Date of Inscription: 2018

Justification of Outstanding Universal Value

Pimachiowin Aki was designated as a World Heritage site by UNESCO’s World Heritage Committee under the following criteria:

Criterion (iii)

Pimachiowin Aki provides an exceptional testimony to the continuing Anishinaabe cultural tradition of Ji-ganawendamang Gidakiiminaan (Keeping the Land). Ji-ganawendamang Gidakiiminaan guides relations between Anishinaabeg and the land; it is the framework through which the cultural landscape of Pimachiowin Aki is perceived, given meaning, used and sustained across the generations. Widely dispersed across the landscape are ancient and contemporary livelihood sites, sacred sites and named places, most linked by waterways that are tangible reflections of Ji-ganawendamang Gidakiiminaan.

Criterion (vi)

Pimachiowin Aki is directly and tangibly associated with the living tradition and beliefs of the Anishinaabeg, who understand they were placed on the land by the Creator and given all they need to survive. They are bound to the land and to caring for it through a sacred responsibility to maintain their cultural tradition of Ji-ganawendamang Gidakiiminaan (Keeping the Land). This involves ceremonies at specific sites to communicate with other beings, and respect for sacred places such as pictograph sites, Thunderbird nests, and places where memegwesiwag (little rock people) dwell, in order to ensure harmonious relations with the other spirit beings with whom Anishinaabeg share the land, and to maintain a productive life on the land.

The beliefs and values that make up Ji-ganawendamang Gidakiiminaan are sustained by systems of customary governance based on family structures and respect for elders, and through vibrant oral traditions that are tangibly associated with intimate knowledge of the land through named places that serve as mnemonic prompts, including locations of resources, travel routes, and the history of Anishinaabe occupation and use.

The size of Pimachiowin Aki and the strength of these traditions make it an exceptional example of a belief that can be seen to be of universal significance.

Criterion (ix)

Pimachiowin Aki is the most complete and largest example of the North American boreal shield, including its characteristic biodiversity and ecological processes. Pimachiowin Aki contains an exceptional diversity of terrestrial and freshwater ecosystems and fully supports wildfire, nutrient flow, species movements, and predator-prey relationships, which are essential ecological processes in the boreal forest. Pimachiowin Aki’s remarkable size, intactness, and ecosystem diversity support characteristic boreal species such as Woodland Caribou, Moose, Wolf, Wolverine, Lake Sturgeon, Leopard Frog, Loon and Canada Warbler. Notable predator-prey relationships are sustained among species such as Wolf and Moose and Woodland Caribou, and Lynx and Snowshoe Hare. Traditional use by Anishinaabeg, including sustainable fishing, hunting and trapping, is also an integral part of the boreal ecosystems in Pimachiowin Aki.

Description

Pimachiowin Aki, which is Anishinaabemowin (Ojibwe) for “the land that gives life,” is Canada’s first mixed World Heritage property. Blending both natural and cultural heritage values, this large intact boreal forest ecosystem under Indigenous stewardship, is an exceptional example of the indivisibility of the natural environment and the cultural identity and traditions of Indigenous peoples.

The site comprises the traditional lands of four Anishinaabe communities – Poplar River, Bloodvein River, Pauingassi and Little Grand Rapids First Nations – as well as adjacent protected areas, including Atikaki and South Atikaki Provincial Parks in Manitoba, and Woodland Caribou Provincial Park and Eagle-Snowshoe Conservation Reserve in Ontario.

This pictograph in the shape of a bison appears on a cliff face rising from the waters of Artery Lake. It is reddish in colour.
Cultural attributes dispersed across the cultural landscape include sacred places, such as pictographs.

More information

Date d’inscription : 2018

Justification de la valeur universelle exceptionnelle

Pimachiowin Aki a été inscrite sur la liste des sites du patrimoine mondial par le Comité du patrimoine mondial, pour la raison ci-dessous :

Critère (iii)

Pimachiowin Aki apporte un témoignage exceptionnel sur la permanence de la tradition culturelle des Anishinaabeg : Ji-ganawendamang Gidakiiminaan (Garder la terre). Ji-ganawendamang Gidakiiminaan commande les relations entre les Anishinaabeg et la terre ; c’est le cadre par lequel le paysage culturel de Pimachiowin Aki est formé, acquiert un sens et est maintenu au fil des générations. Les sites de subsistance anciens et contemporains, les sites sacrés et les lieux-dits sont largement disséminés dans le paysage et sont pour la plupart reliés par des voies navigables qui témoignent matériellement de Ji-ganawendamang Gidakiiminaan.

Critère (vi)

Pimachiowin Aki est directement et matériellement lié aux traditions et croyances vivantes des Anishinaabeg, qui pensent que le Créateur les a placés sur la terre et leur a donné tout ce dont ils ont besoin pour survivre. Ils sont liés à la terre et au fait d’en prendre soin par une responsabilité sacrée de maintenir leur tradition culturelle de Ji-ganawendamang Gidakiiminaan (Garder la terre). Cela implique des cérémonies dans certains sites spécifiques pour communiquer avec d’autres êtres et de respecter les lieux sacrés comme les sites de pictogrammes, les nids d’oiseaux-tonnerre et les endroits où demeurent les memegwesiwag (nains de la roche), afin de garantir des relations harmonieuses avec les autres êtres spirituels avec lesquels les Anishinaabeg partagent la terre et de maintenir une vie productive dans le territoire.

Les croyances et valeurs qui constituent Ji-ganawendamang Gidakiiminaan sont soutenues par des systèmes de gouvernance coutumière basés sur les structures familiales et le respect des aînés, et par des traditions orales très vivantes matériellement liées à une connaissance intime du territoire par la dénomination des lieux-dits qui sert de procédé mnémonique et englobe la localisation des ressources, les itinéraires, et l’histoire de l’occupation et de l’utilisation par les Anishinaabeg.

La superficie de Pimachiowin Aki et la force de ces traditions en font un exemple exceptionnel d’une croyance que l’on peut considérer comme revêtant une importance universelle.

Critère (ix)

Pimachiowin Aki est l’exemple le plus complet et le plus vaste du bouclier boréal nord-américain, avec sa biodiversité et ses processus écologiques caractéristiques. Pimachiowin Aki abrite une diversité exceptionnelle d’écosystèmes terrestres et d’eau douce et assure la pérennité des incendies sauvages, du flux de matières nutritives, des déplacements d’espèces et des relations prédateur-proie qui sont des processus écologiques essentiels dans la forêt boréale. La taille remarquable de Pimachiowin Aki, son caractère intact et la diversité des écosystèmes soutiennent des espèces boréales caractéristiques comme le caribou des bois, l’orignal, le loup, le carcajou, l’esturgeon lacustre, la grenouille léopard, le huard et la paruline du Canada. Des relations prédateur-proie remarquables sont maintenues entre des espèces telles que le loup et l’orignal et le caribou des bois, et le lynx et le lièvre d’Amérique du Nord. L’utilisation traditionnelle Anishinaabeg, y compris les activités durables de pêche, chasse et piégeage font aussi partie intégrante des écosystèmes boréaux de Pimachiowin Aki.

Description

Pimachiowin Aki, qui signifie « le pays qui donne la vie » en Anishinaabemowin (langue ojibway), est la première propriété mixte du Canada à être inscrite au patrimoine mondial. Combinant des valeurs patrimoniales naturelles ainsi que culturelles, ce vaste écosystème de forêt boréale intact sous intendance autochtone est un exemple exceptionnel de l’indivisibilité de l’environnement et de l’identité culturelle des peuples autochtones.

Pimachiowin Aki comprend les terres ancestrales de quatre communautés anishinaabe, à savoir les Premières Nations de la rivière Poplar, la rivière Bloodvein, Pauingassi et Little Grand Rapids, ainsi que les aires protégées adjacentes, dont les parcs provinciaux Atikaki et Atikaki-Sud au Manitoba, le parc provincial Woodland Caribou et la réserve de conservation Eagle-Snowshoe en Ontario.

Ce pictogramme en forme de bison apparaît sur la paroi d’une falaise au-dessus des eaux du lac Artery. Il est de couleur rougeâtre.
Les attributs culturels répartis dans le paysage comprennent les lieux sacrés, comme les pictogrammes.

Plus d'information