ne feront pas partie du réseau des parcs nationaux.

L'appui du public et la collaboration des autres paliers de gouvernement sont essentiels à la création de nouveaux parcs et à l'ajustement des frontières des parcs existants. Le processus de création des parcs repose donc sur la consultation publique et la collaboration intergouvernementale.

Il n'existe aucun processus rigide d'établissement de nouveaux parcs nationaux. Chaque cas est unique et les étapes menant à la création d'un nouveau parc national sont le reflet de circonstances particulières. Le processus compte habituellement cinq étapes : détermination d'aires naturelles représentatives; sélection d'un éventuel parc national; étude de faisabilité; négociations pour conclure une entente et obtenir des titres libres; et création d'un nouveau parc par voie législative. Les politiques sur l'établissement d'un parc sont regroupées sous les rubriques qui suivent.


1.1 Détermination d'aires naturelles représentatives

1.1.1
Des aires naturelles représentatives sont repérées pour les régions naturelles qui ne sont pas représentées au sein du réseau des parcs nationaux. Voici les critères à respecter :

i) l'aire doit illustrer la géologie, la physiographie, la végétation, la faune et les écosystèmes caractéristiques de la région naturelle; et
ii) les écosystèmes de l'aire doivent être en bonne santé et à l'état naturel; si les écosystèmes ont subi des modifications importantes ou des bouleversements, il doit être possible de ramener l'aire à l'état naturel.

1.1.2
La détermination des aires naturelles d'intérêt canadien se fera en consultation avec les gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux, les autres organismes fédéraux et le public intéressé.

1.1.3
La détermination des aires naturelles se fera sans égard à leur juridiction ni à la protection qu'elles reçoivent déjà.


1.2 Sélection des éventuels parcs nationaux

1.2.1
Les éventuels parcs nationaux sont choisis parmi les aires naturelles représentatives repérées dans les régions naturelles insuffisamment représentées au sein du réseau.

1.2.2
La sélection de ces parcs tient compte d'une vaste gamme de facteurs :

i) la mesure dans laquelle l'aire illustre la diversité des écosystèmes de la région naturelle;
ii) la capacité de soutenir, dans leur région naturelle, des populations viables d'espèces fauniques indigènes;
iii) l'intégrité écologique des écosystèmes de l'aire et des régions avoisinantes;
iv) la présence de phénomènes naturels exceptionnels ou d'espèces fauniques ou végétales rares, menacées ou en péril;
v) la présence de caractéristiques ou de paysages importants du patrimoine culturel;
vi) les occasions d'appréciation, d'éducation et d'utilisation à l'intention du public;
vii) l'utilisation concurrentielle des terres et des ressources;
viii) les effets qui pourraient miner à long terme la durabilité des écosystèmes de l'aire;
ix) la complémentarité avec les objectifs des aires naturelles protégées existantes ou projetées des autres juridictions de la région;
x) les possibilités de création d'une aire marine nationale de conservation adjacente et représentative de sa région marine;
xi) les implications des répercussions des droits des autochtones, des revendications territoriales globales et des traités; et
xii) les critères internationaux pour les parcs nationaux.

1.2.3
La sélection des éventuels parcs nationaux se fait en collaboration avec les gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux, les autres organismes publics, les peuples autochtones concernés et le public.


1.3 Étude de faisabilité

1.3.1
En collaboration avec les gouvernements provinciaux ou territoriaux, Parcs Canada évalue les projets de création d'un nouveau parc. Il le fait dans le cadre d'autres processus comme la planification régionale de l'utilisation du territoire, les stratégies provinciales des aires protégées ou les négociations territoriales globales des autochtones.

1.3.2
Dans le contexte de l'étude de faisabilité, sont consultés les collectivités locales, les peuples autochtones, les organisations non gouvernementales, les industries pertinentes, les autres ministères et le public concerné. Parcs Canada fournit des renseignements sur le but et les implications environnementales, sociales et économiques du projet de création d'un parc national.

1.3.3
Au moment de délimiter un parc national éventuel, Parcs Canada tente de créer un parc dont la taille et la configuration :

i) permettent de protéger des écosystèmes et des éléments du paysage représentatifs de la région naturelle;
ii) sont adaptées aux habitats des populations viables d'espèces fauniques propres à la région naturelle;
iii) englobent un noyau qui a échappé en grande partie aux bouleversements survenus dans le paysage environnant;
iv) ne diviseront pas les communautés naturelles productives, très diversifiées ou délicates;
v) permettent de conserver l'intégrité du bassin versant;
vi) permettent de protéger des phénomènes naturels exceptionnels et des espèces fauniques ou végétales rares, menacées ou en péril;
vii) offrent au public des possibilités de s'y instruire et de s'y détendre;
viii) n'entraînent pas de bouleversements à long terme de la vie socio-économique, particulièrement dans la région avoisinante; et
ix) n'incluent pas d'agglomérations permanentes.

Il faut aussi envisager d'inclure dans le parc national projeté des caractéristiques ou des sites importants du patinoire culturel.

1.3.4
La politique du ministère des Affaires indiennes et du Nord est d'assurer que l'on fasse un inventaire du potentiel en ressources naturelles non renouvelables des aires du Yukon et des Territoires du Nord-Ouest avant que de nouveaux parcs nationaux y soient créés officiellement. Toute utilisation des terres reliée à la préparation de l'inventaire doit respecter les qualités fondamentales qui rendent l'aire éligible à ce statut. Parcs Canada collabore avec les autres organismes fédéraux chargés de dresser de tels inventaires.

1.3.5
En collaboration avec les organismes qui ont compétence en matière d'utilisation des ressources et du territoire, Parcs Canada examine, dans le cadre de l'étude de faisabilité, comment éviter la perte des valeurs écologiques.

1.3.6
Une fois l'étude de faisabilité terminée, les gouvernements décident s'ils doivent négocier une entente.

1.3.7
Les ajustements aux frontières d'un parc national existant, destinés à améliorer la présentation des thèmes naturels ou l'intégrité écologique, sont évalués d'après les critères de sélection des parcs nationaux.


1.4 Ententes sur des parcs nationaux

1.4.1
Le gouvernement du Canada négocie des ententes en vue de la création d'un nouveau parc avec le gouvernement et/ou les peuples autochtones qui ont des droits sur les terres visées. Toutes les parties s'engagent à créer un parc national en vertu de la Loi sur les parcs nationaux et définissent les modalités d'application.

1.4.2
Les aires proposées pour faire partie de nouveaux parcs nationaux, qui comprennent des terres de la Couronne sous administration provinciale, sont considérées en vertu d'un accord conclu entre les gouvernements fédéral et provincial. Cet accord stipulera les modalités d'acquisition des intérêts tiers, et du transfert de l'administration et du contrôle des terres de la Couronne sous administration provinciale concernées à la Couronne du chef du Canada.

1.4.3
La création de parcs nationaux dans les territoires se fera suivant les ententes avec les gouvernements territoriaux et les organisations autochtones concernées.

1.4.4
Les droits sur le sous-sol et les terres situées à l'intérieur des frontières légales des parcs nationaux, appartiennent à la Couronne du chef du Canada.

1.4.5
Les activités d'exploration, d'extraction ou d'exploitation des ressources naturelles doivent prendre fin avant la création officielle du parc. Toutefois, conformément aux alinéas 1.4.10, 1.4.11, 1.4.12 et 1.5.2, certaines utilisations traditionnelles peuvent continuer.

1.4.6
Les terres et les intérêts privés sont acquis en vertu d'un règlement négocié. Dans certains cas, des activités de durée déterminée peuvent être poursuivies jusqu'à leur terme. À titre exceptionnel, lorsque les terres s'avèrent essentielles aux besoins du parc, des mesures d'expropriation pourront être prises pour obtenir le titre irrévocable de certaines propriétés.

1.4.7
Parcs Canada défraie une partie du coût des mesures spéciales négociées et destinées à atténuer les répercussions de la création d'un parc sur les occupants ou les autres usagers des terres acquises.

1.4.8
Divers moyens sont mis en oeuvre afin de favoriser les occasions d'emploi et d'affaires associées aux opérations des parcs nationaux pour les populations locales.

1.4.9
Des dispositions sont prises, en collaboration avec tous les organismes gouvernementaux et non gouvernementaux aux niveaux fédéral, provincial, territorial et local, pour que les terres adjacentes aux parcs nationaux soient utilisées et gérées de façon compatible afin de protéger l'intégrité écologique et de favoriser le développement durable.

1.4.10
Les droits existants - ancestraux ou issus de traités - des peuples autochtones du Canada sont respectés. Ceux-ci peuvent être définis dans des traités ou des règlements de revendications territoriales globales.

1.4.11
Dans les aires visées par des droits autochtones ou des droits découlant des traités ou des revendications territoriales globales, les modalités de création d'un parc autorisent les activités de récolte des ressources renouvelables et définissent la nature et l'ampleur de la participation des peuples autochtones à la planification et à la gestion du parc.

1.4.12
En plus des droits autochtones ou des droits découlant des traités, si la subsistance des populations locales, quelles qu'elles soient, a traditionnellement dépendu des terres mises à part dans le cadre de la création des parcs, la poursuite d'activités ponctuelles de récolte des ressources de subsistance peut être négociée pour une période définie, si aucune solution de rechange n'est trouvée dans la région. Ces activités sont réglementées.

1.4.13
Parcs Canada négocie des mesures provisoires qui font partie de l'entente afin de faciliter la protection et la gestion efficaces de l'aire jusqu'à ce que le parc national soit officiellement créé par voie législative fédérale. Dans le Nord du pays, il pourrait s'agir d'interrompre l'aliénation de terres en vue d'aménagement d'un nouveau parc national en vertu de la Loi sur les terres territoriales.


1.5 Création de parcs nationaux par voie législative

1.5.1
Les parcs nationaux seront officiellement constitués en vertu de modifications à la Loi sur les parcs nationaux. Les nouvelles mesures législatives mettront en vigueur les modalités de l'entente touchant un nouveau parc.

1.5.2
Lorsque des nouveaux parcs nationaux sont créés dans le cadre du règlement des revendications territoriales des peuples autochtones, les limites définitives du parc national ainsi que les droits de récolte et la participation des autochtones à la planification et à la gestion du parc sont proposés dans la loi et sont conformes aux modalités de l'entente relative à la revendication territoriale. Entre temps, l'aire peut être mise à part à titre de réserve de parc national au sens de la loi, et les activités traditionnelles - chasse, pêche et piégeage - des peuples autochtones sont maintenues. D'autres mesures intérimaires peuvent aussi comprendre l'implication des autochtones à la gestion de réserve de parc national.