Parks Canada Archaeological Recording Manual: Excavations and Surveys

APPENDIX G: Human Remains, Cemeteries, and Burial Grounds

Cemeteries, burial grounds, human remains, funerary objects, and grave markers found on federal Crown lands, lands under water, and in waters under the administration and control of Parks Canada are managed in accordance with Management Directive 2.3.1: Human Remains, Cemeteries and Burial Grounds (Parks Canada 2000). Management Directive 2.3.1 applies to all human remains, and their associated sites and material culture, Aboriginal and non-Aboriginal alike.

It provides direction and guidance:

  • to Parks Canada Agency personnel or other agencies, organizations, groups and individuals undertaking activities involving a NPC, NPRC, NMCAC, NHSC, historic canals, and other lands and waters administered and controlled by Parks Canada;
  • concerning where the responsibility and authority lies for decision-making concerning any activity relating to burials, burial grounds, cemeteries, human remains and funerary objects;
  • when a burial site, burial, human remains or funerary objects are discovered accidentally during the course of an archaeological field project or other activities;
  • when human remains are discovered in association with a shipwreck;
  • when human remains and funerary objects are found in collections;
  • for investigation, identification, and consultation;
  • for the repatriation and/or disposition of human remains and associated funerary objects;
  • for the management and maintenance of cemeteries, burial grounds, and grave markers; and
  • for the management and use of documentation, images, or replicas.

The directive stresses the requirement to follow provincial and territorial laws in that the coroner and/or the police must be notified when human remains are discovered. If the site is deemed to be of forensic significance, the coroner and/or the police will lead the investigation. Where human remains are associated with a shipwreck, the Canadian Coast Guard, Department of Transport must be notified.

The directive emphasises that all human remains, funerary objects, cemeteries and burial grounds, shall be treated with respect and dignity. Moreover, any activity related to them must be undertaken, where applicable, in consultation and cooperation with the appropriate group, next of kin, the RCMP, or Veterans Affairs Canada.

< Previous Page  | Table of Contents  | Next Page  >

Manuel pour l'enregistrement des données archéologiques

Annexe G: Restes humains, cimetières et lieux de sépulture

Les cimetières, lieux de sépulture, restes humains, objets funéraires et marques de sépulture découverts sur des terres fédérales, des terres submergées et dans des eaux sous l’administration de Parcs Canada sont gérés selon la directive de gestion 2.3.1 intitulée Restes humains, cimetières et lieux de sépulture (juin 2000). La directive de gestion 2.3.1 s’applique à tous les restes humains ainsi qu’aux sites et à la culture matérielle qui leur sont associés, qu’ils soient autochtones ou non.

La directive a pour but de guider et de conseiller :

  • le personnel de l’Agence Parcs Canada ou d’autres agences, organismes, groupes et individus qui entreprennent des activités dans des PNC, RPNC, AMNCC, LHNC, canaux historiques et autres terres et eaux administrées par Parcs Canada;
  • pour déterminer à qui incombe la responsabilité et l’autorité pour la prise de décision quant aux activités reliées aux sépultures, aux lieux de sépulture, aux cimetières, aux restes humains et aux objets funéraires;
  • lorsqu’un lieu de sépulture, une sépulture, des restes humains ou des objets funéraires sont découverts par hasard au cours d’un projet archéologique ou d’autres activités;
  • lorsque des restes humains sont découverts en lien avec une épave;
  • lorsque des restes humains ou des objets funéraires sont découverts dans des collections;
  • dans le cas d’enquêtes, d’identifications et de consultations;
  • dans le cas du rapatriement ou de la disposition de restes humains et d’objets funéraires associés;
  • pour la gestion et l’entretien des cimetières, lieux de sépulture et marques de sépulture; et
  • pour la gestion et l’utilisation de la documentation, des images ou des reproductions.

La directive insiste sur la nécessité de respecter les lois provinciales et territoriales, c’est-à-dire que le coroner ou la police doivent être avertis lors de la découverte de restes humains. Si le site s’avère d’importance médicolégale, le coroner ou la police mènera l’enquête. Lorsque des restes humains sont associés à une épave, il faut en avertir la Garde côtière canadienne et le ministère des Transports.

La directive souligne l’importance que tous les restes humains, objets funéraires, cimetières et lieux de sépulture soient traités avec respect et dignité. De plus, les activités qui les touchent doivent être entreprises, lorsque c’est possible, en collaboration avec le groupe approprié, le plus proche parent, la Gendarmerie royale du Canada ou Anciens combattants Canada.


Page précédente  | Table des matières  | Page suivante | Version imprimable (PDF, 1 285Ko)