Background

Canadians live in a land rich in natural beauty and diversity. For millions of years, natural forces and not human activities were the major influences on this landscape. Prior to the arrival of Europeans, Aboriginal peoples depended almost entirely on the natural environment. But more recently, with the advent of an agricultural and then an industrial society, human activities have been altering that environment at an accelerating pace.

National parks protect environments representative of Canada's natural heritage for the benefit of present and future generations. The challenge for Parks Canada is to maintain the ecological integrity of the parks while providing opportunities for public enjoyment and education. This requires the careful protection of the natural features and processes for which each park is established, a key component of which is the fostering of public awareness of the value of safeguarding representative natural landscapes in the national parks system.

National parks cannot sustain all the types of activities and development which a broad range of visitors might desire. Generally, access and services which relate directly to the objective for national parks will be provided within the parks, while a broader range of needs will be met in the surrounding region. The cooperation of tourism and other sectors will be essential to help establish the appropriate balance of services and facilities on a regional basis.

Throughout the last century, the growth in Canada's population and the exploitation of natural resources have decreased the areas available for national park establishment, and have heightened competition for potential park lands, particularly in southern Canada. Opportunities for Canadians to experience unspoiled natural areas have become more limited and thus the need for action is more urgent.

Representing each of Canada's 39 terrestrial natural regions in the national parks system will not be easy. Most lands have some kind of interest or commitment for uses such as oil and gas development, mining, hydro-electricity, forestry, agriculture and private recreation. Land-use conflicts and jurisdictional issues will have to be resolved in cooperation with the provinces, territories, Aboriginal peoples, and all interested parties including local residents. In spite of these challenges, Parks Canada remains committed to completing the system of national parks and, through the "Government of Canada Green Plan" has been given the opportunity to do so by the year 2000.

In the establishment and management of national parks, Parks Canada will strive to maintain ecological integrity. Achievement of this goal will require cooperation with individuals and other government agencies in ecosystem management beyond park boundaries, recognizing that there are legitimate but often different objectives for surrounding regions. Consequently, maintaining ecological integrity will be a major consideration in proposing park boundaries, in determining how the park's resources will be protected and interpreted, and in seeking effective regional integration through cooperative efforts with governments and landowners in the surrounding area.

In addition to their natural features, many national parks contain areas which have cultural and historic significance. These will be managed according to the "Cultural Resource Management Policy," found in Part III of this document.

In parks where there are existing Aboriginal or treaty rights, the exercise of these rights will be respected. As well, in some national parks, traditional activities by Aboriginal peoples will continue as a result of rights defined by land claim agreements and treaties, or by specific agreements negotiated during the process of park establishment. Given the legislative and constitutional basis of such agreements, they are expected to supersede Parks Canada policy and in some instances will consequently amend the National Parks Act. Continuation of traditional activities and related cooperative management will result in new national parks that recognize the importance of the natural environment in sustaining Aboriginal cultures. Traditional renewable resource harvesting for domestic purposes by other local people may also continue for finite periods on an exception basis, where no immediate alternative can be found.

In addition to the contribution which national parks make to achieving Government of Canada goals related to completing the parks system, protecting Canada's natural heritage, and setting aside 12 per cent of Canada as protected space, national parks can contribute directly and indirectly to the achievement of many other Government of Canada goals, such as:

  • preserving the integrity, health, and biodiversity of Arctic ecosystems; strengthening and building environmental partnerships;
  • providing timely, accurate and accessible information to enable Canadians to make environmentally sensitive decisions;
  • helping to develop an environmentally literate society; strengthening environmental science with special emphasis on understanding regional ecosystems; and
  • striving to ensure that all operations and procedures meet or exceed national targets for sustaining the environment.

Management plans provide the framework for decision-making within each park. The National Parks Act requires public consultations during the preparation of park management plans and stipulates that the maintenance of ecological integrity through the protection of natural resources will be the first priority when considering park zoning and visitor use.

État de la question

La nature canadienne est renommée pour la splendeur et l'étonnante diversité de ses paysages. Pendant des millions d'années, les forces de la nature et non les activités de l'homme ont agi sur ces paysages. Avant l'arrivée des Européens, les peuples autochtones vivaient en symbiose avec la nature. Cependant, avec l'avènement de la société agricole puis de la société industrielle, l'environnement s'est dégradé à un rythme accéléré.

Les parcs nationaux protègent des milieux représentatifs du patrimoine naturel du Canada afin que les générations actuelles et futures puissent en profiter. Parcs Canada doit relever un défi de taille : conserver l'intégrité écologique des parcs tout en permettant au public de les découvrir et de les utiliser. Il doit prendre des mesures judicieuses de protection des caractéristiques et phénomènes naturels qui ont motivé la création des parcs et devra, entre autres, sensibiliser le public à la nécessité de préserver des paysages naturels représentatifs au sein du réseau des parcs nationaux.

Les parcs nationaux ne peuvent pas se permettre d'offrir tous les aménagements et activités désirés par une bonne partie des visiteurs. En règle générale, on aménage à l'intérieur des limites des parcs les infrastructures d'accès ainsi que les services directement liés à l'objectif des parcs nationaux, alors qu'une gamme plus étendue de services est offerte dans la région environnante. Il est essentiel d'obtenir la collaboration du secteur touristique et des autres secteurs pour parvenir à équilibrer services et installations à l'échelle régionale.

Au cours du siècle dernier, la croissance de la population du Canada et l'accroissement de l'exploitation des ressources naturelles ont été à la source d'une diminution des aires naturelles susceptibles de devenir un jour des parcs nationaux et ont accru la concurrence pour l'obtention éventuelle des terres, surtout dans la partie sud du Canada. Conséquemment, les chances offertes aux Canadiens de découvrir des aires naturelles encore intactes sont de plus en plus restreintes, d'où la nécessité d'intervenir rapidement.

Il n'est pas aisé de représenter les 39 régions naturelles terrestres du Canada au sein du réseau des parcs nationaux. La plupart des terres sont déjà destinées à d'autres usages : exploitation du pétrole et du gaz, exploitation minière, aménagements hydro-électriques, foresterie, agriculture et loisirs. Il faut résoudre les conflits découlant de l'utilisation du territoire et les questions de juridiction en collaboration avec les provinces, les territoires, les peuples autochtones et toutes les parties en cause dont les résidents des diverses localités. En dépit de ces exigences, Parcs Canada, avec les mesures mises de l'avant par le Plan vert du gouvernement, maintiendra son engagement à achever le réseau des parcs nationaux en l'année 2000.

Dans toutes les mesures de création et de gestion des parcs nationaux, Parcs Canada cherchera à préserver l'intégrité écologique. Pour atteindre ce but, il doit compter sur la collaboration des particuliers et d'autres organismes gouvernementaux pour assurer une bonne gestion des écosystèmes au-delà des limites des parcs, tout en reconnaissant qu'il y a des objectifs raisonnables mais différents dans les régions avoisinantes. Par conséquent, la préservation de l'intégrité écologique est un facteur clé de la délimitation des parcs, du choix du mode de protection et d'interprétation des ressources du parc et de l'efficacité de l'intégration régionale, concrétisée grâce à la collaboration des gouvernements et des propriétaires fonciers de la région environnante.

Outre leurs ressources naturelles, plusieurs parcs nationaux recèlent sur leur territoire des aires qui ont une signification historique ou culturelle. Ces lieux sont gérés selon la Politique sur la gestion des ressources culturelles, présentée à la partie III de ce document.

Il faut respecter les droits des autochtones et les droits découlant des traités dans les parcs où ceux-ci existent. De plus, dans certains parcs nationaux, les peuples autochtones peuvent poursuivre leurs activités traditionnelles en vertu des droits qui leur ont été reconnus soit par traités, soit par voie de règlement de revendications territoriales ou soit par ententes spécifiques découlant des négociations intervenues lors de la création du parc. Compte tenu du fondement constitutionnel et législatif de ces ententes, elles devraient remplacer la politique de Parcs Canada et, dans certains cas, entraîner la modification de la Loi sur les parcs nationaux. Le maintien des activités traditionnelles et la gestion conjointe donneront naissance à de nouveaux parcs qui reconnaissent la place prépondérante que le milieu naturel occupe dans les cultures autochtones. Par ailleurs, les activités traditionnelles de récolte à des fins domestiques, que pratiquent d'autres collectivités locales, pourraient exceptionnellement être autorisées pour une durée déterminée, s'il n'y a pas d'autre choix dans cette région.

En plus de participer aux efforts du gouvernement du Canada en vue d'achever le réseau des parcs, de protéger le patrimoine naturel canadien et de réserver 12 p. 100 du territoire canadien comme aires protégées, les parcs nationaux jouent un rôle important de façon directe et indirecte dans la réalisation de plusieurs autres buts tels que :

  • la préservation de l'intégrité, de la santé et de la biodiversité des écosystèmes arctiques;
  • la mise en place et le renforcement des partenariats environnementaux;
  • la fourniture de renseignements opportuns, exacts et accessibles, pour permettre aux Canadiens de prendre les décisions qui peuvent avoir des effets sur l'environnement;
  • l'aide au développement d'une société qui est bien informée en matière d'environnement;
  • la progression des sciences environnementales, avec un accent particulier sur la connaissance des écosystèmes régionaux;
  • les efforts visant à assurer que toutes les opérations et toutes les procédures respectent ou excèdent les objectifs nationaux en matière de préservation de l'environnement.

Les plans de gestion orienteront les décisions prises par les parcs. La Loi sur les parcs nationaux exige que des consultations publiques soient organisées pendant la préparation des plans de gestion des parcs. Elle stipule aussi que la préservation de l'intégrité écologique, grâce à des mesures de protection des ressources naturelles, constitue le principal élément dont on doit tenir compte au moment de procéder au zonage des parcs et de définir les utilisations par les visiteurs dans le plan de gestion.