Parks Canada Archaeological Recording Manual: Excavations and Surveys

APPENDIX H: Digital Multimedia – Recommendations for Preservation

The following recommendations are based on Parks Canada (2003a) “Report to Parks Canada: Digital Multimedia Asset Management (DMAM) System Policy Requirements Version 2.0.” Digital preservation is still in its infancy. As a result, it is difficult to determine which format is the best for long term preservation of digital assets. Despite these obstacles, Parks Canada (2003a) currently recommends the following guidelines. Due to the dynamic nature of digital media, please consult the appropriate specialists to determine latest trends and standards adopted by the Parks Canada Agency.

Preservation Formats for Images, Audio, and Video (General)

For preservation formats, Parks Canada generally recommends:

  • Images - high resolution TIFF 8 x10 at 600dpi;
  • Audio -WAV format or MPEG 2 format;
  • Video - MPEG 2, 4:2:2 compression standard. The MPEG 2 format that has been an ISO standard since 1996.

Image Formats for Storage/Preservation

As noted in Parks Canada (2003a), the Image Quality Working Group of ArchivesCom (associated with Columbia University) recommends the following image formats for preservation storage purposes:

  • TIFF w/CCITT Fax 4 Compression - ideally suited for black and white text documents, this format provides a high level of detail (600 dpi), combined with a small file size (less than 100 kilobytes for 5"x8" text page);
  • PhotoCD - well suited for 35 mm slide and 35 mm negatives, PhotoCD provides up to 6 resolutions (up to 4096x6144), colour management, and a storage medium that works on all major computer platforms;
  • TIFF w/LZW Compression - A 24-bit, lossless (no information lost) compression format. This TIFF format may be used to store colour images, and may be used as preservation file format. With lossless compression, the picture quality of the compressed file is exactly the same as the original, uncompressed file.

Different original media types will require different digital conversion techniques as well as different file storage formats. This is an area that is evolving, as both conversion techniques improve (better scanners and digital cameras) and new file formats develop.

Multimedia File Format Recommendations

Table 1, copied verbatim from Parks Canada (2003a), represents a set of recommendations for a variety of media, derived from the United States National Digital Library.

Table 1. Parks Canada recommendations for digital multimedia.

Media Type Conversion Method Resolution Archive File Format Screen Presentation Format Print Presentation Format
Black & White Text Document Flatbed Scanner or Digital Camera 1-bit, 600 dpi TIFF w/CCITT Fax 4 Compression GIF, 4-bit, 120 to 200 dpi Acrobat (PDF), 1bit, 300 or 600 dpi
Illustrations, Maps, Manuscripts, etc. Flatbed Scanner or Digital Camera 8-bit greyscale or 24-bit color, 200 to 300 dpi TIFF Multiple JPEG, 24-bit, 512x768, 1024x1536, 2048x3072, Quality Level 50 JPEG, 24-bit, 2048x3072, Quality Level 50-100
3-dimensional objects to be represented in two-dimensions Digital Camera 24-bit colour, 200 to 300 dpi TIFF Multiple JPEG, 24-bit, 512x768, 1024x1536, 2048x3072, Quality Level 50 JPEG, 24-bit, 2048x3072, Quality Level 50-100
35 mm Black & White & Colour slide or negative PhotoCD or Slide Scanner 24-bit, 2048x3072 PhotoCD or TIFF Multiple JPEG, 24-bit, 512x768, 1024x1536, 2048x3072, Quality Level 50 JPEG, 24-bit, 2048x3072, Quality Level 50-100
Medium to Large Format photograph, slide, negative, transparency or colour microfiche ProPhotoCD or Drum Scanner 24-bit, 4096x6144 PhotoCD or TIFF Multiple JPEG, 24-bit, Quality Level 50 JPEG, 24-bit, 4096x6144, Quality Level 50-100
Black & White Microfilm Microfilm Scanner 1-bit 600 dpi
8-bit, 300 dpi
TIFF w/ Fax 4
TIFF
GIF, 4-bit, 120 to 200 dpi
GIF, 8-bit 120 to 200 dpi
PDF, 1-bit, 300 or 600 dpi
PDF, 8-bit, 300 or 600 dpi

< Previous Page  | Table of Contents  | Next Page  >

Manuel pour l'enregistrement des données archéologiques

ANNEXE H: Recommandation pour la conservation de documents multimédias numériques

Les recommandations suivantes se basent sur le document de Parcs Canada (2003a) intitulé Report to Parks Canada: Digital Multimedia Asset Management (DMAM) System Policy Requirements Version 2.0. La conservation des documents numériques est à l’étape des balbutiements. Ainsi, il est difficile de déterminer quel format est le meilleur pour la conservation des documents numériques. Malgré ces obstacles, Parcs Canada (2003a) recommande actuellement les lignes directrices suivantes. En raison de la nature dynamique du marché du média numérique, veuillez consulter les spécialistes appropriés pour déterminer les dernières tendances et normes adoptées par l’Agence Parcs Canada.

Formats de conservation pour les images, les fichiers audio et vidéo (général)

Pour les formats de conservation, Parcs Canada recommande généralement :

  • Images - TIFF haute résolution 8 x10 à 600 dpi;
  • Audio -format WAV ou format MPEG 2;
  • Vidéo -MPEG 2, norme de compression 4:2:2. Format MPEG 2, qui est une norme ISO depuis 1996.

Formats d’image pour le stockage/la conservation

Comme il est noté dans Parcs Canada (2003a), le Image Quality Working Group of ArchivesCom (associé à l’université Columbia) recommande les formats d’images suivants pour les fins d’entreposage et de conservation :

  • TIFF avec compression selon le groupe 4 du CCITT – convenant idéalement aux documents de texte en noir et blanc, ce format fournit un niveau élevé de détails (600 dpi), combiné à une petite taille de fichier (moins de 100 kilobytes pour une page de texte de 5" x 8" );
  • PhotoCD – convenant bien aux diapositives 35mm et aux négatifs 35 mm, PhotoCD fournit jusqu’à 6 résolutions (jusqu’à 4096x6144), la gestion de la couleur ainsi qu’un support de stockage qui fonctionne sur les principales plates-formes informatiques;
  • TIFF avec compression LZW – Un format de compression de 24-bit, sans perte (pas d’information perdue). Ce format TIFF peut servir à stocker des images couleur et comme format de fichier de conservation. Avec la compression sans perte, la qualité de l’image du fichier comprimé est exactement la même que celle du fichier original non comprimé.

Les divers types de médias d’origine demandent des techniques de conversion au numérique différentes ainsi que des formats différents de stockage de fichiers. C’est un domaine qui évolue constamment, car les techniques de conversion s’améliorent (meilleurs lecteurs optiques et meilleures caméras numériques) et de nouveaux formats de fichiers sont créés.

Recommandations pour les formats de fichiers multimédias

Le tableau 1, reproduit de Parcs Canada (2003a), représente un groupe de recommandations pour une variété de médias, inspiré de la United States National Digital Library.

Tableau 1. Recommandations de Parcs Canada pour les fichiers multimédias numériques
Type de média Méthode de conversion Résolution Format de fichier d’archives Format de présentation à l’écran Format de présentation à l’impression
Document texte noir et blanc Lecteur optique à plat ou caméra numérique 1 bit, 600 dpi TIFF avec compression selon le groupe 4 du CCITT GIF, 4 bits, 120 à 200 dpi Acrobat (PDF), 1 bit, 300 ou 600 dpi
Illustrations, cartes, manuscrits, etc. Lecteur optique à plat ou caméra numérique Échelle de gris 8 bits ou couleurs 24 bits, 200 à 300 dpi TIFF JPEG multiple, 24 bits, 512x768, 1024x1536, 2048x3072, niveau de qualité 50 JPEG, 24 bits, 2048x3072, niveau de qualité 50-100
Objets en 3 dimensions à représenter en 2 dimensions Caméra numérique Couleur 24 bits, 200 à 300 dpi TIFF JPEG multiple, 24 bits, 512x768, 1024x1536, 2048x3072, niveau de qualité 50 JPEG, 24 bits, 2048x3072, niveau de qualité 50-100
Diapositives ou négatifs 35 mm noir et blanc ou couleur PhotoCD ou lecteur optique de diapositives 24 bits, 2048x3072 PhotoCD ou TIFF JPEG multiple, 24 bits, 512x768, 1024x1536, 2048x3072, niveau de qualité 50 JPEG, 24 bits, 2048x3072, niveau de qualité 50-100
Photographies de moyen ou grand format, diapositives, négatifs, transparents ou microfiches couleur ProPhotoCD ou lecteur optique à tambour 24 bits, 4096x6144, PhotoCD ou TIFF JPEG multiple, 24 bits, niveau de qualité 50 JPEG, 24 bits, 4096x6144 niveau de qualité 50-100
Microfilms en noir et blanc Lecteur optique à microfilms 1 bit, 600 dpi
8 bits, 300 dpi
TIFF - groupe 4
TIFF
GIF, 4 bits, 120 à 200 dpi
GIF, 8 bits, 120 à 200 dpi
PDF, 1 bit, 300 ou 600 dpi
PDF, 8 bits, 300 ou 600 dpi

< Page précédente  | Table des matières  | Page suivante | Version imprimable (PDF, 1 285Ko)